JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (54 customer reviews)
Write Review
October 8, 2009
I got this last week....
Verified Purchase
I got this last week. It had a hard time starting, so I changed the ink out. Still no luck. Got the flow better writing with the nib almost sideways. I was so frustrated I bent the tip slightly downward and widened the channel. I filed the tip a bit with a nail file and voila. It is finally working. It is still a bit scratchy, but that is to be expected with a tip this small. All in all, I am disappointed. The Platinum Preppy I got with my ink writes great with no modifications or tinkering. Maybe I just got a lemon.

1 person found this helpful
stephenlstalter
 
October 20, 2014
feels wonderful in my...
Verified Purchase
feels wonderful in my hands not like a beginner model at all.

 
September 21, 2014
I've had this little...
Verified Purchase
I've had this little pen for years, and use it for fine-line ink drawings with lots of hatching and crosshatching. It is smooth and consistent, with no noticeable scratching of paper fibers. (If you have a pen that is scratchy or skipping, I'd contact JetPens for an exchange because that is probably a manufacturing flaw.) It's worked with a range of inks, from simple Watermans to Platinum Carbon Black, and never clogged unless I left it unused for a few months. I have been impressed with its reliability and smooth, easy feel when writing.

Quick note: I recently learned that the Penmanship nib and feed fit in the Pilot Metropolitan pen body. I had a medium nib Metropolitan that I never used, so I swapped in the extra-fine Penmanship nib and it works perfectly. I hadn't minded the black plastic body, but now that it's seated in a lovely Metro body, I love the nib even more.

ebenfatto
 
April 4, 2014
Really helps to promote...
Verified Purchase
Really helps to promote good writing grip. It's also very scratchy (obviously cause it's extra-fine nib), so if that's what you like, then this should be perfect. Only reason I'm giving it a 4/5 is because the ink seems to leak. If I move it abruptly in any direction, the pen flings tiny droplets of ink.

 
December 26, 2013
This pen is wonderful!...
Verified Purchase
This pen is wonderful! The fine nib is perfect for journaling. One thing I like is the Pilot Con-20 converter holds a good amount of ink and when firmly seated in the pen adds a very slight amount of weight. The grip does take some adjustment but over all the quality of this pen is quite astounding, especially for the price.

jessijacobs1369
 
September 19, 2013
I wish it had a clip,...
Verified Purchase
I wish it had a clip, instead of the weird twist-off cap. However the cap does stay put if you put it on the back of the pen while you're writing.

An ACTUALLY FINE nib! I'd say it rivals Slicci or Hi-Tec-C 0.3-0.4mm lines - very precise.
At times it can get scratchy, but I've found that that only happens if I'm running low on ink (not empty, just low), and if I switch out the cartridge it resolves. This is kind of a waste of ink, but the cartridges are cheap enough and the pen uses so little ink that it's not economically prohibitive. I've been able to go ~a week on each cartridge, using this as my primary pen (I work in a hospital where we still use paper records, so I usually fill up at least 6 full A4 pages daily)

 
August 23, 2013
A wonderful pen! It is...
Verified Purchase
A wonderful pen! It is extra fine, yet it feels very, very smooth on my Rhodia and Leuchturm notebooks. The cap easily posts to the tip securely. And the cap is a screw-on! I highly recommend this pen.

I have read on a blog that the nib in the Penmanship can be put into the Pilot Metropolitan. I'm thinking of giving it a try.

franje123
 
August 2, 2013
Along with Sailor and...
Verified Purchase
Along with Sailor and Platinum's desk pens, this is one of the finest nibs you can find below about ~$120 or without getting a special grind by a nibmeister. It is remarkably smooth for the price point and teensy tiny size of the nib. It's not as smooth as my Mottishaw xxxf, but it's by no means scratchy.
I'm not fond of the ergonomic grip, but it is interchangeable with other lower-end Pilot pens like the Metropolitan, 78G, Plumix, and my favorite, the Prera. The only real problem with this pen is that the tip is so small if you remove the nib and feed for cleaning it's very difficult to place it back on the body in the proper position. If you put this nib in another body without the tripod grip section this is not an issue. Overall I can wholeheartedly recommend this pen.

kadi.ashby
 
July 24, 2013
Perfect. Cheap, reliable,...
Verified Purchase
Perfect. Cheap, reliable, works, feels great in my hand.

bogardfury
 
July 17, 2013
The nib is nothing short...
Verified Purchase
The nib is nothing short of perfect. I just wish it wasn't so aesthetically challenged.

whtlitnin1+f