JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (60 customer reviews)
Write Review
October 8, 2009
I got this last week....
Verified Purchase
I got this last week. It had a hard time starting, so I changed the ink out. Still no luck. Got the flow better writing with the nib almost sideways. I was so frustrated I bent the tip slightly downward and widened the channel. I filed the tip a bit with a nail file and voila. It is finally working. It is still a bit scratchy, but that is to be expected with a tip this small. All in all, I am disappointed. The Platinum Preppy I got with my ink writes great with no modifications or tinkering. Maybe I just got a lemon.

1 person found this helpful
stephenlstalter
 
November 19, 2014
excellent pen. I have...
Verified Purchase
excellent pen. I have two of these. It's a pretty thin line, definitely for the super-precise folks (I am one). Great feel in the hand, awesome ink flow, consistent no-skip line -- can't say enough good things about this. I have two and they both just write and write and write. I've use one with the converter and Sailor ink and honestly the cartridges seem to work better with less fussing around.

I just wish Pilot would take this nib and put it into a more "classy" professional body, maybe one with a bit more heft / weight.

 
November 18, 2014
Nice pen for details...
Verified Purchase
Nice pen for details work on tight lined paper. The nib seems to pull down and block the ink flow, but a bit of extra pressure to bend it UP seems to help. Sure with the Pilot Metropolitan came with this nib (XF)!!!

 
November 14, 2014
My favorite nib as of...
Verified Purchase
My favorite nib as of current. It has feedback, as should be expected from such a fine line (.2mm line), but not scratchy. After it's broken in (a month or two of constant usage) it becomes very smooth.

Sambpridmore
 
November 1, 2014
Replacement for a lost...
Verified Purchase
Replacement for a lost Pilot Penmanship. Enjoyable writing

dennis.higgins
 
October 29, 2014
Easy to use; my go-to...
Verified Purchase
Easy to use; my go-to pen. I love the extra fine point.

janie.ayes
 
October 20, 2014
It feels wonderful in...
Verified Purchase
It feels wonderful in my hands not like a beginner model at all.

 
September 21, 2014
I've had this little...
Verified Purchase
I've had this little pen for years, and use it for fine-line ink drawings with lots of hatching and crosshatching. It is smooth and consistent, with no noticeable scratching of paper fibers. (If you have a pen that is scratchy or skipping, I'd contact JetPens for an exchange because that is probably a manufacturing flaw.) It's worked with a range of inks, from simple Watermans to Platinum Carbon Black, and never clogged unless I left it unused for a few months. I have been impressed with its reliability and smooth, easy feel when writing.

Quick note: I recently learned that the Penmanship nib and feed fit in the Pilot Metropolitan pen body. I had a medium nib Metropolitan that I never used, so I swapped in the extra-fine Penmanship nib and it works perfectly. I hadn't minded the black plastic body, but now that it's seated in a lovely Metro body, I love the nib even more.

ebenfatto
 
April 4, 2014
Really helps to promote...
Verified Purchase
Really helps to promote good writing grip. It's also very scratchy (obviously cause it's extra-fine nib), so if that's what you like, then this should be perfect. Only reason I'm giving it a 4/5 is because the ink seems to leak. If I move it abruptly in any direction, the pen flings tiny droplets of ink.

 
December 26, 2013
This pen is wonderful!...
Verified Purchase
This pen is wonderful! The fine nib is perfect for journaling. One thing I like is the Pilot Con-20 converter holds a good amount of ink and when firmly seated in the pen adds a very slight amount of weight. The grip does take some adjustment but over all the quality of this pen is quite astounding, especially for the price.

jessijacobs1369