JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (60 customer reviews)
Write Review
September 19, 2013
I wish it had a clip,...
Verified Purchase
I wish it had a clip, instead of the weird twist-off cap. However the cap does stay put if you put it on the back of the pen while you're writing.

An ACTUALLY FINE nib! I'd say it rivals Slicci or Hi-Tec-C 0.3-0.4mm lines - very precise.
At times it can get scratchy, but I've found that that only happens if I'm running low on ink (not empty, just low), and if I switch out the cartridge it resolves. This is kind of a waste of ink, but the cartridges are cheap enough and the pen uses so little ink that it's not economically prohibitive. I've been able to go ~a week on each cartridge, using this as my primary pen (I work in a hospital where we still use paper records, so I usually fill up at least 6 full A4 pages daily)

 
August 23, 2013
A wonderful pen! It is...
Verified Purchase
A wonderful pen! It is extra fine, yet it feels very, very smooth on my Rhodia and Leuchturm notebooks. The cap easily posts to the tip securely. And the cap is a screw-on! I highly recommend this pen.

I have read on a blog that the nib in the Penmanship can be put into the Pilot Metropolitan. I'm thinking of giving it a try.

franje123
 
August 2, 2013
Along with Sailor and...
Verified Purchase
Along with Sailor and Platinum's desk pens, this is one of the finest nibs you can find below about ~$120 or without getting a special grind by a nibmeister. It is remarkably smooth for the price point and teensy tiny size of the nib. It's not as smooth as my Mottishaw xxxf, but it's by no means scratchy.
I'm not fond of the ergonomic grip, but it is interchangeable with other lower-end Pilot pens like the Metropolitan, 78G, Plumix, and my favorite, the Prera. The only real problem with this pen is that the tip is so small if you remove the nib and feed for cleaning it's very difficult to place it back on the body in the proper position. If you put this nib in another body without the tripod grip section this is not an issue. Overall I can wholeheartedly recommend this pen.

kadi.ashby
 
July 24, 2013
Perfect. Cheap, reliable,...
Verified Purchase
Perfect. Cheap, reliable, works, feels great in my hand.

bogardfury
 
July 17, 2013
The nib is nothing short...
Verified Purchase
The nib is nothing short of perfect. I just wish it wasn't so aesthetically challenged.

whtlitnin1+f
 
July 3, 2013
I have to say that I...
Verified Purchase
I have to say that I love this pen. Especially since I replaced the ink in the cartridge with that Carbon Ink. It is easy to hold, it writes very well, doesn't snag the paper which is awesome considering how fine the point is. Since I replaced the ink I've been using it all the time.

I also like the fact that it will slip into the ring binding on my notebook and doesn't fall through because of the red things sticking out of the lid... but also doesn't have a clip on it that makes it hard to pull out of the notebook when I need to use it, nor does it snag or pull on the rings. I know it's a stupid little design feature, but I like it!

The body shape does require you hold the pen one specific way, but that way will improve your penmanship. I know my handwriting is better when I use this pen because I'm not contorting my hands when I hold the pen.

The ink in the cartridge that came with the pen I think is junk. I used it up then refilled it with Carbon Ink and now it's perfect.

HTH

 
June 12, 2013
I am very picky with...
Verified Purchase
I am very picky with my stationary, especially pens. Ordered this one just for fun. Boy, it was a surprise. It turned out to be the best extra-fine nib pen ever. It has almost no weight in my hand, which makes me to write more. It writes smoothly and consistently. With this price, I highly, highly recommend this pen to all.

 
May 7, 2013
I am truly impressed...
Verified Purchase
I am truly impressed by this pen. It is so cheap, but it is much, much better than that $150 Cross pen I was using. I like its light weight so that I can concentrate on writing. It becomes my daily pen now. In the meantime, I am ordering one more for a back-up pen.

 
April 9, 2013
This pen is super awesome....
Verified Purchase
This pen is super awesome. It's cheap so I can buy a lot without feeling guilty. The line quality is fine and smooth. The grip is firm and fits my tiny hand. I've got a lot of compliments on the sleek design. Plus it's great for writing in Japanese, lettering, or drawing!

Now for the downside, it might be kinda small if you have big hand. Not good for lefties (verify by my lefty friend). Converters are pricey. And it takes sometimes to break in. It'll be scratchy and not so smooth at first. Just give it a little time and it will write smoothly!

I like it so much I bought 6 of these. I'm thinking of getting one for my sister and my best friend too!

 
November 22, 2012
Buyers should be aware...
Buyers should be aware that all fountain pens take a page or two of writing before it writes completely smoothly and has totally smooth ink flow.
The simplest way to get the pen moving again if it's gotten a little dry by not writing with it at all for 30 min to one hour (depending on the humidity and brand of ink used) is to open your ink bottle, even if you're using a cartridge, and simply dipping the tip of the pen in the ink for about 10 sec. If it's still skipping by not getting a steady flow of ink, then use the nails of your thumb and middle finger to gently scrape off any paper fibers that could be damming up the ink flow. This only happens when writing on cheap'o paper, like most of us do, such as regular notebook paper or the cheap stuff used in copying machines and the paper most of us use in our printers at home.
Even pens with an extra fine nib write flawlessly on vellum or paper with a high rag content. This pen will write nearly flawlessly on the cheap stuff. It is that good. I was given one by my brother last Christmas with a fine nib, but I want one with an extra fine nib. Otherwise I usually use a 3x0 drafting pen. I write extremely small and I am always writing organic chemical reactions or writing quantum mechanics. A writing instrument that puts out a very fine line is very important in my work.

campanasmac