| Page 2 of 12 |  | 
For drawing/sketching...
January 18, 2014
Verified Purchase
For drawing/sketching very fine lines/details, this pen would be great. As many reviewers have indicated, the nib can be quite scratchy -- especially if you're not holding the pen at a particular angle. I suspect that the scratchiness might go away with use over time.

For everyday writing, I would NOT recommend this pen. I grew up writing with fountain pens -- all either Japanese or Chinese made -- and have always preferred a fine/extra fine nib on my fountain pens. The Pilot Penmanship has a needle-point thinness. As some other reviewers, I've never come across a nib this fine. Being that fine, writing with it is challenging as it is very scratchy unless one writes slowly. I prefer a wetter -- and especially, smoother -- line that what I've seen so far with this pen. As for smoothness, the Fine Nib Platinum Preppy is far smoother. (To produce a finer line, I write with the nib upside down). The other advantage of the Preppy is that you can vary the thickness of the line as well by rotating the barrel slightly.

One last thing, I also did not find the triangular grip on the Penmanship very helpful. I've always gripped pens the way one's supposed to. But I find the indented grip of the Penmanship makes the grip diameter too small for comfort.

I hope that helps someone trying to research for a suitable pen -- like I have :). Good luck with your search!
1 person found this helpful
LOVE IT!! Great price! I...
July 11, 2012
Verified Purchase
LOVE IT!!
Great price!
I bought the black one also. Both are great and write a superfine skip-free line.
I think that I should stock up on a them.
1 person found this helpful
lesliebrenden
I have yet to find another...
March 31, 2012
Verified Purchase
I have yet to find another fountain pen that writes as thin a line as this pen (I'm not saying there isn't one, and my search has not been exhaustive by any stretch of the imagination). Maybe its my fault that I write too small, but this pen works great for me. Be sure to fill it with a fairly dark ink, since it writes so thin, you won't hardly be able to see any light colored inks.
1 person found this helpful
hatefulmoviecritic
I really like this pen:...
March 31, 2012
Verified Purchase
I really like this pen: great value for the money. The extra fine may seem scratchy, but that's not aytpical for extra fine nibs, especially since this one is stainless steel. My one issue is the ink seems to spatter from the nib into the cap. Perhaps that's typical of all pens, but it's really noticeable in a clear pen like this.

1 person found this helpful
nairyasmin
Love this pen. Writes...
March 22, 2012
Verified Purchase
Love this pen. Writes smooth and is very fine
1 person found this helpful
Janis1Rae
This pen is great. I...
February 26, 2012
Verified Purchase
This pen is great. I love a very fine line in my writing and this pen has it. The purple ink is very beautiful and the pen writes extremely smoothly. I am left handed and the pen fits my hand perfectly.
1 person found this helpful
Janis1Rae
I simply love this pen!...
January 31, 2012
Verified Purchase
I simply love this pen! I have very small handwriting and have searched for years for such a fine nib. I settled for pigma pens and gel pens, and used other fountain pens upside down, but longed for a fountain pen's expressive ink flow. Finally found it- love at first stroke! The clear body pens write better than the black body pens for some odd reason. And The CON-50 converter is ok, but I found the nib too fine for the CON-20 to be able to draw in enough ink. In the end, because I use it daily, I stick to the proprietary ink cartridges and save my other thicker tipped nib pens to indulge in ink variety.

Only minor flaws to note: the screw top, which disrupts quick jotting of ideas or pictures. And if you drop the pen, the ink drops will show inside the clear cap. But these are minor things in a pen I enjoy using very much.
1 person found this helpful
wingdingcallaling
Very nice pen. I use...
January 6, 2012
Verified Purchase
Very nice pen. I use this pen every day I have many vintage pens but I grab this one. I love the ergonomic design of the barrel. And with a little pressure the nib does give a little flex. Over all the pen is good for everyday writing and the nib is so fine that I can even do some of my crosshatching work with it. Very nice pen worth 9 dollars
1 person found this helpful
janelle.rz
This pen has its faults....
December 14, 2011
Verified Purchase
This pen has its faults. Yet I keep coming back to it, because it's a cool and comfortable design.

The point is scratchy. One should expect a superfine nib to be scratchy, and this one is very, very fine. But my next finest pen, a Sailor HighAce Neo, is worlds smoother. It's also prone to skipping and slow starting when using a less-than-sturdy writing support, like a folder. I assume that's mainly due to the fineness as well, and it's flawless on a desk surface.

I get a lot of nib creep, to the point of having a few tiny ink spots in the cap. This isn't a real problem, but it's also not present on many other pens.

In any case, the shape is really as awesome as it seems it might be. The three-sided grip part is smooth and comfy (for a lefty, no less) and it's just an interesting pen. I'll be interested in how the black body compares, but IMHO this pen is worth the price.

1 person found this helpful
Agree with the other...
December 5, 2011
Verified Purchase
Agree with the other reviewers to allow this pen a breaking-in period. At first I hated it; it was scratchy with stingy and uneven ink flow. But after a few days of writing, deliberately applying writing pressure to flex the nib, and writing on scratch paper (maybe the rough tooth of the paper helped) it really smoothed out and opened up. It's now my favorite pen. It writes with a very consistent and fine line, it weighs next to nothing, and the triangular grip is very comfortable.
1 person found this helpful
 | Page 2 of 12 |  |