JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.2 (83 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 8, 2011
This pen was leaky and...
Verified Purchase
This pen was leaky and really crappy...I was excited to get it, but it was horribly made. I\'ve had better luck with the disposables or the Peppy (or is it Preppy?) pens. Not worth your $

1 person found this helpful
s.seungjoo.lee
 
October 5, 2010
This is one of my favorites....
Verified Purchase
This is one of my favorites. I've noted the same difference bewteen this and Penmanship with the black body: the two feel different, and the writing is scratchier. this should not make any difference, of course, since it's just the nib, but my experience jibes witheveryone else's.

I love this pen, and I love how others envy it ;). I think I'm going to convert one of my Penmanships, though a $20 kit for a $7 pen is a bit hard to stomach.

1 person found this helpful
RoysterSB
 
September 10, 2010
Excellent pen for the...
Verified Purchase
Excellent pen for the money! I find the "ergo grip" a little slippery in the clear plastic, at least compared to the similar grip on the matte black Lamy Safari (haven't compared it to the opaque Penmanship.) I like the slightly scratchy nature of this Extra Fine nib: it has more of a fountain pen feel than the wider Lamy Extra-Fine, meaning that it provides enough resistance that you can vary line width & darkness to a certain degree by varying pressure & speed in order to get a degree of a quill or calligraphy look. Otherwise, it writes a super-thin line, similar to a rollerball 0.3/0.25, at least when using Noodlers' Ink in a Pilot Con-50 converter.

1 person found this helpful
gweb_world
 
August 1, 2010
1st of all, one must...
Verified Purchase
1st of all, one must remember you\'re paying not much for this pen. This being said it is the thinnest nib I have ever encountered. Though plastic, it\'s a hard plastic with a solid construction. The ink has yet to chunk up - but I\'ve always used Pelikan ink in all my pens. I\'ve experienced no leaks (yet) like others and it\'s hung out in my purse being relatively abused and flopped around. It is so thin I did notice that it is a bit scratchy on most pieces of paper - but considering it\'s finer than my gel ink Pilot RT which is at .38MM, I can\'t complain. The ergonomic grip is the basic triangle grip on many other pens - you can check out if you like it. I\'m left handed and I find it very comfortable. Overall, for the price you can\'t beat what you\'re getting.

1 person found this helpful
 
July 17, 2010
I recently got the black...
Verified Purchase
I recently got the black Penmanship, and I liked it so much that I decided to get a clear one as well. While the transparent body with its internally molded facets is quite attractive, overall, I don't like this version of the Penmanship as well as the black.

First, the cap and body do not thread onto the grip as well-- this is something to do with the plastic. The parts are "draggy" and squeak when they are threaded together. I found this so annoying, I finally wiped a little silicone grease on the threads.

Second, the nib on this pen writes dryer (the black ink looks gray) and is more scratchy. This is a very fine nib, which I like, but the "writing feel" of this pen is distinctly different from the black version.

And finally, one reviewer mentioned a leak where the nib unit joins the grip-- I can see ink right on the verge of seeping out here on my pen. Of course, I can't say whether the black pen has this same problem, because the plastic isn't transparent. No ink has actually seeped out yet, but I've only been using the pen for a day.

1 person found this helpful
 
June 22, 2010
I love this pen, with...
Verified Purchase
I love this pen, with its extra fine nib, especially on very smooth, high quality paper. Unfortunately, mine has developed a persistent leak where the nib is inserted into the body. I'll order another, but I'm a little disappointed in the quality. Then again, I've crammed this pen into an over-stuffed bag and taken it on several flights, and it may not have been designed for that kind of abuse.

1 person found this helpful
kathleen.duke
 
May 31, 2010
I like this pen for very...
Verified Purchase
I like this pen for very fine writing. It will scratch Moleskinne paper is definitely better suited to nicer, smoother papers. If you favor small, precise writing, it is a nice pen with the right paper.

1 person found this helpful
terrijones
 
May 12, 2010
I'm a bit disappointed...
I'm a bit disappointed with it, the ergo grip is great but the fineness of the nib causes it to skip almost every time I write.

1 person found this helpful
 
May 6, 2010
the best pen ever made...... ...
Verified Purchase
the best pen ever made......
ive just recived my 8th pen and i love it just as much as the 7 others, i find ways to use them every day, just fo feel them glide across the paper.
it is the smoothest pen i have ever used and combined with noodlers inks it is in a word sublime....
love it love it love it.

1 person found this helpful
midtnight2000
 
April 19, 2010
I like how fine this...
Verified Purchase
I like how fine this pen is and the way it feels when I hold it. The cap is a screw-cap but it lacks a clip. My major problem was the re-usable pilot cartridge converter works poorly with this pen. I will end up trying to refill the cartridge it already came with and reinserting it with the open side facing up to prevent spilling.

1 person found this helpful
specialmeat