JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.2 (84 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 28, 2010
Save your money and get...
Verified Purchase
Save your money and get something like the pilot petit 1 or platinum preppy, they both cost wayyy less and write Much better. The design is ok, but the extra fine nib skips, ans is worse than writing with a tack. For the same price, a chinese made fountain pen will be more bang for the buck

2 people found this helpful
imnotrussian
 
March 19, 2010
Scratchy and dry! I suppose...
Verified Purchase
Scratchy and dry! I suppose I got a bad one, based on the other good reviews here. I have both nice (Namiki vanishing point) and cheap (Sailor ink-bar) fountain pens, which are wonderful, but this Pilot Penmanship is the worst pen I have ever used. If I took a straight pin and dipped it in ink, it would still produce a more useful line than this pen.

1 person found this helpful
pauloverseas
 
February 15, 2010
bought and compared to...
Verified Purchase
bought and compared to the platinum preppy - sturdy and attractive body, the nib appears more flexible (pro) but feels more scratchy (con). i like that it is a dry writer with a fine and sturdy line - no feathering or smearing. However, i dislike that you have to tediously screw the cap on instead of just popping it back on when finished - so, if you are switching between pens you are more likely to leave it uncapped, and so its more likely to dry out and skip (ive had to dip the pen in water to get it going again). A good pen but not as dazzling as the preppies.

1 person found this helpful
aveturquesa
 
September 25, 2009
Thought I would try this...
Verified Purchase
Thought I would try this one just for fun though wasn't expecting much for the price.
What a wonderful surprise to find that it writes well. Thin, thin line and very trustworthy.
Doesn't skip. It's fun to write with and I find myself using it more and more. Very glad I bought it!

1 person found this helpful
catbuddha
 
August 29, 2009
Of all the fountain pens...
Of all the fountain pens I own, this is my favorite.

1 person found this helpful
pierrewilli
 
August 13, 2009
very nice pen. it is...
Verified Purchase
very nice pen. it is extra fine nib, but you will get used to it soon. it makes me keep writing!!!

1 person found this helpful
 
August 3, 2009
Just received the pen...
Verified Purchase
Just received the pen and love it so far. It is light. It is good looking. And it writes very well. The nib is extra fine. Hope pilot will release fine nib version soon.

1 person found this helpful
archi_shih
 
July 8, 2009
Very nice fountain pen!...
Verified Purchase
Very nice fountain pen! My order took only a day to arrive! This pen color is the better option in my opinion because it is clear and allows you to tell when the ink it running out.
The nib is extremely fine- I compared it to another pen which was marked as a .005mm and this pen writes in an identical line width- So this pen would be great for detailed drawings!
thanks Jetpens!

1 person found this helpful
fstgeorge
 
April 13, 2009
Really love it. That...
Verified Purchase
Really love it. That extra extra fine tip is fantastic. Got the clear pen just a few days back. Came back to get 2-3 more. Really bummed to see the SOLD OUT.
PS: does it come in any other colors.

1 person found this helpful
sduckett48
 
October 23, 2014
I absolutely love to...
Verified Purchase
I absolutely love to draw with this pen!
It was quite frustrating trying to start this pen (as with other fountain pens), and it took some time to learn how to use it, but I just can't go back to standard multiliners after drawing with this. My lines look smooth and never skip. It can produce very, very thin lines, and the better the paper, the better the result.
The ink that comes with it (in the cartridge form) is off-black, but I personally have no problem with it. If you plan to draw often with this pen, I recommend buying more cartridges or a converter to extend the ink supply. I've already used two cartridges myself so far, and the pen's performance has stayed constant all this time.
I don't foresee this pen giving in any time soon, but when the time comes, I'll definitely be buying another.