My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.9 (18 customer reviews)
Write Review
7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  This is a wonderful pen,..., December 13, 2013
This is a wonderful pen, in every respect. I have many of them, almost the entire range of colours. And spare cartridges bought separately.

They are just as beautiful as they are pictured here at jetpens! (And you get to touch them and write with them - sweet experience, esp since jetpens delivers so quickly, like in a fairy tale!)

Sturdy and trustworthy writing buddies.

Smooth and reliable ink flow.

They are NOT DISPOSABLE as someone wrote on Dec 3, 2013, come on! - the proprietary cartridge can be replaced or refilled with non-proprietary ink.

They have a special ingenious design that allows the inner chamber to be sealed almost hermetically (air-tightly) while the cap is on - so the ink does not evaporate like it happens with non-screw-cap fountain pens - the ink stays the same colour and does not get darker as it does when exposed to air while one is not writing (I love it).

Petit1 is small in length but is NOT small at all - for average hands it feels even bulkier than most traditional-design plumes.

I, while thinking between scribbling sessions, just look at the pen in the hand, admiring the enticing yet basically very simple Japanese design.

And - not the least - have you noticed the price? Buy as many as you want while they are available - and enjoy the art of writing!
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  In the world of overpriced..., February 4, 2013
In the world of overpriced products and stuffy ideas about fountain pens, there has just arrived a very fair value from Pilot in their new eyedropper mini. For $3.80 ea., it is a home run! I have used Lamy Safari's and Kaweco Ice pens for a number of years with no other coming close to their function, value or reliability. This new mini has good flow, writes well in F and construction in better than you would think for the stciker price.

I traditionally have given pens away as gifts to help friends and family become involved in writing with a fountain pen. Now, it won't be as painful when it leaves my desk for another or I lose one while traveling.

Hats off to Pilot for a wonderful breakthrough in writing pleasure!
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  I'm a big fan of the..., November 21, 2012
By ssnmul
I'm a big fan of the Pilot Petit 1s so I had to get a few of the reisue. This latest version retains the good looks and smooth, reliable writing of the original Petits, but improves it with a clear collector section, making this a true demonstrator pen. The new version of this pen has a slightly longer barrel (approx 0.25 inches) which may make it more comfortable for people with larger hands (personally, I find it comfortable to write with both the older and newer versions).

This is a fantastic entry level pen, a great little gift item, and a pen that is so affordable that you can splurge and buy one of each color! I have nothing but good things to say about this pen!!!!
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  For the price, the size,..., March 19, 2014
For the price, the size, the quality and convenience of cartridges for budgeting pen purchasers, this pen is worth your time. It needs some time, as with any pen, to really be broken into, to become comfortable and familiar, but after, oh, it's swell. For me, when it did, I fell in love. For three dollars by some more, many, in different colors and with refills of ink cartridges (easier than refilling with ink--practical).

I don't know why, but I'm a BIG fan of mini sized pens. They aren't particularly ergonomic (haha), but somehow I enjoy the smaller size, quaint and friendly, so that I can concentrate on the act of writing though distracted with the size. I always have one in my pocket, one beside my bed, on the nightstand (for late night ideas to jot), and one attached to my Midori traveler's notebook. Oh yeah, Pilot. I can dig it. Fine indeed.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This pen was my first..., January 16, 2013
This pen was my first fountain pen. Needless to say, they got me hooked. The ink flows very smoothly and almost never gets clogged, even if you stop using for a week or two. The pen is kinda small and fat, but with the cap on at the end, it's perfectly fine.

I love this pen because of its inexpensive price, so I might plan on going on a spree for these, and it's a great gift for sure! It's just too cute, and the black blue color is amazing! The nib isn't too flexible, but I don't find it a bother.

I also like that this is a demonstration pen because of its subtly clear body. Too bad the ink runs out quickly. I love the entire Petit series!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I misplaced my Pilot..., March 7, 2014
I misplaced my Pilot Petit1 almost a year ago. Well, good new, I found it today! I sat down, posted the cap, put pen to paper and...it wrote beautifully. I would have expected the ink to be dried up, at least on the nib, but it is writing as smooth as ever. I've got more expensive pens that aren't nearly as reliable as this. For less then $4, I'll be ordering a couple more as fun gifts.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  For the price, it’s..., December 3, 2013
For the price, it’s a pretty decent fountain pen. It writes well with a little bit of threading, but naturally you’re not going to get the same experience as if you were using a $100 pen. Heck, nibs for those pens cost much more than this pen itself.

I have very tiny handwriting, so for this pen I flipped the nib over so that the top of it faces downward; it writes much better for me that way. It’s not that much thinner, but enough for me to notice.
The ink color is great, and is more black/gray with a hint of blue.

The pen feels very sturdy in the hand despite its price point, and is fine for a disposable item. I love the size with the cap on, as I prefer smaller pens.

Obviously it’s no contender against non-disposable (or “regular”) fountain pens, but it holds its own, and it holds it well.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I bought this pen for..., November 28, 2013
I bought this pen for laughs, just wanted to see what you get for the price. Imagine my surprise when I found out that this little thing is a quite capable and useful fountain pen. I have left it untouched for two weeks and when I used again, wrote on first try, not even a hint of drying out (wish I could say that about my Parker).

Value for money: 5 stars
Fun value: 5 stars
Usability: 5 stars
Portability: 5 stars

Same goes for the Petit Sign Pen.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I'm going to have a hard..., October 30, 2013
I'm going to have a hard time keeping these from "walking away". This is the first fountain pen I've had in years and I'm in love again. Simple, consistent and well-made its a great pen to tuck away everywhere. Now to remember not to loan them to my students...
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Just a quick update to..., June 21, 2013
By ekw...
Just a quick update to my review from 5/30 - the more I use this pen, the more I like it. I write left handed, and that combined with a fine nib, can contribute to some broken lines and skipping. Not with this economical, well-made pen. Bravo, Pilot - I'm buying more of these, both to keep and to share with other pen-loving friends.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Writes great its hard..., June 7, 2013
By joest4
Writes great its hard to believe that it was only $3.80 I will be ordering more of these. The blue black is great. I perfer it over the preppy blue black.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Great I have one of these..., May 31, 2013
By joe...
Great I have one of these and two preppys. I love this the most the ink flow is great. I thought it would be too small but with the cap its fine, and I can take it on the go.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is an excellent..., May 30, 2013
By ekw...
This is an excellent value for a compact fountain pen. The nib on this pen somehow avoids the scratchiness I encounter with other similar writing instruments. Get the additional package of cartridges - you'll want to use this pen often.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Very good pen! This pen..., February 28, 2013
By tim...
Very good pen! This pen seems sturdy and good enough to use every day. The only issue is that it tends to use the ink a lot more than I thought a fine nib would use. Perhaps if pilot makes this pen in extra fine nib then I can save some ink!
  Make no mistake, it's..., September 2, 2014
Make no mistake, it's a wonderful fountain pen that everyone can enjoy and use....

Even the cartridges are easy to refill and the pen is a perfect pocket carry!
  This pen is very cool..., April 17, 2014
This pen is very cool and I think that it is a great starter fountain pen. I purchased a single with blue-black ink along with some pilot/namiki ink cartridges. My favorite thing about the pen itself is the size of it; 4 inches cap closed and 5.1 inches when writing with cap on end. I do have large hands but have no problems writing with it (again, as long as the cap is on the opposite end when writing).

I also cannot figure out why people say that this pen is so scratchy as I have not had that problem even with the standard ink that it comes with. I also love the fine nib, which probably writes between an .5 mm to .7 mm gel pen (pending because mine writes extra fine but at times seems bolder than usually).

Other than that I have no qualms about this pen. I would purchase this again as an everyday pen :)
  I love this little pen. I..., April 11, 2014
I love this little pen.

I keep it in my hip pocket with my wallet, and not only does it not leak but it's sturdy enough to stand up to my every day wanderings. It writes smoothly and, most impressively, the ink dries very fast and doesn't have a tendency to bleed or feather on almost all paper I've tried it on.

It's this really great touch of class when someone asks to borrow a pen and I pull this fellow out: I've gotten no end of complements and had to remind more than a few people that I'd like the pen back when they've finished with it.
  I adore these little..., January 8, 2014
I adore these little pens, they write beautifully- the ink spreads and dries wonderfully. Just an all around great pen to have tucked away. And at this price point they have been a very affordable incentive for my students. They are more then willing to put in extra effort to earn one of these pens, and I get a kick out of getting to expose them to something a bit different.