JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (9 customer reviews)
Write Review
July 2, 2014
This little guy is surprisingl...
Verified Purchase
This little guy is surprisingly wonderful! Depending on how light or heavy your touch is, the line put down ranges from fairly fine to very broad! If only this were an actual brush tip... And if the entire tip were usable, rather than the lighter portion depicted beyond the white bit being plastic. Still, the felt tip works nicely and it's refillable. The tip itself seems quite resilient, though more time is needed to see just how long it lasts. Plus, it's hard to beat that price!

The ink is a transparent black, and of course is slightly water-resistant when dry. You can get some interesting effects using a wet brush after doing your sketch, such as doing some light shading. You can even dip the pen directly into water and use it like a watercolor brush, to an extent, or get some interesting effects drawing onto paper that's been pre-wetted. And you can always convert this pen into an eyedropper and use whatever ink with whatever water-resistance level you choose, which is what I plan to do.

The compact size allows it to fit in many travel-kits for painting and sketching, but when posted has a comfortable length to work with. I do so love these little pens, as well as the fountain pen version!

2 people found this helpful
djkhimtaka
 
July 13, 2014
This fude pen is now...
Verified Purchase
This fude pen is now a permanent part of my sketch kit, more due to its compact size than any other quality. I have other brush pens of course, with actual bristles instead of the felt, but this is a nice little workhorse. (Seriously, though.. Pilot should really make bristled versions of the Petit, and it would be sublime.)

The lines you can achieve range from fine to fairly broad, and once the ink has completely saturated the nib, it's quite flexible. Something about the ink it comes with takes forever to saturate the nib, however. I intend to turn this into an eyedropper, as my apple green version works stunningly wonderful as such, but I thought I'd give the cartridge a try. Nope.. Never again. It takes several days for it to saturate the nib, and the ink color itself isn't all that impressive. Just convert this one and fill it with your own ink!

I really love these pens, and the fountain pen version. They're compact when capped, but comfortably lengthed when the cap is posted, they come in fun colors, and you can mod and fill them with coordinating inks or whatever ink you want!

1 person found this helpful
djkhimtaka
 
April 23, 2013
For the price, this is...
Verified Purchase
For the price, this is a terrific little refillable brush pen! I keep one in each of my sketch kits--they are good for expressive lines from broad to very fine, and are compact enough to take anywhere. Like all the Pilot Petit pens I've tried, they are very reliable. And, a big plus is that they are refillable--I can put whatever fountain pen ink I want in the cartridge, and because the pen body is transparent, you can see how much ink you have left. For people worried about the small size (which I like), the pen cap posts, which makes the pen standard length. I think these are a terrific addition to any artist's kit (and they're fun, too!).

1 person found this helpful
leighabernathy
 
November 5, 2014
Great little fiber tip...
Verified Purchase
Great little fiber tip pen. Use it all the time.

 
October 30, 2014
I used this for drawing,...
Verified Purchase
I used this for drawing, but I am not sure I can agree with all the glowing reviews. This is a very nice pen, but it acts more like a felt tip pen to me than a brush pen. I do not get a great variety of line widths out of it. If I go very soft, maybe a little bit of a fine line, but for the most part, my lines were very similar. That being said, I loved the dark ink. Good and dark. Very easy to draw quickly with and yet keep a decent darkness to the line. The nib seems to hold up well. The fact that it is refillable is a big plus. If you draw with felt tip pens, then this may be an excellent replacement for you.

 
October 27, 2014
Oh this pen is so much...
Verified Purchase
Oh this pen is so much fun. It's actually bigger than I thought it's be, but still very, VERY compact. I didn't have the saturation problem with the ink cartridge that came with it (saturated the nib very quickly), but the ink itself does get a tiny bit transparent. It's copic proof, not water proof though, so those of you who plan to draw with it, beware :) A solution, though, is to empty the cartridge and fill it up with the ink from a pentel pocket brush ink ;P

 
October 16, 2014
This brush pen is my...
Verified Purchase
This brush pen is my first try at one, and it is pretty fun. However, it is not really my thing.

The black is decent, though not as deep as I had hoped. It does function well though.

zenismighty
 
September 22, 2014
I am in love with this...
I am in love with this pen! Seriously, I wish I could by the whole set, but I am unfortunately broke. Oh well.
Now, just as a fair warning to anyone planning to eyedropper a Pilot Petit to use their own ink. . . DON'T. It didn't go very well for me; the ink eventually started leaking through the tip and I ended up with a huge mess. The syringe method is WAY better! Here's a good tutorial on how to refill cartridges with a syringe: http://www.inknouveau.com/2012/07/fp101-refilling-ink-cartridge.html

mizzelizaveta
 
August 14, 2013
This little Titan of...
Verified Purchase
This little Titan of a pen surprised me! The range on it is pretty remarkable starting at a really thin line to a medium-broad. Very nice! Refilling it seems easy enough and allows for a longer use than just once,....so long as the tip holds out. I really like it and will keep it for travel.

togotooner