My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.8 (21 customer reviews)
Write Review
8 out of 8 people found the following review helpful
  My handwriting had gotten..., August 11, 2011
My handwriting had gotten so terrible when notetaking I'd reverted to using ALLCAPS so I might have some chance of reading it at a later date - then I got this pen. I hold it so the itallic nib creates broad down strokes, amazingly the thicks and thins this creates make my handwriting in cursive legible - even to other humans!
The line variation also adds expression to sketching, the Plumix being such a joy to use is the first implement I reach for.
Acquired the CON-20 converter when I purchased the pen and have been using J.Herbin inks and have had no troubles with either.
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  I've had this FP for..., February 27, 2011
I've had this FP for about six month. It's a very versatile pen, great for calligraphy and applicable for everyday writing. The grip is ergonomic and the pen is light.
Have not been gentle with this pen, writing on coarse surfaces and accidentally dropping it a few times. No problems. It's a work horse no doubt, very satisfied. Would recommend this FP to anyone interested in having a little fun with a versatile flat nib.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I've tried several inks..., January 14, 2012
By bg...
I've tried several inks in these pens, including iroshizuku (tsuki-yo), and have not been pleased with any of them. They felt scratchy on several papers, flow was intermittent, and, though this is far more subjective, they were too light-weight for me. I also am not thrilled with the lack of a clip. I tend not to carry a briefcase or man-purse, so they were not great choices for the coat pocket, and that was my own short-sightedness in buying them.

Now, as regards cartridges and their availability, one of the reasons I tend to like most Pilot-Namiki products is the refill-ability of the cartridges. I'm partial to the dental irrigator for this purpose, but there are any number of syringe-like options. The mouth of the cartridge is so wide that even another pen with a converter can be used to refill them.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Very lightweight, which..., December 30, 2010
Very lightweight, which is a plus for me. It writes very smooth, I use the J. Herbin Gris Nuage with this pen and it writes beautifully. I am happy with the medium nib but need to write a little larger than normal to accommodate.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I bought this pen so..., June 5, 2013
By nde...
I bought this pen so I could take out the nib and transfer to my pilot metropolitan but after writing with it for a while I realized it's actually very comfortable to hold and write with for long periods of time. I'm very much into italic nibs these days and the quality of this pen's nib already pays for the entire pen. Well worth the $7.25 I paid considering the 1.1 calligraphy nib I bought for my kaweco sport cost more than $10.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I've bought several of..., May 12, 2014
I've bought several of these Pilot Plumix pens in order to transfer their nibs into Pilot Preras. I prefer to write with a medium italic nib and the combination of the Prera and this nib is a joy to write with. For some reason, I have kept this black Plumix as is. I put in a CON-50 converter into the pen and filled it with Iroshizuku Take-Sumi black and the pen and ink married into a comfortable writing instrument. It always starts, writes smoothly and never skips. Sometimes the nibs on the Plumix do need a little tuning, but this one was perfect out of the box.

Surprising, the Plumix is not a bad little pen to write with. It is light-weight, has a large ink window, and I like the smoky transparency of its squid-like body. It does not have a clip, so you'll want to use this as a desk pen only, however the cap does prevent the pen from rolling on your tabletop.

If you are looking for a starter pen to experience what an italic nib is all about, this is a good first choice.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Love the extra-wide,..., May 31, 2012
By sop...
Love the extra-wide, flat nib. It makes all my handwritten notes look special. I tried converting it to an eyedropper, and it blurted out ink. I'd read about that problem; now I know for myself. So I re-drilled the hole in the end and now use a con-50 converter. (The con-20 I'd tried awhile ago leaked in both the Plumix and my Penmanship, and I'd also read about con-20's inconsistent quality control.) For the price, it's a terrific pen -- smooth flow after flossing with nylon quilting thread, nice calligraphy capabilities, and just the right width for everyday use, too.
  This pen is getting 5..., January 20, 2014
This pen is getting 5 stars from me for two reasons. First, it is an awesome pen in it's own right, typical (excellent) Pilot quality for writing super smooth and two, the Plumix is a very happy nib donor for upgrading a Pilot Metropolitan to an italic nib (and when you take the medium nib from the Metro and put it on the Plumix, you have a very lovely, medium nib pen too).

To the people who had issues with this pen, try with a different ink. Not all inks are the same and you just have to try and find what works best and what you like. I for one absolutely love that pen and for under 8 bucks, how can you lose?

Also, the Pilot Penmenship with the EF nib is also a great and inexpensive way to upgrade a Metro to EF. ;)
  I've been pretty happy..., October 25, 2013
By pepe
I've been pretty happy with this one. I love that I can just throw it in my bag and not have to take care of it scratching, since it is a more informal pen. It's not perfect. Sometimes the ink will drip inside the cap just a little, and I get it on my fingers if I put the cap in the back of the pen.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I have 2 of these and..., February 27, 2012
I have 2 of these and to differing degrees, they have the same problem. They constantly skip each time I pick up the nib to start a new letter. And sometimes they skip during the letters themselves. I ordered a Lamy Safari at the same time, and it is a great example of how a fountain pen SHOULD write. Of course, it costs four or five times as much as the Plumix. BUT--I also ordered a Pilot Petit, and it costs half as much and writes much more smoothly than the Plumix. Perhaps it is the fact that the Petit, like the Safari, has an actual rounded tip at the end. In any case, I'll probably buy more Petits, especially when JetPens gets in some decent ink colors, but I feel like I wasted my money on the Plumix.
  I also recently purchased..., July 30, 2011
I also recently purchased the Pilot Plumix today, and I must say, I was pleasantly surprised. I didn't think I would like the flat nib, but it grew on me after a writing a few sentences.

I will be purchasing a converter for this in the hopes that I can test out how Baystate Blue works in this pen.
  Fantastic calligraphy..., October 23, 2010
By gwe...
Fantastic calligraphy pen, and cheaper than the middling Schaeffers you get at the craft store! If you like to keep lots of inks at the ready, a fistful of these plus Pilot liquid ink converters can be had for the price of the fine quality Lamy Joy. The medium nib is not unwieldy for everyday writing, since the edge is very thin, resulting in good character definition when held properly with the 3-sided handpiece. Noodlers Ink can be a bit too much for the Pilots, but J. Herbin Pearl Black is very crisp in the Plumix.
  Funny, I didn't like..., October 2, 2010
By sk8...
Funny, I didn't like this pen at first. It seemed to be dry and scratchy until I put Iroshizuku ink into it. Then it suddenly began to write with a beautiful smooth and wet line! At least the one I got seems to be fussy about its ink! Also the screw-off top was a little annoying at first but it does keep it from drying out. All in all, it really grew on me! I may even order another one in a different color, now that I know it only drinks fine wine.
  very very pleased about..., April 10, 2010
very very pleased about the nib of this pen, it also holds comfortably but being used to writing with a Parker Sonnet pen the plastic is slightly too light for me. Still considering the price this is a fantastic product!!

Downside is I am in Europe and so far jepens is the only source I've found for the inkcartridges
  Not bad for a calligraphy..., January 29, 2010
By wtu...
Not bad for a calligraphy pen. I like the unique clear body with its interesting shape. We have the one in the pen holder on the fridge, and we use it to leave notes on yellow post-its for other members of the household. Nice to do the calligraphic scrolling S, T and L when leaving a quick note. ;-) Our post-its look like they were written in the Middle Ages. ;-)

This seems more like a pen one would use for school when learning basic penmanship. I can't imagine using it at work, as it has just the one refill. Haven't purchased any replacements, though, but I probably will once it goes empty. :-) The cap is quite interesting as well, seeing how it screws on and off. It sits perfectly on the non-writing end when stored while writing. Nice "unnoticeable-at-first" touch for such a simple and elegant pen.

Five stars for originality in design and the great ink flow--even after weeks of sitting in the pen holder on the fridge. :-)
  American Plumix and European..., November 19, 2009
By fen...
American Plumix and European Pluminix are NOT the same pen.
The Pluminix is an even more mini version. I've got one. The major difference is that it's a Pilot that takes short international cartridges, is a bit shorter still and doesn't have the elipsed "ribs" on the inside of the coloured barrel (though that's just for decoration). It's got the same square cut italic nib, that seems about strong enough to chisel through stone. All in all, bot a bad ben, but not great either. It's probably the italic nib, but it seems vulnerable to the grease or oils a right-handed writer puts on the paper with his writing han.
  When I first say a review..., July 22, 2009
When I first say a review of this pen I was excited as i knew by the shape of the nib that it was a calligraphy type pen but one that could be pushed, unlike a conventional calligraphy nib, which can only be pulled. After buying one I was so stoked that I bought the other 2 colors! When held and used correctly the Plumix will give any hand an elegant look! This is an excellent pen and a great companion to the Pilot Penmanship. I am glad to see JetPems carrying this wonderful pen!
  I bought this pen yesterday..., July 18, 2009
I bought this pen yesterday @ Target.

The one thing I don't like about it, is that the nib is a calligraphy nib.
I was expecting a regular fountain pen nib.

Other than that, though, I like the body.

Also - there's no cartridge inside the pen --
(I was thinking it was something like Platinum Preppy w/ the cartridge in
the body, but not penetrated yet.)
You only get that ONE refill.

And yes, the nib is Medium, not Fine as the outside packaging states.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Maybe it's just me but..., January 12, 2014
Maybe it's just me but I can't see how anyone would ever want to write with a nib this broad - even in italic. I had a Plumix once before with a fine italic nib on it and my writing reminded me of the historical documents written with a quill. My writing with this medium italic nib reminds me of an early grade school child writing with a crayon. This is probably going into the bottom drawer of my desk never to be seen again. I consider it, and the dozen cartridges I got for it, to be a waste of my money.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I never write reviews..., December 15, 2012
By aly...
I never write reviews but absolutely had to in this case. This is the most finicky pen I've ever dealt with. I bought this pen along with the CON-20 converter to go with it. It writes beautifully when you can get it to work but I experienced 3 strange things with this pen-converter combo:

1. The converter comes easily unattached, spilling ink everywhere inside the pen and making a mess. It's done this about 3 times since I've owned it (for just a few weeks now).
2. The converter doesn't hold very much ink. For instance, I refilled it yesterday, wrote about 30 lines of text, and it's run out already today.
3. If you stop in between scribbles for a moment to think/research before putting the pen down again to write, the ink dries up in the nib and you need to coax the ink out of it again. This usually takes about a couple minutes.

I am somewhat new to fountain pens and before this only had a Lamy safari with a converter. It's never given me a problem, so I never would have anticipated that the Pilot Plumix and converter would have been so finicky!
0 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Bought two of these through..., January 22, 2011
Bought two of these through a friend, and had them carried all the way to India only to find them terribly dry and scratchy. Very poor pen. Bought the Preppy and the Varsity which were both excellent.

I'm now hoping for a refund. Terrible idea. I should've read the reviews, some of which echo my story.


The Penmanship model had the same problem. A piece of wire dipped in ink writes more smoothly.