JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.9 (25 customer reviews)
Write Review
August 11, 2011
My handwriting had gotten...
Verified Purchase
My handwriting had gotten so terrible when notetaking I'd reverted to using ALLCAPS so I might have some chance of reading it at a later date - then I got this pen. I hold it so the itallic nib creates broad down strokes, amazingly the thicks and thins this creates make my handwriting in cursive legible - even to other humans!
The line variation also adds expression to sketching, the Plumix being such a joy to use is the first implement I reach for.
Acquired the CON-20 converter when I purchased the pen and have been using J.Herbin inks and have had no troubles with either.

10 people found this helpful
anita.misa
 
February 27, 2011
I've had this FP for...
Verified Purchase
I've had this FP for about six month. It's a very versatile pen, great for calligraphy and applicable for everyday writing. The grip is ergonomic and the pen is light.
Have not been gentle with this pen, writing on coarse surfaces and accidentally dropping it a few times. No problems. It's a work horse no doubt, very satisfied. Would recommend this FP to anyone interested in having a little fun with a versatile flat nib.

8 people found this helpful
xenos_argo
 
January 14, 2012
I've tried several inks...
Verified Purchase
I've tried several inks in these pens, including iroshizuku (tsuki-yo), and have not been pleased with any of them. They felt scratchy on several papers, flow was intermittent, and, though this is far more subjective, they were too light-weight for me. I also am not thrilled with the lack of a clip. I tend not to carry a briefcase or man-purse, so they were not great choices for the coat pocket, and that was my own short-sightedness in buying them.

Now, as regards cartridges and their availability, one of the reasons I tend to like most Pilot-Namiki products is the refill-ability of the cartridges. I'm partial to the dental irrigator for this purpose, but there are any number of syringe-like options. The mouth of the cartridge is so wide that even another pen with a converter can be used to refill them.

5 people found this helpful
 
June 5, 2013
I bought this pen so...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen so I could take out the nib and transfer to my pilot metropolitan but after writing with it for a while I realized it's actually very comfortable to hold and write with for long periods of time. I'm very much into italic nibs these days and the quality of this pen's nib already pays for the entire pen. Well worth the $7.25 I paid considering the 1.1 calligraphy nib I bought for my kaweco sport cost more than $10.

4 people found this helpful
ndeguzman
 
December 30, 2010
Very lightweight, which...
Verified Purchase
Very lightweight, which is a plus for me. It writes very smooth, I use the J. Herbin Gris Nuage with this pen and it writes beautifully. I am happy with the medium nib but need to write a little larger than normal to accommodate.

4 people found this helpful
specialmeat
 
May 12, 2014
I've bought several of...
Verified Purchase
I've bought several of these Pilot Plumix pens in order to transfer their nibs into Pilot Preras. I prefer to write with a medium italic nib and the combination of the Prera and this nib is a joy to write with. For some reason, I have kept this black Plumix as is. I put in a CON-50 converter into the pen and filled it with Iroshizuku Take-Sumi black and the pen and ink married into a comfortable writing instrument. It always starts, writes smoothly and never skips. Sometimes the nibs on the Plumix do need a little tuning, but this one was perfect out of the box.

Surprising, the Plumix is not a bad little pen to write with. It is light-weight, has a large ink window, and I like the smoky transparency of its squid-like body. It does not have a clip, so you'll want to use this as a desk pen only, however the cap does prevent the pen from rolling on your tabletop.

If you are looking for a starter pen to experience what an italic nib is all about, this is a good first choice.

1 person found this helpful
 
May 31, 2012
Love the extra-wide,...
Love the extra-wide, flat nib. It makes all my handwritten notes look special. I tried converting it to an eyedropper, and it blurted out ink. I'd read about that problem; now I know for myself. So I re-drilled the hole in the end and now use a con-50 converter. (The con-20 I'd tried awhile ago leaked in both the Plumix and my Penmanship, and I'd also read about con-20's inconsistent quality control.) For the price, it's a terrific pen -- smooth flow after flossing with nylon quilting thread, nice calligraphy capabilities, and just the right width for everyday use, too.

1 person found this helpful
 
November 20, 2014
This one is a bit bigger...
Verified Purchase
This one is a bit bigger than the penmanship fountain pen one. It takes some time getting used to a flat nib, especially for a beginner at calligraphy like me, but oh so satisfying when I got the hang of it. Quite enjoyable actually. Try practicing with 'Jose Canyousee' and 'Arthur Anymoredonuts.' Yup. Just gets you into it.

paulalawrenceluz
 
November 10, 2014
This is a wonderful pen!...
Verified Purchase
This is a wonderful pen! Nice line variety with your angle to the paper. Very smooth flowing and smooth on paper. The pen grip is perfect, but my son who is Lefty did not like the angle of the grip. I'm a Righty and I like the fit! Gomes with a blue/black cartridge, so I ordered The Pilot Namiki Black ink cartridges for it.

Great pen!

 
October 29, 2014
Excellent Italic pen....
Verified Purchase
Excellent Italic pen. Very good for sketching and everyday writing.