My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.1 (10 customer reviews)
Write Review
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  The price for this pen..., November 10, 2011
By dal...
The price for this pen is pretty good for its quality. The casing is just plastic, so nothing too exciting, although the shape does provide a good grip. The nib is nice and can provide great variation. There can be some issues when the nib is just starting, e.g., skipping, dryness, etc. I found it to improve with use and a thorough cleaning or two, though it was frustrating. I haven't had a problem with it since; it's always been a reliable go-to pen for me. I've used cartridges and converters from Pilot in it without problems. It was my first real fountain pen, I believe, and I still use it frequently.

Oh, a note for some beginners: Keep in mind that Pilot uses proprietary cartridges, i.e., only Pilot cartridges and converters will fit this pen.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Inconsistent! I didn't..., June 15, 2011
Inconsistent! I didn't buy this from JetPens, but I did want to write a review anyway.

I've had two of these pens - a blue one and a purple one - both with the same music nib. The blue one was smooth and wonderful, but I lost it. Even though I am left-handed, it was buttery and put down a solid wet line. Very nice to use. Also cheap! But alas! I eagerly bought the purple one to replace it and was immediately disappointed in what a poor writer it was compared to the other one I own(ed). Dry, scratchy, skips a lot, hard to get started, inconsistent ink flow, etc.

I am also disappointed that the converter costs more than the pen does and it doesn't take a standard cartridge. If I had known that the converter was more than the pen and I have to order carts on the internet (can't find them locally), I would have probably not bought this pen (again). I am afraid of converting it to an eyedropper because it might break it my bag/make a mess/etc.

That said, it is a nice size and shape. The cap screws on securely and it feels nice to hold. This pen has a lot of good reviews, so it's entirely possible that the replacement I got is just bad quality. I am, however, disappointed that there is so much variation between the same model of pen. I may try to adjust the nib on it to save it considering that it's not very useful as-is right now.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I ordered this pen after..., August 10, 2012
By Niq...
I ordered this pen after some research, however my experience was less than satisfying. The italic nib created a beautiful writing experience for a very wallet friendly price. The color was very attractive...sadly that is where my applause ends. Maybe this was just my pen however the ink seems to over flow within the body and as a result causes ink to literally drop from the tip. So much ink drips that a little well was forming on my paper. This pen has yet to have any serious shaking, it has literally been sitting (upright) in my pen holder. Since I purchased replacement ink cartridges I cleaned and reinserted new ink, same issue be it purple or blue.

I wanted to love this pen but I really don't want to ruin my cloths, paper or anything else.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  These are quite nice..., October 11, 2009
These are quite nice fountain calligraphy pens. I like the nib, and it serves well for finer point calligraphy or italic writing. It can also be used whether you are left or right handed. The nib can be unscrewed from the body, and fitted onto pens like the Pilot Prera. I wish that Pilot would start selling the broader nib (BB) for this pen though. Some might not like the grip section though and it takes a bit to get used to.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is a great pen for..., February 23, 2013
By jan...
This is a great pen for a great price, it is fun to use and I love this italic nib. Just perfect.
  Absolutely LOVE this..., July 29, 2012
By lor...
Absolutely LOVE this fountain pen! Very smooth and easy to use. The grip makes it even nicer - and almost feels like it improves my writing. I will definitely be buying more of the Plumix in different colors from JetPens to add to my collection and to keep one available whether at home or work.
  This is the first fountain..., August 2, 2011
This is the first fountain pen I have ever used, and I love it. The grip is plastic, but shaped comfortably. The ink flows very well, and the ink it comes with is a very bold pretty rich blue color. I ended up buying a second one so that I could have one with blue ink and one with purple! The pilot con-20 converter fits this pen well and is easy to use. I am glad I chose this as my first fountain pen. It makes me want to try more of them!
  Very cute little pen,..., May 29, 2011
Very cute little pen, especially when paired with Pilot's purple ink. Writes beautifully compared to other pens in this price range and the cap stays posted nicely with no rattling. I personally liked the plastic grip right off, even though I tend to hold my pens a little higher up. This may have more to do with JetPens than Pilot, but there was a paper label stuck to the purple one which left behind a nasty residue I was wiping off for the first two days or so, thankfully it hasn't done anything to the body of the pen.
  I bought this pen about..., February 15, 2011
By the...
I bought this pen about 3 weeks ago. I really like it, but I agree that the grip takes a little getting used to. I didn't like the ink the cartridge came with, but with some Noodler's it writes well. The nib isn't super smooth, but isn't scratchy at all. Definitely a good value for the money.
  Not sure I like the flat..., January 31, 2011
By vso...
Not sure I like the flat nib, the triangular grip worked ok for me.
Not as in love with this pen as I had hoped I'd be. The Pilot Penmanship
looks a lot nicer for nearly the same cost.

Note the supplied ink is a medium blue.