JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (16 customer reviews)
Write Review
November 10, 2011
The price for this pen...
The price for this pen is pretty good for its quality. The casing is just plastic, so nothing too exciting, although the shape does provide a good grip. The nib is nice and can provide great variation. There can be some issues when the nib is just starting, e.g., skipping, dryness, etc. I found it to improve with use and a thorough cleaning or two, though it was frustrating. I haven't had a problem with it since; it's always been a reliable go-to pen for me. I've used cartridges and converters from Pilot in it without problems. It was my first real fountain pen, I believe, and I still use it frequently.

Oh, a note for some beginners: Keep in mind that Pilot uses proprietary cartridges, i.e., only Pilot cartridges and converters will fit this pen.

7 people found this helpful
dallas.arrington
 
June 15, 2011
Inconsistent! I didn't...
Inconsistent! I didn't buy this from JetPens, but I did want to write a review anyway.

I've had two of these pens - a blue one and a purple one - both with the same music nib. The blue one was smooth and wonderful, but I lost it. Even though I am left-handed, it was buttery and put down a solid wet line. Very nice to use. Also cheap! But alas! I eagerly bought the purple one to replace it and was immediately disappointed in what a poor writer it was compared to the other one I own(ed). Dry, scratchy, skips a lot, hard to get started, inconsistent ink flow, etc.

I am also disappointed that the converter costs more than the pen does and it doesn't take a standard cartridge. If I had known that the converter was more than the pen and I have to order carts on the internet (can't find them locally), I would have probably not bought this pen (again). I am afraid of converting it to an eyedropper because it might break it my bag/make a mess/etc.

That said, it is a nice size and shape. The cap screws on securely and it feels nice to hold. This pen has a lot of good reviews, so it's entirely possible that the replacement I got is just bad quality. I am, however, disappointed that there is so much variation between the same model of pen. I may try to adjust the nib on it to save it considering that it's not very useful as-is right now.

3 people found this helpful
gerbilchuff
 
August 10, 2012
I ordered this pen after...
Verified Purchase
I ordered this pen after some research, however my experience was less than satisfying. The italic nib created a beautiful writing experience for a very wallet friendly price. The color was very attractive...sadly that is where my applause ends. Maybe this was just my pen however the ink seems to over flow within the body and as a result causes ink to literally drop from the tip. So much ink drips that a little well was forming on my paper. This pen has yet to have any serious shaking, it has literally been sitting (upright) in my pen holder. Since I purchased replacement ink cartridges I cleaned and reinserted new ink, same issue be it purple or blue.

I wanted to love this pen but I really don't want to ruin my cloths, paper or anything else.

2 people found this helpful
Niqui.Riley
 
October 11, 2009
These are quite nice...
These are quite nice fountain calligraphy pens. I like the nib, and it serves well for finer point calligraphy or italic writing. It can also be used whether you are left or right handed. The nib can be unscrewed from the body, and fitted onto pens like the Pilot Prera. I wish that Pilot would start selling the broader nib (BB) for this pen though. Some might not like the grip section though and it takes a bit to get used to.

2 people found this helpful
transient.nature
 
February 23, 2013
This is a great pen for...
Verified Purchase
This is a great pen for a great price, it is fun to use and I love this italic nib. Just perfect.

1 person found this helpful
janiethomas
 
October 31, 2014
Excellent pen - flat...
Verified Purchase
Excellent pen - flat italic nib. For fountain pen beginners and for more experienced users. It looks a little juvenile but if you don't mind that, it is light but great to hold with the positioning design of the barrel. I used a Pilot Namiki purple ink and it flows great. The flat took a bit getting used to but it works great for taking notes quickly. Also had to get used to screwing the cap on and off but I like that since it makes it secure especially in a bag or pocket. I would recommend this pen. A workhorse.

 
October 29, 2014
Excellent Italic pen....
Verified Purchase
Excellent Italic pen. Very good for sketching and everyday writing.

 
October 29, 2014
This has been my carry...
Verified Purchase
This has been my carry everywhere italic nib pen. Cheap, effective, reliable, and well worth the minor cost.

 
October 27, 2014
best fountain pen in...
Verified Purchase
best fountain pen in the West

becsflowers
 
October 14, 2014
I bought this pen in...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen in order to pirate the medium italic nib and place it in my Pilot Prera. However, I found the purple color so cheerful that I left the medium nib from the Prera in it, gave it a converter and am now using it as a fountain pen in my rotation. The plastic of the body is light and feels cheap, I find that the carts and converters dry up faster than in my Prera, but otherwise it is a nice little desk pen. As long as you are not too hard on it, I think that it would prove to be a serviceable pen or a starter pen to see if you like to use italic nibs.