Page 1 of 3 |  | 
The price for this pen...
November 10, 2011
The price for this pen is pretty good for its quality. The casing is just plastic, so nothing too exciting, although the shape does provide a good grip. The nib is nice and can provide great variation. There can be some issues when the nib is just starting, e.g., skipping, dryness, etc. I found it to improve with use and a thorough cleaning or two, though it was frustrating. I haven't had a problem with it since; it's always been a reliable go-to pen for me. I've used cartridges and converters from Pilot in it without problems. It was my first real fountain pen, I believe, and I still use it frequently.

Oh, a note for some beginners: Keep in mind that Pilot uses proprietary cartridges, i.e., only Pilot cartridges and converters will fit this pen.
7 people found this helpful
dallas.arrington
Inconsistent! I didn't...
June 15, 2011
Inconsistent! I didn't buy this from JetPens, but I did want to write a review anyway.

I've had two of these pens - a blue one and a purple one - both with the same music nib. The blue one was smooth and wonderful, but I lost it. Even though I am left-handed, it was buttery and put down a solid wet line. Very nice to use. Also cheap! But alas! I eagerly bought the purple one to replace it and was immediately disappointed in what a poor writer it was compared to the other one I own(ed). Dry, scratchy, skips a lot, hard to get started, inconsistent ink flow, etc.

I am also disappointed that the converter costs more than the pen does and it doesn't take a standard cartridge. If I had known that the converter was more than the pen and I have to order carts on the internet (can't find them locally), I would have probably not bought this pen (again). I am afraid of converting it to an eyedropper because it might break it my bag/make a mess/etc.

That said, it is a nice size and shape. The cap screws on securely and it feels nice to hold. This pen has a lot of good reviews, so it's entirely possible that the replacement I got is just bad quality. I am, however, disappointed that there is so much variation between the same model of pen. I may try to adjust the nib on it to save it considering that it's not very useful as-is right now.
3 people found this helpful
gerbilchuff
I ordered this pen after...
August 10, 2012
Verified Purchase
I ordered this pen after some research, however my experience was less than satisfying. The italic nib created a beautiful writing experience for a very wallet friendly price. The color was very attractive...sadly that is where my applause ends. Maybe this was just my pen however the ink seems to over flow within the body and as a result causes ink to literally drop from the tip. So much ink drips that a little well was forming on my paper. This pen has yet to have any serious shaking, it has literally been sitting (upright) in my pen holder. Since I purchased replacement ink cartridges I cleaned and reinserted new ink, same issue be it purple or blue.

I wanted to love this pen but I really don't want to ruin my cloths, paper or anything else.
2 people found this helpful
Niqui.Riley
These are quite nice...
October 11, 2009
These are quite nice fountain calligraphy pens. I like the nib, and it serves well for finer point calligraphy or italic writing. It can also be used whether you are left or right handed. The nib can be unscrewed from the body, and fitted onto pens like the Pilot Prera. I wish that Pilot would start selling the broader nib (BB) for this pen though. Some might not like the grip section though and it takes a bit to get used to.
2 people found this helpful
transient.nature
This is a great writer....
October 10, 2014
Verified Purchase
This is a great writer. Very smooth, subtle line variation, and I've never had any problems with ink flow. My only complaint, and a very minor one, is that the grip feels rather slippery, and I always find my fingers creeping on down toward the nib the longer I write.

Other than that, I'm very pleased with this pen!
1 person found this helpful
djkhimtaka
This is a great pen for...
February 23, 2013
Verified Purchase
This is a great pen for a great price, it is fun to use and I love this italic nib. Just perfect.
1 person found this helpful
janiethomas
I bought this pen several...
May 7, 2015
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen several years ago. I carry it around in my backpack (so I always have a broad nib available) and I really like it. It is nothing special - but it works! As for the proprietary cartridge, I have been refilling the original cartridge with a syringe and needle, changing the colors from time to time as whim leads me.

Fun to play with! Easy to refill.
My daughter likes the...
May 5, 2015
Verified Purchase
My daughter likes the color purple more than I do. She also likes a fine point on a pen. I swapped the Plumix nib into a Pilot Metropolitan and the Metro's fine into the Plumix body. A box of Kaweco purple ink and the Plumix makes my daughter happy and I like my italic Metro. A win, win!
Oldgoatskc
I bought this pen to...
April 10, 2015
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen to remove the nib and put in my Pilot Prera since they don't come in italic. It worked great!
katiepeterson1991
These are such a versatile...
March 31, 2015
Verified Purchase
These are such a versatile pens and the cost is such that as I am trying to accumulate several so I can insert various beautiful colors of inks and what fun they are to use! I am trying out some with the Parallel pen cartridges as the colors are so varied. Have found they may not always write right off the bat as those with the regular Pilot Plumix ink refills yet they are still worth to work with and enjoy.

It is interesting to experiment to see what works, almost works and sometimes, it doesn't yet most of the time, it does -- so VICTORY!
Page 1 of 3 |  |