My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (20 customer reviews)
Write Review
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Excellent pen brush in..., May 17, 2013
Excellent pen brush in regards to touch and feel. Can create fine lines and relatively thick line. Although it's not in the same league as the more expensive synthetic hair pocket brush, it does have a blacker ink. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 was it take FOREVER for the ink to dry. I'd recommend you wait at least 15 minutes before you erase any pencil lines.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I purchased this pen..., May 26, 2011
I purchased this pen because I had fallen in love with Pilot's duel black & gray brush pen, but wasn't able to replace it once the black side ran out of ink. I was hoping this pen, being it's by the same manufacturer & labeled "hard" would be a close match. Sadly, I was disappointed. It's definitely softer than the duel pen's tip, which is why I was so excited by it in the first place. The ink is still nice and dark and copic-proof (can't say if it's waterproof though), but since I'm a little more heavy handed I need my brush pens to be a bit sturdier. I'm sure I could get used to this one with a bit of practice, but as for now I'm sadly lamenting not having my perfect pen. :(
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I love the line and modest..., February 22, 2011
By klio
I love the line and modest width variation of this pen (from somewhat thin to not-too-thick), it handles well, and it would be beautiful for medium to larger drawings--BUT for two problems. It does dry out quickly on a longer stroke, and at the wet end of the stroke the ink seeps into and spreads out on every paper I normally use. Not hugely, but too much blur for a small or fine-line drawing. My Tombow Fudenosuke brush pen (hard) needs to air out a bit before use (it always comes out of the cap wet and sloppy, then after a few seconds is great), but so far that hasn't been a fix for using the Pilot. Maybe the trick is to use this nice tip with a different ink if that's possible.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  One week later: This..., August 17, 2009
By anton
One week later: This pen is still impressing me. I thought that the tip might have gone by now, but after a week of nightly sketching it is still as new.

While it can't handle super-quick long strokes, this is still a very impressive cartooning tool. I'm a brush and ink guy, but if I had to take one tool on a desert island, this would be it. You can do controlled lines, plus brush style and even lettering (although there are better brush/sign/fude pens for this) all in the one pen. Plus, there's an ink window, which I didn't notice when it was full. Great feature.

Downsides: Sometimes the line quality is a little scratchy on fast strokes, but not bad for a pen under five bucks! Also, I really hate the colour. The blue is a little brighter than in the Jetpens photos, and is very bleh as far as I'm concerned.

Next I'm going to update how it goes refilling with fountain pen ink. I've used this technique on other pens, and have kept them going for as long as the tip holds out! Watch this space.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  this is THE best brush..., November 25, 2008
this is THE best brush pen i've ever used (and i've used a LOT). it's a dream to sketch with, has a sharp tip for REALLY fine detail, just enough give, holds it's shape, has super dense super juicy black ink. the see through well is a plus.

the only thing that would make this pen perfect is if the ink was water resistant.
  I've used an array of..., February 17, 2014
By cao...
I've used an array of different type of brush pens with a "hard" or "firmer" tip. This by far is the best I've experienced. Yes , for the finest line that the tip can achieve requires a light touch (obviously). It is very responsive - meaning if you are drawing gestural lines it will give you a variation despite its tiny size (of course nothing too dramatic). The ink capacity has held up to over 10 pages ( 5x7) of constant doodles, sketches, and outlining and still is full of life. Five bucks may seem a bit much for a non-refillable but I high encourage to try it out.
  I love this pen and the..., February 8, 2014
I love this pen and the Soft version (black exterior). It works perfecting for signing prints on matte paper (not glossy). It doesn't dry up the tip on the paper which is why I like it. Most pens that aren't brush pens would dry up after a few signatures. I also use this for inking art and it's also superb. My only quarrel is that it isn't waterproof and the ink is not pigmented which it's safe to say may change color in the future (not archival). If it were to be archival it would be the perfect pen. It does tend to smear on less porous paper, too. If you are able to keep your hands away from the ink until it dries it works great.

My work can be seen at: www.killerrabbit.com
  The blackness of the..., September 9, 2013
The blackness of the ink on this pen is superb, like nothing I've used before. It's perfect of black hair, though as others have said the long, fast strokes turn out scratchy. My only lament is that it isn't suited for very fine details like eyes and such, so I'll need to find something else. Also, I have to wait for the ink to dry before erasing. But otherwise, it's very fun to use.
  I have tried all of the..., March 18, 2013
I have tried all of the felt-point brush pens on Jet Pens. This is one of the very few I intend to buy again. Is has a nice grip, and the tip is amazing. Is it very versatile, and it ranges from a very thin line to a much broader stroke in no time. The ink looks nice and is very black and opaque. Strongly recommended!
  I just got this pen today..., December 25, 2012
By dtpm98
I just got this pen today and I really like it! The nib is pretty flexible for a "hard" brush pen. It is not as hard as i thought it would be, but that doesn't bother me. What bothers me is that you cant't draw as fast with it as you can with the soft version of this pen, which I also reviewed. This pen tends to lay a dry line when used to fast. But the ink is still very black and flows magnificantly. This brush pen has more of a felt tip, but since the tip is narrow, you can here a slight "snag" on the page when you draw with it. It doesnt go as smoothly and quickly as the soft version. On the side of the pen is a little window, where you can see the ink, but it may be hard to spot at first glance, for it blends in with the dark blue body of the pen. This is convenient, so you know when it is almost out of ink, because having a dry pen can ruin your drawing, but thankfully, this pen lets you know how much ink you have left.
  from now on I'm never..., July 14, 2012
from now on I'm never using any other pen to draw besides this one
  By far my favorite pen..., February 22, 2012
By far my favorite pen to doodle with. It's pure magic! If you can draw with a regular brush, and are used to sensitive points, you will love this for sketching. I only wish it was refillable.
  By farm my favorite pen..., February 22, 2012
By farm my favorite pen to doodle with. It's pure magic! If you can draw with a regular brush, and are used to sensitive points, you will love this for sketching. I only wish it was refillable.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  It's a little too wet..., March 5, 2011
By emily
It's a little too wet for me. the ink is nice and black, but it's really hard to make good quality lines with this thing. The tip isn't very sturdy and is EXTREMELY sensitive to pressure. Only really light-handed people will be able to use it well.
  Hi, can somebody tell..., August 22, 2010
By oti...
Hi,
can somebody tell me please if the Pilot Pocket Brush Pen has Refill Cartridges and if I can buy them from this website.
Thanks
  Not much to say, but..., June 1, 2010
By con...
Not much to say, but WOW, this pen is FANTASTIC. Rich ink, smooth line flow- just a joy to draw with.
  The pen seems to be a..., December 30, 2009
By dolces
The pen seems to be a bit too dry for my taste. With a fast stroke, it tends to fade quickly at the end. It is still a decent pen though.
  This pen arrived today,..., August 11, 2009
By anton
This pen arrived today, and it is exactly what I've been looking for. I would say this is pretty much the perfect marriage of brush and pen; possessing qualities of each.

This isn't a 'brush' but more like a flexible pen. It won't do what a sable brush can, nor even what a 'real' brush pen can, but it's pretty close and easier to control.

Highly recommended for cartoonists and comic artists who want a variable line on the go.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Amazing1..., March 10, 2011
Amazing1
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I love it ! Really smooth..., January 25, 2011
By mis...
I love it ! Really smooth and thin, it's a real pleasure to use it for drawing.
This Product
Pilot Pocket Brush Pen - Hard - PILOT P-SV-30KK-B
$5.00