JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (23 customer reviews)
Write Review
August 17, 2009
One week later: This...
Verified Purchase
One week later: This pen is still impressing me. I thought that the tip might have gone by now, but after a week of nightly sketching it is still as new.

While it can't handle super-quick long strokes, this is still a very impressive cartooning tool. I'm a brush and ink guy, but if I had to take one tool on a desert island, this would be it. You can do controlled lines, plus brush style and even lettering (although there are better brush/sign/fude pens for this) all in the one pen. Plus, there's an ink window, which I didn't notice when it was full. Great feature.

Downsides: Sometimes the line quality is a little scratchy on fast strokes, but not bad for a pen under five bucks! Also, I really hate the colour. The blue is a little brighter than in the Jetpens photos, and is very bleh as far as I'm concerned.

Next I'm going to update how it goes refilling with fountain pen ink. I've used this technique on other pens, and have kept them going for as long as the tip holds out! Watch this space.

4 people found this helpful
 
November 25, 2008
this is THE best brush...
Verified Purchase
this is THE best brush pen i've ever used (and i've used a LOT). it's a dream to sketch with, has a sharp tip for REALLY fine detail, just enough give, holds it's shape, has super dense super juicy black ink. the see through well is a plus.

the only thing that would make this pen perfect is if the ink was water resistant.

2 people found this helpful
jennrodriguez
 
May 26, 2011
I purchased this pen...
Verified Purchase
I purchased this pen because I had fallen in love with Pilot's duel black & gray brush pen, but wasn't able to replace it once the black side ran out of ink. I was hoping this pen, being it's by the same manufacturer & labeled "hard" would be a close match. Sadly, I was disappointed. It's definitely softer than the duel pen's tip, which is why I was so excited by it in the first place. The ink is still nice and dark and copic-proof (can't say if it's waterproof though), but since I'm a little more heavy handed I need my brush pens to be a bit sturdier. I'm sure I could get used to this one with a bit of practice, but as for now I'm sadly lamenting not having my perfect pen. :(

1 person found this helpful
LizardbethArt
 
February 22, 2011
I love the line and modest...
Verified Purchase
I love the line and modest width variation of this pen (from somewhat thin to not-too-thick), it handles well, and it would be beautiful for medium to larger drawings--BUT for two problems. It does dry out quickly on a longer stroke, and at the wet end of the stroke the ink seeps into and spreads out on every paper I normally use. Not hugely, but too much blur for a small or fine-line drawing. My Tombow Fudenosuke brush pen (hard) needs to air out a bit before use (it always comes out of the cap wet and sloppy, then after a few seconds is great), but so far that hasn't been a fix for using the Pilot. Maybe the trick is to use this nice tip with a different ink if that's possible.

1 person found this helpful
 
October 17, 2014
The ink is good and dark...
Verified Purchase
The ink is good and dark and you can draw reasonably quick with this pen and not have the line suffer. My only real problem with this pen is that I do not get very good line variation (at least on the drawings I have done so far -- I have only done 3 or 4 drawings with it).
A decent pen with very dark ink, but I will use it for "playing around" and "idea sketches" and save my Karetake 14 for more complete works.

 
October 15, 2014
This is my favorite pen...
Verified Purchase
This is my favorite pen for inking pictures, as I'm not fond of the way that traditional brush pens "feather" after repeated use and make my linework fuzz up. This pen has a pressed felt nib that gives all sorts of lovely variation, and can even be used to fill in small spaces of black (for larger spaces, I would recommend the Soft Pilot Pocket Brush pen, but it's incredibly difficult to control and is quite 'squishy') and on average, has enough ink to do the linework on 6 or 7 pages before it begins gettins squidgy due to lack of ink, though holding it upright for a few moments tends to fix that pretty easily until its completely used up. It's not waterproof, which is a huge downside for people that want to lay down their linework and paint over it with watercolours (though its not so bad if one would like to use the ink of the pen to do some grayscaling, I haven't tried this, though). The only other issues are (1) that on occasion, the ink can smudge if one runs their hand through it before its dry (that might just be because I occasionally start inking from right to left, rather than left to right, though) and (2) it bleeds through White Deleter 2 ink, probably because the ink isn't waterproof, so I generally use Doctor Martin's Poster Paint for covering mistakes instead. Overall, a lovely pen, fits in my bag and doesn't bleed even with multiple layers, has a long lasting ink supply and a wide variation.

gabberbelly
 
July 14, 2014
Both of the Pilot Pocket...
Verified Purchase
Both of the Pilot Pocket Brush Pens are steadily becoming my new favorite tool for ink work. They have the line variation of a brush with the control of a pen, and you don't have to worry about splitting like you do with fine inking brushes. I've never had an issue with ink flow, either, which has been a problem I've encountered with the Pentel brush pen.

I'd very strongly recommend both the hard and soft versions of this pen to anyone looking for a tool like this - you can get very fine lines with both if you have a careful hand, but the soft pen is much better for large areas of heavy black. The only downside I can think of is that they're not waterproof in the least, but I'm willing to work around that just for how fun they are to use.

avictorim
 
February 17, 2014
I've used an array of...
Verified Purchase
I've used an array of different type of brush pens with a "hard" or "firmer" tip. This by far is the best I've experienced. Yes , for the finest line that the tip can achieve requires a light touch (obviously). It is very responsive - meaning if you are drawing gestural lines it will give you a variation despite its tiny size (of course nothing too dramatic). The ink capacity has held up to over 10 pages ( 5x7) of constant doodles, sketches, and outlining and still is full of life. Five bucks may seem a bit much for a non-refillable but I high encourage to try it out.

caocaoanto
 
February 8, 2014
I love this pen and the...
Verified Purchase
I love this pen and the Soft version (black exterior). It works perfecting for signing prints on matte paper (not glossy). It doesn't dry up the tip on the paper which is why I like it. Most pens that aren't brush pens would dry up after a few signatures. I also use this for inking art and it's also superb. My only quarrel is that it isn't waterproof and the ink is not pigmented which it's safe to say may change color in the future (not archival). If it were to be archival it would be the perfect pen. It does tend to smear on less porous paper, too. If you are able to keep your hands away from the ink until it dries it works great.

My work can be seen at: www.killerrabbit.com

artmail99
 
September 9, 2013
The blackness of the...
Verified Purchase
The blackness of the ink on this pen is superb, like nothing I've used before. It's perfect of black hair, though as others have said the long, fast strokes turn out scratchy. My only lament is that it isn't suited for very fine details like eyes and such, so I'll need to find something else. Also, I have to wait for the ink to dry before erasing. But otherwise, it's very fun to use.

melissa.j.massey6
This Product
Pilot Pocket Brush Pen - Hard - PILOT P-SV-30KK-B
$5.00