JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (19 customer reviews)
Write Review
June 3, 2009
I draw for a living,...
Verified Purchase
I draw for a living, and I love trying new pens, so I gave this one a shot. I assume that this would probably be a good pen for writing Japanese characters, but it's far too soft to use for inking drawings. The tip is one solid mass, not bristles like a true brush pen, and when you apply pressure, the entire tip has a great amount of give. It feels almost "mushy", it's that flexible. Fun to play with, but very hard to get any real precision with it.

4 people found this helpful
Staytooned
 
September 7, 2010
I love how it feels,...
I love how it feels, it would be perfect if it were waterproof.

3 people found this helpful
patdesilets
 
July 22, 2010
As I continue to use...
Verified Purchase
As I continue to use this pen,...I'm learning to appreciate it more. This is really a wonderful tool that seems to be flying under the radar. A really nice and juicy line too and a Xfine line can be accomplished with a little bit of effort. (I must raise my previous grade up a notch)

3 people found this helpful
togotooner
 
July 16, 2010
Not a bad pen for larger...
Not a bad pen for larger scale sketches or for quick sketches at a comic con or something of that nature. Nice juicy line and pretty nice control. A pleasant surprise from Pilot. A little too thick though for any intricate detail in my experiences with it.

3 people found this helpful
 
July 24, 2014
Absolutely in love with...
Verified Purchase
Absolutely in love with the feel of this pen. Works well for playing around on paper mostly -- which is what I bought it for. The tip is flexible (keep in mind that if you're looking for an actual 'brush' tip, this one is exactly what it says, soft!) and has (like someone else said) a 'juicy' effect. It will get full with ink which I like.

While I wouldn't use this for lining or precise work, I love this pen. Will probably buy another in the future.
If you're looking for a brush pen that doesn't have the squish of this tip, go for the 'hard' option instead (I have both and I love them aha). While it doesn't have the capability to have as wide strokes as this pen, one may prefer it's easier to control tip.

: )

1 person found this helpful
rain.in.my.coffee
 
February 27, 2013
I ADORE this pen. Out...
Verified Purchase
I ADORE this pen. Out of the few I've bought and tried from this site so far, this has been the clear favorite. As has already been noted, it isn't waterproof, which was distressing the first time I tried to watercolor over a drawing done with this pen. Oh well, lesson learned. Seems to work fine with my copics. Lovely lines. The best non-bristle brush pen I have ever used.

1 person found this helpful
yakuza.lindsey
 
June 3, 2009
This is with out a doubt...
Verified Purchase
This is with out a doubt the best brush pen I have found so far bar none. The felt tip is smooth and soft. It always leaves a sharp clean line and the springs back to its straight self after every stroke. If you are after a rough 'brush' look or tiny compact marks, this isn't for you. If you like the streaky marker style run off on the end of a stroke and rounded starts and run offs, this isn't the pen for you. If you want a sharp clean consistent line (with obvious weight variation), this is the best I have found on the market so far bar none.

For examples of the pen's abilities (and my art) simply view the gallery on my website: www.malicious.com.au as it is the pen that I almost exclusively use.

Please Please Please get more in and never be out of stock again! :)

1 person found this helpful
 
October 24, 2014
Ok, I'mma talk for real...
Verified Purchase
Ok, I'mma talk for real now, I had bought one of these little dudes like 3 years ago and it lasted that long, seriously, like 3 years. These dudes are mega troopers and work excellently!

 
October 20, 2014
Very good pen, though...
Verified Purchase
Very good pen, though need practice to properly get thin lines.

mandymilliron
 
October 16, 2014
Like the different strokes...
Verified Purchase
Like the different strokes that are made with the same brush...

This Product
Pilot Pocket Brush Pen - Soft - PILOT P-SV-30KS-B
$5.00