My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 5.0 (14 customer reviews)
Write Review
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  Let's start off by saying..., August 14, 2011
Let's start off by saying this fountain pen has a VERY FINE nib. If you're used to European Fine nibs like the likes of Kaweco or Lamy, make sure you are aware that this is JAPANESE fine. Think needlepoint 0.3 and you'll get a sense of the fineness. If you like the idea of a needlepoint fountain pen that has relatively no tooth, then this is your pen!
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  I absolutely love this..., October 1, 2011
By par...
I absolutely love this pen. It far exceeded my expectations for a moderate priced fountain pen. It writes and draws with a fine line (approx. 03) and is steady in the hand. Its light weight makes it a non-stop writer, and the cartridge seems to have an endless supply of ink and hasn't forced me to make a change or try out a converter after days of heavy use.

I've been sketching with it as much as writing and can't say enough good things about the experience.

I liked this pen so much I bought a second, a rarity for me, but I suspect these pens will become a rage or a cult pen one day, and a second seemed like a must-have.

5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  What a great fountain..., May 14, 2009
What a great fountain pen! An excellent hand fit for those who prefer shorter pens, very good build quality and a reassuringly expensive sounding 'click' when you put the cap on. Couple that with a wonderfully smooth Fine point nib and you've got an excellent fountain pen for an excellent price.

I must beg to differ with the previous reviewer regarding colour, if anything the Prera that I received is not as bright a green as that shown above. Mine is a slightly lighter shade, not as 'loud' as the product photo, and tends more towards a 'lime' or 'grass' green than neon; when I took it out of the package it didn't scream GREEN!
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I am in love with this..., June 14, 2012
By kimcly
I am in love with this pen. The fine nib on this is much finer than on a Kaweco. And the solid feeling snap on cap is wonderful. It did require just a small breaking in period for me but is behaving very nicely now.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Amazing. Just the right..., April 3, 2013
Amazing. Just the right size ( I wear size 8 1/2 gloves). Writes beautifully. Super fine nib is exact and does not skip or scratch. Will buy again.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  After watching my coworkers..., March 11, 2013
By rav...
After watching my coworkers eye my limited edition Pilot Namiki Vanishing Point and reading the reviews here, I purchased this pen for everyday. Wow! I love it. My handwriting is quite small for the fine nib is great. The Namiki is EF but you would be hard pressed to see a major difference between the two pens. The bright green color (more of a leaf green and definitely not neon) is easy to find in the cavern of black-lined bags. Great purchase!
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  One other comment I forgot..., January 24, 2013
One other comment I forgot in my last review: If you're like me, you've been avoiding spending $50 on the Prera when you already have (or can get) a 78G or other Pilot with the same nib/feed for $10-15. Seems like a waste of money for the same writing experience. IT ISN'T a waste! I have 2 78G's, and they're GREAT budget pens, but this Prera is worth the difference if you have it to spend.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Great Pen! Very well..., January 24, 2013
Great Pen! Very well made. Not as light as I thought it would be considering the other reviews. It is a small pen, but it feels good. The feeling of the cap sliding and clicking closed is solid, like my Mont Blanc Classic (although without the weight of the brass section). Nib needed some adjusting, but writes very well (same as many other $10-50 Pilots).

The green color was shockingly light (yellowish) at first in person, but it's nice. Seeing them all in person, I may have opted for the yellow, white, or light blue, but I'm very happy with the color. The plastic body is solid. The Noodler's Kung Te Cheng ink initially seemed to stain the section when I dipped the pen, but it wore off in my hand very quickly and is gone. I'd be very weary of using Baystate blue or any other bad-staining ink in the lighter colors of this pen.

One annoying part, which is the fault of the converter, is that the little widget in the converter that helps ink to flow to the pen shakes and clicks loosely in the pen. I don't like this myself, though it's not unpleasant.

One last thing: I think pilot really went out of the way working this pen out. For example, the clip is bent out near the top of the pen so that anyone who hangs the pen inside their pants pockets won't have the clip binding up on the thick pocket hem. Brilliant!
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  My pen arrived today..., February 3, 2011
My pen arrived today and I've already fallen totally in love! The nib of this pen is most definately finer than my Lamy extra-fine nib. It writes amazingly smooth for such a fine nib. I will be using Noodlers Ink in it as soon as I use the ink that is in the cartridge that came with the pen, but that's just because I am a Noodlers Ink junkie. I LOVE the way this pen looks, feels in my hand and writes. Thank you so much!!!!!
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I use this pen almost..., November 26, 2009
By blk...
I use this pen almost exclusively now in both writing and sketching. Feels great in my hand and flows like a dream on paper.
As a bonus discovery I found that the ink cartridge that it came with is the first ink I've used that works pretty decently on Moleskine paper.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This pen is amazing!..., December 22, 2013
By oba...
This pen is amazing! I don't find it heavy, or wide at all, in fact I feel the pen is a lot smaller than I had thought. The nib is extremely fine. So impressed and happy.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  If the Prera came in..., December 7, 2009
By blk...
If the Prera came in EF I'd probably use it exclusively! The only reason I switch to my Sailor sometimes is because it comes in EF.
  I love the thinness of..., May 16, 2013
By BEP...
I love the thinness of the nib, exactly what I was looking for. The weight of it is perfect without a cap on, but then it's too short. With a cap on it's too heavy, but the right length. I use it without a cap, which feels OK. After I already bought it, I read reviews (on other colors, same pen) that
"Pilot Penmanship Fountain Pen with Ergo Grip - Extra Fine Nib" uses the same nib as PRERA. It looks lighter and longer, so I ordered it too... should be getting it in the mail tomorrow.
http://www.jetpens.com/Pilot-Penmanship-Fountain-Pen-with-Ergo-Grip-Extra-Fi ne-Nib-Clear-Body/pd/4008
And now I want this "wine" colored ink for one of the pens:
http://www.jetpens.com/Pilot-Iroshizuku-Fountain-Pen-Ink-50-ml-Bottle-Yama-b udo-Wild-Grapes-Purple-Magenta/pd/3596
  THIS PEN IS FANTASTIC!!!..., May 6, 2008
THIS PEN IS FANTASTIC!!! A light body, not too short and not too long. What I love most about it is that the fine point nib is super fine point. It writes amazingly smoothly--however, the lime green color is really more of a neon, day-glo green if that's an issue to you.