My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (15 customer reviews)
Write Review
12 out of 13 people found the following review helpful
  1) An outstanding fine..., October 26, 2010
1) An outstanding fine point, perfect for making quick notes in margins or short entries in my journal. I didn't know such a combination of fine line and smooth consistent flow to paper was technically possible. This nib seems incapable of skipping. Unlike the _EF_ nib in the Penmanship, which seems better suited for finest detail and drawing, this nib can still be used for writing.

2) Maintains a fine line even on poorer paper, including newspaper crosswords, when using Noodler's Black (warning: non-zero Nib Creep with this ink).

3) I even use it in handwriting practice as the finer line reveals errors in letter shape that were (ahem) hidden using edged nibs or normally tip'd nibs.

4) I received it on 25 Oct 2010 and it came with two cartridges and one CON-20 converter.

5) Actual color is quite close to that of the last photograph showing pen and cap adjacent to it.

6) The cap has magnets in it. Strong ones. I'll try to keep it a safe distance from portable memory devices (USB flashdrives, camera memory cards) and my digital watches and calculators.

I waited several months for jetpens to restock this pen and it has proved well worth the wait.

This _F_ nib and its _M_ sibling are so good I'm compelled to take all our Pelikans from Fahrney's Pens and put them up for sale.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I've had this pen for..., March 17, 2011
By shb...
I've had this pen for about a week now. I'm starting to like it a bit better - for me, the nib was so fine that ink would not flow, so I finally slid a thin sheet of plastic between the tines and spread them out just a tad and now it writes well. The grey color is fine for work, and I am now using this pen as my daily carry. It's very solidly constructed, and the lid is secure either capped or posted. All hardware on the pen is solid. I may get another one.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Nice pen, stylish, lightweight..., October 18, 2010
Nice pen, stylish, lightweight. The Fine nib is much finer than the Lamy Safari Extra Fine nib, and lays down an almost needle-like line. It writes and draws better on a smooth 65lb or less paper. On heavier paper with a bit of texture, the nib will feel slightly dry and scratchy.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Oh, yes. This is a nice..., October 31, 2012
By kal...
Oh, yes. This is a nice one! Just right size, weight, balance ("posted" cap or not). Wrote beautifully, first time and every time since--without skipping, hesitation or "scratchiness." NO adjustment of nib necessary, as I believe one other reviewer reported. I'm a proud cheapskate, but my Prera was worth every nickel of fifty bucks, as far as I'm concerned. As I've noticed with other Pilot pens, too, (F)ine means FINE, *not* MEDIUM--thank you very much.

I prefer a see-through converter (I'm surely not alone), so I popped out the (included) CON-20 bulb-type converter and put a CON-50 screw-plunger-type in there (only possible "downside. I happened to have one already, otherwise it would've been another $8.50). Inked it up with Diamine Imperial Blue (woo!) and "went to town" on some high-quality paper (Rhodia, Clairefontaine, Kokuyo notebooks). The first thing I noticed was the incredible SMOOTHNESS. That was the first "Oh, yes." It was palpable. FWIW, I'm sinistral. A "normal-writing" ("hook-less") left-hander, too. You "Captain Hooks" know who you are (smile). My Pilot Prera works *just beautifully* for me, and I'll bet right-handers will be glad they bought one, too. ! I want at least one more myself, right away--in a different barrel color.

Did I mention just the tactilely(?) nice FEEL of the friction-fit of the cap when you close it? The three metal rings (plus the top of the cap) make for a nice design touch, too. The spring of the pocket clip is VERY strong (as another reviewer may have noted.) Once you clip it onto something, it's not going ANYPLACE. After reading in another review, I had to test it--and mine is NOT MAGNETIC.
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  I bought this pen to..., November 30, 2008
I bought this pen to be used for sketching, and I'm glad I did. The nib is fine enough to draw little details, and it writes smoothly. It is a bit too lightweight for my taste, though. Paired with a waterproof ink such as Noodler's Bulletproof black, it will make a good drawing pen for artist, which will be economical in the long run. And like the previous reviewer wrote, I love the 'click' sound this pen makes when I cap it.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  My first fountain pen. When..., May 22, 2014
My first fountain pen.

When I first entered the world of fountain pens I wanted something relatively inexpensive. I researched different makers, and settled on this one instead of the German-made Safari. I have tiny handwriting, so I deduced that Japanese fountain pens will suit me well.

When I got the pen I found that, while the nib certainly was fine enough for my teensy handwriting, the nib was pretty scratchy, and didn’t make for a good workhorse pen. It’s a fine pen, just not for me.

Over the years I’ve discovered which pens work and which pens don’t for me. I ended up getting the Safari anyway and I love it. I have an EF nib on it, and it’s a good everyday pen. My favorite brand is Sailor, mostly for their outstanding nibs and range. I also have an Esterbrook which I love, as well as a custom Nakaya.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This was my first Japanese..., September 12, 2012
This was my first Japanese fountain pen, and a great introductory pen at that. Unfortunately, I didn't like it after a while, but that may be because I was soon spoiled by Sailor and Estie pens, not to mention other higher quality fountain pens. I do recommend it since it's a fantastic starter pen at a low price, but don't go expecting to be blown away by it.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This was my first fountain..., May 5, 2012
By craig
This was my first fountain pen of significant cost, and one that I'd been looking forward to for months, since shortly after getting interesting in fountain pens. Having realised that I prefer/need pens that produce a fairly fine line (much finer than most average pens) I had hight hopes for this pen, and I wasn't disappointed.

The Prera is a nice looking pen. Nothing outlandish and fairly conventional, and it won't win any "wow that's cool looking" from most who see it, but it's stylish and neat, and I find it looks fairly attractive. It's comfortable to hold, smooth to write with (at least on decent paper) and puts down a line that I would say it just a little on the wet side, though that may depend on how you use it.

So far I think it's a great pen, and I've found it to suit me very well. If you want a fountain pen that writes a nice fine line, this it an excellent place to start.
  Smooth as butter! Love..., August 1, 2013
By sha...
Smooth as butter! Love this pen. Steady ink flow, very fine line. Smaller than expected and extremely lightweight. Great for work or everyday. You can't go wrong with this pen.
  This is a true fine nib..., December 20, 2012
By kar...
This is a true fine nib pen. EXCELLENT in all regards. The feel and weight in your hand is incredible.
I did have a little scratch at first, but after rinsing it with slightly soapy water, it behaves like magic. Very nice fine line. I do recommend a converter with it - it writes much-much better than with catridge.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This is a nice little..., February 23, 2012
By nea...
This is a nice little pen. The gray color is leaning toward blue. J. Herbin's Bleu Nuit is an excellent ink for this pen.
  Smooth & Fine! Just what..., February 10, 2012
By bev...
Smooth & Fine! Just what I was looking for. I favor the Japanese standard for Fine (this writes finer than the German Lamy & Kaweco Extra Fine nibs). This is my new favorite pen. The size and weight are small and light, which is also what I prefer. The pen width and grip is comfortable. The cap is airtight & has a soft click to it. And I love the classy Slate Gray color! I just may get another one in a different color...
Like the other reviewer mentioned the ink output on my pen was originally very light so I also spread the tines ever so slightly with a plastic report cover and the flow is perfect now.
  This is my second Prera,..., October 1, 2011
By par...
This is my second Prera, and I like it as much as the first. It fits in the hand like the right sized glove, writes and writes and draws and draws a fine line (approx. 03 when compared to others) and is well balanced.

It is light weight and small, but it is just perfect for a pocket, bag or pen case and offers you a great writing experience at half the price of many of the fountain pens on the market--and way up scale from the Penmanship, another pen I favour.
  Does it come with a converter?..., November 15, 2009
Does it come with a converter? The image implies that it does
  Just got this today and..., August 18, 2008
By jason
Just got this today and love it! This is my first time writing with a fine nib fountain pen and it is indeed a fine line but it looks great and writes extremely smooth. The pen is much lighter than I expected. I love how the cap clicks in to place. A wonderful fountain pen. I am sold on Japanese pens and now I want a Stella 90!