x
1 - 10 of 14 |  | 
5 Stars! I can write...
July 11, 2012
Verified Purchase
5 Stars! I can write perfectly with this pencil, it fits me to a "T" and by far the best mechanical pencil I've ever owned. The wood, the feel, contour, even the lead is perfect. Someone tell me what type of lead comes in this pencil because I want more! There's no breakage and it's buttery smooth, thick without smudging and I'm a lefty. Wood: I was opting for brown and took a risk on the red, glad I did— it's like a rich mahogany color, classy in-hand. This pencil tops the bill...well worth the money. FYI: The pencil you see here online is actual size.
2 people found this helpful
OMG it's so beautiful!...
August 2, 2013
Verified Purchase
OMG it's so beautiful! More beautiful than the picture even conveys. And it FEELS so good in my hand. The weight, perfect. It's so high-quality...I would pay up to $50 for this level of quality. And the other reviewers about the led too...smooth, consistent, lovely. I actually giggled with delight when I first wrote with it. I'm a pen junky, but I'm likely to write with this pencil more often then I do pens. Just lovely. I'm going to order the 0.3mm too! This pencil would make a wonderful gift...the mahogany red for women and the brown for men. Go for it, you won't regret it!
1 person found this helpful
tricia.l.burke
The previous 5-star review...
December 1, 2008
Verified Purchase
The previous 5-star review is complete and accurate. The S20 pencils are gems resulting from the unique melding of high tech precision with the traditional look and feel of wood -- space ship meets wooden ship. The wood finish is especially fine and delightful! A piece of the highest quality -- you could stamp Mont Blanc, Pelikan, Porsche Design, etc on this product without missing a beat.
1 person found this helpful
This is probably about...
September 22, 2008
Verified Purchase
This is probably about as close as you can get to combining the everyday usability and practicallity of a mechanical pencil with the charm, looks and natural feel of a woodcase pencil. The obvious standout here is the wood. The deep red-stained wood (which Pilot claims to be Kabazai cherry wood grown in Hokkaido, though this is disputed) looks wonderful and feels great in the hands, being very smooth and having a sort of natural "warmth" to it. The pencil itself is balanced very nicely, and is light but not insubstantial. With these two working in concert, it makes for a very smooth writing experience. Even note taking in class becomes less of a chore. Definitely a pencil for the entusiast or the professional looking for something that looks more natural rather than a surgical insturment.
1 person found this helpful
wlawmiller
First of all, this pencil...
April 2, 2016
Verified Purchase
First of all, this pencil is more gorgeous in person than the photo shows it. Beautiful soft wood with an amazing red color. It is very very comfortable to write with and you can go hours using it without getting the hand tired. The Aluminum works very well with the red wood and makes it look rather classy. All in all, beautiful drafting pencil. Will be buying the brown body one soon!
GustavoGC7
I love this pen. It...
March 14, 2016
Verified Purchase
I love this pen. It feels good in the hand and has a great aesthetic.
frank.blair
Superb quality pencil....
December 2, 2013
Superb quality pencil. Everything from build materials, visual appearance and performance is perfect.
Thank you Pilot for this great product. I also think that combination with some kind of extra dark wood would be great for appearance.
High quality all around....
January 16, 2013
High quality all around. Extremely comfortable to hold, even for extended periods of time. Striking appearance, works well, no problems in over a year of use. Also purchased the .05mm, I would purchase other sizes if available.
shanehenrycpa
I've owned the red S20...
November 2, 2012
Verified Purchase
I've owned the red S20 for two months shy of two years now. Using it everyday for hours at a time over this period has been a joy. It still looks exactly like the day I received it from JetPens save two things; the "Japan" text on the center metal ring is about half worn off, and the ".05" lead size indicator on the cap is completely gone. The wood has held up beautifully and once again, you cannot see visible wear. I have dropped the pencil a handful of times, and slightly bent the tip a few times. *Carefully* straightening the tip if it has been bent has always resulted in a perfectly writing S20.

This pencil quickly became my favorite writing instrument. I do not use the eraser (I prefer a separate eraser) so I cannot comment on its utility. The weight/balance and velvety-feel of the wood both make it a pleasure to use. I have nothing bad to say about this pencil and I feel it has been well worth the entry price. The tip is absolutely rock solid, and combined with the solid feel of the rest of the pencil there is absolutely zero flex or wiggle or "give" in the pencil while writing. I've also never had issues with the pencil "slipping" on the lead (it grips the lead very well).
Well, I just got this...
March 8, 2012
Verified Purchase
Well, I just got this pencil today. But after several hours of usage, I unequivocally adore it. Fantastic writing instrument.

If you are considering buying a Lamy 2000 after reading Dave's ravings: don't. Buy a Pilot S20 instead. Don't make the same mistake I did!
1 - 10 of 14 |  |