JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.2 (23 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 23, 2011
Obviously these fit some...
Obviously these fit some people's writing style, but for me, they're too broad and wet---so wet that I have trouble with feathering and bleed-through on some papers where drier pens work fine. As one other minor nit, the inkview window is almost useless; there's only a window on one side, and with no way for light to come through, you can hardly see anything (not that I would mind this if I liked the ink flow, but it's just one more thing). I will give them that they're fast and smooth and don't tend to skip or dry out, but for the same price I would recommend the Platinum Preppy instead.

4 people found this helpful
foxinthestars
 
September 28, 2010
I bought a pack of these...
I bought a pack of these on Amazon, and I must say I am very pleased with my results. The ink is a excellent dark and rich black. I really enjoy writing with it whenever I get chance.
The line is approximately 0.7mm thick. I'm not a fan of thick lines (0.5mm is my friend!), but if you enjoy bold and disposable fountain pens, picking this up would be an excellent idea.
And let me tell you, these pens last a LONG time. I used one for seven to eight months. Don't judge the ink by the clear window on the side! Even if it looks empty, there's a good month left in the pen.

4 people found this helpful
 
June 3, 2011
This is a great pen for...
Verified Purchase
This is a great pen for the price. . . actually, better than some I've paid much more for. It writes a smooth and juicy line, does not skip. I'm very pleased with it.

3 people found this helpful
seawindbullies
 
December 27, 2010
Write very fast, very...
Write very fast, very wet, very thick. My favorite pen. In a blind pen test I would pick these cheapo pens over pens 10x the cost. Plus you can actually refill them by using padded pliers to pull out the nib/body. And there's nothing to cry over if you lose them.

3 people found this helpful
 
December 28, 2011
I really like this pen....
Verified Purchase
I really like this pen. It is the first fountain pen I have ever used. I really enjoy writing with it. I plan on buying another the next time I order something from Jetpens.

2 people found this helpful
bakugan08
 
December 18, 2014
I enjoy using the disposable...
Verified Purchase
I enjoy using the disposable fountain pen, but I do keep forgetting to put the cap on. I use it everyday at work, testing to see how long my ink will last.

 
November 11, 2014
As a left-hander, one...
Verified Purchase
As a left-hander, one of the few fountain pens I have been able to use that has smear-free
delivery of ink for me and delivers a consistent, smooth flow. I love the medium nib for calligraphy. Wish that Pilot would make this refillable - more environmental friendly!

uscmelanie
 
July 30, 2014
I found one of these...
I found one of these babies laying in the driveway of an abandoned house. It must have been laying there quite a good time since the outside has quite an amount of scratches. The inside however works like new. I love this pen, it holds a special place in my heart right next to my Parker Jotter. It is utilitarian, never leaks, looks a lot classier, and writes with a lot more character than a regular ball point. It often surprises folks when I hand it to them to sign things. It writes very smooth and very wet, no skipping at all. On that same page, or maybe a different page. (haha) As with any liquid ink pen that writes wet, you will have to consider paper choice when writing. Thinner lower quality paper will bleed and feather badly. It will be replaced when it runs dry. (or I may try to refill it as another user cleverly suggested)

rahgnar.s
 
September 4, 2013
Writes well, no skipping,...
Writes well, no skipping, nice ink, not fussy about the angle at which I hold the pen. At the price I have no fear of losing it, the way I do with my "nice" fountain pens, so I actually use it. My only complaint is that it's not refillable.

drlex1995
 
July 21, 2013
After eschewing Fountain...
Verified Purchase
After eschewing Fountain Pens for many years for various (and very tenuous reasons) I bought a couple Preppys at a local Pen Store (I had to drive 3 hours to find one...) and I found I actually liked writing with them. Looking at reviews of "Beginner" Fountain Pens I kept getting confronted with the Pilot Varsity. So I added one to my order. When it arrived I found it nice to hold and well balanced. Writing with it was very nice. It's really smooth and lays down a nice dark line. The only time I had any issues writing with it was when I was writing on very bad or on the backside of heavily marked paper. In this instance I have had Ballpoint and Gel pens do the same! I'm going to try taking this to work, where I have to write a whole lot, and see how this handles. I am already looking into a "Next Level" Fountain Pen!

ricardusloganius