JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (28 customer reviews)
Write Review
August 18, 2009
A desk pen is not mobile...
A desk pen is not mobile and must be kept upright at all times. Getting a nice cup to hold the pen up in or the desk holder (available from Jetpens, too) is a MUST. The cartridges seem a little pricey compared to normal fountain ink, but there is where all comparisons end.

These pens write a fine line with excellent control. The tip writes fluidly and can keep up with even fast writing. The ink is a nice, dark black (although not as dark as some gel inks); it IS waterproof and the carbon will resist chemical attack, as well. Please keep in mind that this IS a "waterdripping" pen that relies on ink flow, gravity and a watery ink to work. This means that if you use uncoated paper or thin, cheap paper, you WILL get some feathering and bleedthrough. So be sure to pair this excellent pen with excellent paper to get the most out of it.

This pen is pure joy to write with! I use mine daily and often. I write letters, pen notes, make sketches and whatever else I can do just to feel the smooth nib gliding across the paper.

I've used the Sailor desk pen, as well, and I can say that, in my opinion, both pens have high quality. I prefer the Platinum ever so slightly (because of the ink), but not by much.

As a quick warning: The carbon ink is NOT made for ordinary fountain pens. This desk pen has a specially widened channel in the feed to accomodate the ink. Putting the carbon ink in a normal pen risks clogging. PLEASE use the right ink with the right pen with the right paper and you will NEVER be disappointed.

19 people found this helpful
bluemagister
 
November 7, 2011
This is a terrific pen....
Verified Purchase
This is a terrific pen. The nib is super-fine, almost a needlepoint, but it still manages to be much smoother than a nib of that size has a right to be.

This pen will work with regular bottled fountain pen ink, but it's really designed to be used with Platinum's pigment-based carbon ink. This ink is waterproof and will resist bleach and other chemicals commonly employed by check forgers. The carbon ink is even more water-resistant than my other favorite, Noodlers Bulletproof Black. (Unlike the Noodlers, the carbon ink doesn't leave a layer of dye particles that washes away and smudges ever so slightly when the paper gets wet.) For instantly waterproof lines, this is the ink to use.

The nib is a delight, really. The pen is super-responsive on just about any paper. I find that I have more control with this pen than any other writing or drawing instrument I own. It has rapidly become my favorite pen for writing and sketching.

The cartridges will last a very long time--the nib is very sparing with ink, yet it flows instantly and never skips. The only drawback to the carbon ink is the fact that it thoroughly stains the plastic of the cartridge wall on the inside, so it's just about impossible to see how much ink is left in the cartridge. But I'm still on my first cartridge since buying the pen three weeks ago, and I probably write 3-6 pages a day.

The pen holder for this pen is a handy way to keep this on your desk. It looks nice and eliminates the need to uncap the pen before use. It's not strictly necessary to keep this pen upright, though--I take it along with the cap when I do work outside the house, and I've had it sitting in my bag for a day or two over the weekend without drying up or hard starting.

A super pen for water-proof writing and drawing at a bargain price. If you like super-fine nibs, you'll love this one. It feels good in the hand and is a joy to use.

11 people found this helpful
marko.kloos
 
July 30, 2009
The Platinum Carbon pen...
The Platinum Carbon pen allows you to use the waterproof Carbon Ink in a fountain pen. After having used this pen for a while, I can recommend it.

I also own the Rotring Art Pen, which is a similar concept. The Rotring uses typical fountain pen ink, which washes away with any water-based media (like watercolor). I also found the Rotring to have flow issues (it was difficult to get it started). If you left it unused for a while, forget about using it without some maintenance.

The Carbon pen seems to address these issues. Plus, it's cheap. I don't think you'll find a better deal on a waterproof ink-based sketching pen. I'm really pleased with this find. Maybe now I can stop lugging bottles of ink with me when I vacation!

9 people found this helpful
ratfactor
 
August 21, 2012
FANTASTIC PEN FOR COMIC...
Verified Purchase
FANTASTIC PEN FOR COMIC BOOK DRAWING AND ILLUSTRATION! Handles very similar to-- if not exactly like-- the Sailor Desk Pen. Super-fine to medium lines are possible. flexible for variable line work. Along with the Sailor, it has become one of my favorite detailing pens.

7 people found this helpful
 
April 25, 2012
I don't use this pen...
I don't use this pen every day but have had it for quite a while. I decided when then original cartridge was finished, I would buy the carbon ink. I still am using the original cartridge. The line is so thin that the cartridge lasts a long time. Some day I will get to buy the ink bottle. Anyway, my point is that even though the cartridges may seem expensive, they last a long time.

6 people found this helpful
annkingwriter
 
February 9, 2013
I've had this pen over...
Verified Purchase
I've had this pen over a year now, and it is the absolute best sketching pen for use with watercolors I've tried. I've tried Lamy Safari, Platinum Preppy, Noodler's Konrad, and Pilot Prera, and the Platinum Carbon Desk Pen is THE pen I depend on for sketching when I will be using watercolors (which I do almost all the time). The most important thing for me about this pen is its reliability. Platinum Carbon ink (which is the best ink to hold fast against watercolors) may be finicky and slow to start in other pens, but in this one it starts every time and keeps going strong until the ink runs out. I also love the consistent ultra-fine line.

As far as being a "desk pen", I don't use the desk holder (don't have one). This pen doesn't need it. I kept this pen in my purse on a 3-month trip to Australia (I was careful to keep it nib up, otherwise I did notice some leakage) and it performed perfectly. While on that trip, I took a box of spare cartridges but only needed to replace the cartridge once (and I drew with it every day!). So this pen doesn't go through the ink that fast, which is nice because the ink is expensive. While at home, I refill the cartridge with the bottled version of Platinum Carbon ink using a syringe. I have a converter for this pen but prefer to use the cartridge because I believe the ball inside the cartridge helps keep the ink stirred. I love this pen so much, I have two; one I keep in my purse and the other in my studio. This is my "stuck-on-a-desert-island" pen, for sure!

4 people found this helpful
 
January 30, 2012
I love this pen! I carry...
Verified Purchase
I love this pen! I carry it everywhere with me in a pencil case, so far with no mishaps. The only problem I had was when the ink in the cartridge neared depletion, and a droplet of ink oozed out of the nib. That was messy, but there's been no problem since I changed the cartridge and cleaned the nib. Overall, this pen has given me hours of inspired writing and doodling!

3 people found this helpful
fvhayashi
 
May 28, 2011
Mon simple avis, une...
Verified Purchase
Mon simple avis, une des meilleurs plumes pour le dessin, le crobard sur le vif voir l'encrage BD, il glisse, extra fin, souple, débit d'encre constant mais pas sans sensibilité et pour couronner le tout encre waterproof (carbon ink cartouche) supporte la baignoire, l'aquarelle, la saison des pluies…
Bon, voilà je ne suis pas Rembrandt mais cet outil c'est sûr c'est une merveille!

2 people found this helpful
 
June 4, 2012
This pen is exactly as...
Verified Purchase
This pen is exactly as advertised and my clients really like it. Its fine point is great for editing typescript. It does best with Carbon Ink, but writes well with almost anything (Platinum Pigment ink, too). For a light pen, its really well balanced, looks nice on my desk in its companion holder, cleans up nicely and writes well even on cheap copy paper.

With respect to the guy who thought it wasn't so hot, Let's see, the pen costs $13.50. You were expecting maybe a Montblanc Diplomat 149? (PS, carbon ink works well in that pen, too).

2 people found this helpful
bobstclair
 
September 14, 2009
I agree with ratfactor....
Verified Purchase
I agree with ratfactor. This pen has a fine, precise, responsive nib, allowing loose sketching as well as very detailed drawing, and supplies a real waterproof ink, i.e. one can go with watercolour over it without any graying. This pen makes my profession as an illustrator easier. Thanks, Jetpens!

1 person found this helpful