1 - 10 of 23 |  | 
While not purchased from...
October 25, 2010
While not purchased from this site, I've been using this converter on a regular basis for years.

I own two converters from Platinum: a plain (like the one pictured/offered) and another with painted koi around the transparent portion of the barrel. Both operate identically and both work very well. I've never experienced any problems whatsoever with leaking or seepage.

Since I was tipped off to refilling cartidges with a syringe, all of my converters have been relegated to cleaning duty. This is where they really shine and show their true worth, in my opinion.

Regular maintenance is essential to the performance of any decent writing instrument and it's impossible to clean a pen (brush or fountain) thoroughly without a converter. A piston-style converter (again, in my opinion) is the best choice since bulb and press-plate types don't offer as much suction nor the level of control you can achieve with piston-actuated converters.

If you own or are planing the purchase of a pen which you hope to keep for years, I cannot recommend the importance of a good converter highly enough. HTH.
18 people found this helpful
Works with the Preppy!...
August 15, 2011
Verified Purchase
Works with the Preppy! <3

So glad to have a converter for my Preppy pens. I love the idea of an eyedropper pen, but I'm afraid of it breaking or otherwise leaking and ruining my clothing, bag, etc. A converter is a great alternative where you can economically refill from an ink bottle without taking along a potential ink-bomb in your pocket.

This was a sort of expensive converter (which is the reason for the 4 stars instead of 5), but it is solidly made and attractive looking inside the clear barrel of my pen. This converter gives my cheap Preppy a nice weight to it. Like the reviewer below, I agree that a converter is absolutely necessary to properly clean a pen.

Cartridges are convenient and can be cute, but in my area, I cannot locally buy Platinum cartridges and must order them from the internet. This is an expensive hassle for me when a converter has a higher up-front cost but is endlessly refillable and doubles as a pen-cleaning tool. Totally worth getting.
15 people found this helpful
I bought this converter...
April 28, 2009
Verified Purchase
I bought this converter because I needed another Lamy converter and sadly there were none. So I gave this one a shot even considering the price. It was worth it. It may not be a perfect fit with my Lamy Al-Star, but it does the job admirably. You can feel the difference in quality between this and the less expensive converters - the seal inside is very good, the twist movement is much smoother and tighter. My only complaint is that it doesn't hold as much ink and any of my other converters - but it holds about as much as a typical small cartridge. The price is a bit steep but I think it is worth it for the snazzy looks, the strength and quality of the construction and the smoothness of operation. The point of a converter is to not be disposable and this one isn't - it's a keeper!
11 people found this helpful
Fits the Kurutake brush...
November 15, 2014
Fits the Kurutake brush pen if you pop off the brass ring near the opening. Really nice to use lots of ink colors in a cheap brush pen.
5 people found this helpful
Just as desired- as presented-...
November 5, 2014
Verified Purchase
Just as desired- as presented- thanks
1 person found this helpful
I am quite pleased with...
October 10, 2015
Verified Purchase
I am quite pleased with this converter so far. It is a little on the expensive side (as others have pointed out already), but it works well, and I very much enjoy the suction provided by the telescoping piston. It works well in filling the pen, and actually (this is one thing I wondered about prior to getting it and trying it out for myself) allows you to actuate the piston multiple times without simply pushing all of the ink back out into the bottle (NOTE - actuating the piston while not in a bottle of ink will cause some ink to come out the nib).

By actuating the piston 3 times I was able to completely saturate the nib and fill the majority of the converter, which makes for significantly more ink in the pen than the cartridge that it comes with (in this case a platinum preppy 0.2 EF).

I have read that a converter will also make cleaning a breeze, and I believe it, but I haven't given it a try at this point (the pen I installed this in I actually ordered at the same time).

Definitely works as I had hoped.
I inked my pen with J....
October 6, 2015
Verified Purchase
I inked my pen with J. Herbin Emerald, in this converter & the pen (Platinum Plaisir, medium nib) is very wet. Not sure if the converter is the issue, or the pen/converter/ink combo.
October 5, 2015
Verified Purchase
Cost more than my Preppy...
October 2, 2015
Verified Purchase
Cost more than my Preppy itself, but that's just how converters are. Looks nice, does its job and does it well so far.
I have very specific...
September 3, 2015
Verified Purchase
I have very specific needs for my linework at times such as alcohol proof so I can use markers over them, or waterproof so I can use watercolor...not many inks are both, so being able to fill my Kuretake brush pen with my own ink is very useful to me.
1 - 10 of 23 |  |