Page 1 of 2 |  | 
Incredible! This pen...
September 23, 2009
Verified Purchase
Incredible! This pen came with the Noodler's Emperor's Purple eyedropper 4.5oz ink bottle, and it is one of the most incredible pens I've had the pleasure of using. I am back to buy more so that I can add an o-ring and use them with other Noodler's eye dropper inks! While the lines created by this pen are too broad for most of my day-to-day uses (taking notes on college ruled paper), I still enjoy the feel of this pen when I'm writing notes to friends, creating my "to do" list and even making a shopping list. I firmly believe that nothing beats the Platinum Preppy fountain pens (fine tip), Platinum Brush Pen and Platinum highlighters and sign pens. Oh, and save money by buying Noodler's ink, adding a rubber o-ring (jetpens has instructions online) and refilling your Platinum pens! I now own two dozen different Platinum pens that I've retrofitted with o-rings that I've filled with ink... no problems so far!
4 people found this helpful
Eh...nothing to write...
March 2, 2010
Verified Purchase
Eh...nothing to write home about for me. I've been spoiled by pens like the Pentel Pocket and the Kuretake brush pens, so the felt tip doesn't do much for me. It's definitely a better quality felt tip than Pitt or Sakura brush pens at the same price.

For me, I'd rather save up and just buy a Pentel Pocket. However, if you are a fan of the felt tip brush pens, this would be the one to get.

However, the pen itself is very attractive, so I can't mark it too low.
3 people found this helpful
ninevoltart
Creates nice expressive...
February 25, 2008
Verified Purchase
Creates nice expressive dark lines that are waterproof to boot! So it partners well with watercoloring media. Just need to continue testing the resiliency of the felt brush nib and the durability of each ink cartridge. Ideal tool for cartoon sketching on the go.
2 people found this helpful
I brought this to fill...
November 17, 2014
Verified Purchase
I brought this to fill in large black spaces in my manga drawings and it works just fine. The cartridges can be easily refilled with ink. My only complaint would be that the clip comes off too easily.
1 person found this helpful
jiasterop
I like the pen, but the...
January 18, 2015
Verified Purchase
I like the pen, but the ink is a bit faint. I kind of feel like using a white board marker sometimes -- in terms of color. The ink is grayish and a bit transparent. The nib is not as soft as I expected, but it actually seems durable, so you can put a bit of pressure on it. Overall, good item for the price.
sodiumnitrate
Great for calligraphy,...
January 16, 2015
Verified Purchase
Great for calligraphy, but not for every day writing
slclowdis
The tip of this pen is...
January 5, 2015
Verified Purchase
The tip of this pen is hard and thus produces thin and thick lines. Great pen for journaling.
sindydamen
She's not much of a reviewer,...
November 8, 2014
Verified Purchase
She's not much of a reviewer, but I can report that my daughter the artist loves this pen and does some amazing artwork using it.
rheanodel
I was stuck on whether...
July 2, 2014
Verified Purchase
I was stuck on whether to give this three or four stars.. But I decided on four due to the fact that it's refillable, and the nib is stiff enough to allow for controlled lines.

The ink is nothing to get excited about, other than the fact that it is truly waterproof. It seems like more of a dark grey than a true black. Still, you could always refill the cartridge with another ink. Noodler's Heart of Darkness will be my ink of choice.

The nib has a very nice range of line-widths, which is why I rather like the stiffness in this particular brush pen. (Normally, I'd prefer a soft fiber tip.) So I intend to use it as a liner after having put it through a barrage of test sketches. Also, the felt tip has held up very well, much better than the Sakura Pigma brush pen. I can see this being an everyday sort of pen, or a travel pen.
djkhimtaka
I really love that this...
May 2, 2014
Verified Purchase
I really love that this brushpen uses cartridges, waterproof ink and that it's not pricey at all. The design is a bit corny (gold flowers and sparkly clear clip) but it doesn't influence the performance at all.

The only thing that's a bit of a bother is the construction: the cap is tight and requires a good grip to take it off, but often I get the clip off instead. Also, I regularly have to make sure it is still screwed together because through capping and uncapping it often it becomes unscrewed.

I use it for art and in that sense, to me, it's really good for sketching.
Page 1 of 2 |  |