1 - 10 of 10 | 
This is my new favorite...
March 29, 2012
Verified Purchase
This is my new favorite pencil for class! It really does help with lead breakage, which is a problem because nobody likes it when you have to click the pencil over and over to advance the new piece of lead and then have to repeat the annoyance ten minutes later(yes, I take a lot of notes).
Another really great thing about this pencil is that the eraser cap fits on the clip while writing so I don't lose it - I really like that.
Overall, this is a sturdy but light pencil that does what it says it does and I'm glad I ignored other reviews and got it. The only thing I have changed is putting a super cushy grip over the pencil because I hold it so close to the tip that grips that come with the pencil never work for me, however this pencil is slim enough to accommodate that - yay!
3 people found this helpful
I think the breakage...
August 19, 2012
Verified Purchase
I think the breakage prevention works well. I really need this because I like a 3 or 4B lead for my class notes and they break easier.
This pencil also advances lead a lot more quietly than others I've tried, also a must for class!
1 person found this helpful
This pencil is inexpensive,...
September 27, 2015
This pencil is inexpensive, nice looking, comfortable to hold, writes well, and does almost everything it claims to do. However, there's one catch, and that's that last 10mm of lead this pencil makes available for use. I find that last segment of lead rolls around in the guide tube, so that I can't keep it sharp. I've gotten used to being able to keep the lead point sharp by turning the pencil in my hand, but I can't do that with this pencil, at least for the last 10mm of lead. When I turn the pencil the lead rolls back to it's previous position as soon as I start writing. This is so annoying to me that I wind up removing the last lead segment in order to keep control of the point sharpness. Doing this defeats the economizing purpose of the design of the pencil, so that there's no reason for preferring this design over a more conventional pencil design. But I'd rather have control of the point sharpness than save the last 10mm of the lead piece. So back to the drawing board for this one, as far as I'm concerned.
Very lightweight, the...
August 21, 2015
Verified Purchase
Very lightweight, the main feature I was interested in is its ability to use up nearly all of the pencil lead. It doesn't quite have that ability without a trade off, because when the stub gets down to 15mm, it no longer grips the lead, and allows it to spin freely inside the sleeve.
What that means is you'll no longer be able to write with a sharp point, because the lead will always rotate to the bluntest orientation, effectively writing with an ellipse. If you have an unusual grip where you hold the pencil straight up and down, you'll be able to write with a 0.5mm diameter line, where the rotation of the lead isn't a factor.
If you're interested in ultimate conservation, you might put up with the lead rotation, but most people will just choose to eject the last 15mm and go on to the next full stick.
The sleeve retracts as you write, so it can write a fairly long time between advancement clicks, but the sleeve drags on the paper if there's insufficient stickout of the lead.
The interesting feature is that the point is spring loaded, so you can push the sleeve back manually on the paper by pushing down on the tip slightly. The sleeve will retract and the lead will be exposed enough to write unencumbered.
The pencil disassembles easily and fully, in case you get a fragment jammed in the mechanism, so it's a simple process to clear out.
The lead reservoir is pretty narrow, basically the same diameter as an ink pen refill tube, so it won't hold as many as most other pencils.
Unscrew the top from the barrel, and the eraser holder remains with the reservoir tube; pull it off from the tube and the leads can then be refilled.

The tip has to be manually pushed in for pocket storage, not as slick as the Pentel GraphGear 1000, but at least it does retract fully unlike the fixed sleeve types. It's light enough that no damage should result from accidental drops.
The clip is nicely done, with a spring loaded hinge that allows it to clip securely onto very thick objects without having to use your fingers to spread it open; just press on the rear of the clip and it opens up easily to clip on your shirt or notebook.

Bargain price, well worth the price of admission.
pencil worked great at...
July 2, 2015
Verified Purchase
pencil worked great at first but then the pencil starts to fall apart and stop working after a couple months.
Totally love these -...
April 5, 2015
Verified Purchase
Totally love these - got several sets ( 4 colors ) for gifts and everyone loved them
This pencil feels good...
December 9, 2013
Verified Purchase
This pencil feels good in the hand. The grip is comfortable and the size is not too big or small. I am a female with a small palm and long, slender fingers; my finger span from pinky to thumb is 8.25" and the top of my palm (where the middle finger meets) to my first wrist-wrinkle is 4". Writing with it feels great! The stroke is smooth across the paper and I enjoy it very much.

However, I bought this pencil in search of a specific quality --I want a pencil that does not waste lead. I write a lot and go through many graphite sticks, so all those wasted end pieces add up. This pencil wastes about 1.5cm of a 6.1cm graphite stick. This is about 24% waste. I didn't want to believe the review here indicating this about the OLEeNu pencil from 2011 and I had seen others mention that this pencil used graphite down to the last few mms elsewhere online. It isn't clear if my particular pencil is defective or if there's some trick to getting the graphite to last that long. Once you approach 1.5cm, the pencil clearly does not have a grip as you cannot rotate the pencil to write on the tip as it rotates on its own. Trying to extend the graphite results in its being pushed back into the pencil once pressure is applied. Back to the drawing board, I guess...

If I wasn't concerned about the waste, this would be a fine pencil and I would highly recommend it. If waste IS a concern for you, then purchase this pencil at your own risk. Maybe you will get one that does not waste, but I did not.
Despite what platinum...
September 26, 2012
Verified Purchase
Despite what platinum itself says about its oleenu pencil...I don't like this pencil for writing. In fact, it's clever features would prove to be a deal breaker to the heavy handed writers out there...no, this is intended for something equally, if not, greater, than writing...MECHANICAL PENCIL ART!!!!!
Why? Because it minimizes lead breakage, a plus, but most importantly, allows the user to press on the paper much harder for burnishing and hard outlines, for imprints and so much more. This pencil makes the mechanical pencil less of a 'use when necessary' tool, and much more of a 'use because it rocks' tool. It really is a game changer, and for the money, not a bank robber by any means.
This is a very comfortable...
April 11, 2012
This is a very comfortable pencil to write with. Everything about it is as advertised. However, the clip fell off almost immediately. I don't really care, it was a horrible clip to begin with. I have not ever broken a lead with this pencil and it is completely reliable. The sliding sleeve allows me to write so long that I'm often surprised when I have to push the button. A previous reviewer thought that the lead breakage claim was over-stated. My daughter often bangs my pencils and pens unconsciously on the desk top when she's thinking. These 0.5 mm leads cannot survive that, but that can't be blamed on the pencil. This is a very good deal and works very well.
This pencil is the WORST...
July 16, 2011
Verified Purchase
This pencil is the WORST pencil I now own (out of about 2 dozen) as far as "loose lead" near the end. At about 20 mm the lead is ready to fall out, sometimes does. I can't IMAGINE where they get "use the lead down to 1 mm". The secondary holding clutch has absolutely zero grip. Maybe I got a bad one.
1 person found this helpful
1 - 10 of 10 |