JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (82 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 13, 2011
Bought the pen because...
Bought the pen because it was the only one that was 1. $3 and 2. had no negative reviews.
It came with a 2.25" ink cartridge it ran out after about 50 full pages of notes in 3 days for me because your hands never ever get tired... i don't know why...
never bleeds, never leaked, it gets dry if you leave it out uncapped for like a minute, but i'm guessing the drying issue is universal to fountain pens. I learned to just tap the table once before starting to write again and the dryness can be avoided.
Love the fine point; I can't imagine getting a european brand pen, and finding out that their "fine point" is really a "medium point" thickness... For this pen, it says 0.3mm, but realistically, it is about 0.5mm on paper, which is PERFECT.

Absolutely flawless.
Better than any pencil and pen I have ever used. (Dr.Grip, and alpha grip combined)
The fact that I have to change the cartridge frequently motivates me because it tells me that I'm doing a lot of work (unlike other ball point pens where the ink never, ever, ever runs out...)

Contemplating on whether to get a converter.
I absolutely love this pen, I am scared to get any other pens =\.

18 people found this helpful
 
March 11, 2012
Not a fan. This pen...
Verified Purchase
Not a fan.

This pen really isn't that fine for a Japanese pen (not even close to a Sailor fine). It's a very dry writing pen, so much so that it skips or writes faintly on both inks I've tried (in fairness, neither were the cartridge that came with the pen, I've been eye-dropper-ing with Noodler inks). It was hard starting from day one. For $3 you can do better with a Pilot Varsity.

Your experience might be better with the cartridge ink than mine.

6 people found this helpful
 
January 24, 2012
It writes like a dream...
Verified Purchase
It writes like a dream but the barrel and cap are made from weak, brittle plastic. I've been very careful with mine and both the top of the body and the bottom of the cap have developed cracks. This is my second Preppy, which I got to replace the first one that had the same issue.

I know it's only a $3 pen, but I still expect it to not fall apart after a few months of easy desktop use, especially after buying the $8 converter. It's a shame too, because the fine nib writes like a dream, much smoother than many of my "real" fountain pens.

7 people found this helpful
randy25rhoads
 
February 21, 2013
Very good functioning...
Verified Purchase
Very good functioning pen. I've had it for a good while now, about 5 months. Everything works well on it, except the barrel and cap developed cracks quickly. Recently the cap finally cracked enough to stop clipping onto the pen. A shame that happened just after buying the converter for it. I am going to keep it around and see if there is a way to remedy the cracking, perhaps with some gorilla glue or more tape.

4 people found this helpful
 
March 12, 2012
After 6 weeks of only...
Verified Purchase
After 6 weeks of only very occasional use, the cheap plastic body of this pen has developed very deep cracks rendering it completely useless in hand... Very disappointing.

4 people found this helpful
 
August 3, 2011
Great pen but the ink...
Verified Purchase
Great pen but the ink is a little grayish

2 people found this helpful
deathkiller79808
 
March 21, 2008
Having read high praise...
Having read high praise of the Platinum Preppy, I had high expectations for the fountain pen. When I got it (in black and pink), the light weight, comfortable feel, and snugly-fitting cap impressed me. Unfortunately, both pens were slow starters and the ink seemed to flow inadequately; writing felt dry and skipping occurred too frequently for my tastes. I tossed the black ink cartridge and used a Platinum Pocket Brush Pen refill cartridge. Now the pen is a dream, with a nice, reliable line. With its own ink, I would rate the pen at 3/5, but with the different ink, I would rate it at 5/5, hence the 4/5 average.

2 people found this helpful
schopfer0
 
August 6, 2012
This was my first fountain...
Verified Purchase
This was my first fountain pen. As a starter pen it serves as a inexpensive introduction. Its not bad on decent paper, and for the price you really can't go wrong.

The big caveat is that when you move to something more refined it will feel like going from a tricycle to Formula 1 racer.

1 person found this helpful
alexshopping
 
October 6, 2011
Smooth writing with great...
Verified Purchase
Smooth writing with great inkflow, but not fine enough a nib for my taste - my Sailor Inkbar still wins in that department.

1 person found this helpful
thebagbys
 
September 10, 2011
Great pens for a great...
Verified Purchase
Great pens for a great price. I bought this in several colors then went back and bought some for my son. A pleasure to write with. They have a nice fine line. I hadput one of them up for several weeks and when I got it back out it had not dried out. The ink comes in nice colors they are not very deep but still nice. I like the blue black best. The purple was too pink for me. Still how can go wrong for this price.

1 person found this helpful
rbquilter