JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.0 (50 customer reviews)
Write Review
February 2, 2011
The Platinum Preppy is...
Verified Purchase
The Platinum Preppy is one of the first few fountain pens I've owned/used, and as cheap as it is... this is a great pen. I give it good marks for having a very buttery writing experience, as well as good flow even after you ignore it for a few days. The Blue-Black is somewhat light but I still like the slight variations in the shade of blue. If I have anything that I would improve in this pen... well I love fine lines so an extra-fine nib would be ideal, because for me the fine nib seems fairly thick almost like a .5-.7mm ballpoint/gel pen line. Also, probably attributed to low cost and being clear, the plastic in the cap and barrel is pretty fragile. The second time I used my pen, I slightly twisted the cap as I removed it. This cracked the barrel about 3 places, easily remedied with some clear tape... even If I got a defective barrel, I think a matte finished black body on these pens would not only help aesthetics but probably allow more durable plastics to be used. If I return to the Platinum brand on my next order, I might give their Plaisir line a go... they seem like a more robust version of these little beauties.

P.S. the coloring on my nib started coming off almost immediately, now I have a half blue, half silver colored nib... this did NOT effect performance.

8 people found this helpful
 
November 28, 2011
I have several Preppy...
Verified Purchase
I have several Preppy pens, and give them out regularly to friends and siblings. They are a really good pen for the price. I have had several for almost a year now and have only ever had one crack. The crack is in the cap and it only happened because I dropped my seven pound laptop on the pen. This isn't a pen that can take a lot of abuse, but at this price that's not really expected. They are well worth the price.

4 people found this helpful
theothermle
 
September 6, 2011
Great pen for a great...
Verified Purchase
Great pen for a great price. I really like the blue black ink color and it flows very smoothly. The fine point is a nice true fine point

4 people found this helpful
rbquilter
 
January 26, 2012
The pens writes fine...
The pens writes fine for the price...But the ink color is terrible. It's so light and weak, I can't stand writing with it. It looks like it's been run under water and watered down. Not my idea of high quality at all. Maybe I'll order another color ink to see if it's any better. Black maybe?

2 people found this helpful
 
December 15, 2011
At this price, it's a...
Verified Purchase
At this price, it's a steal; I have one of these and it works great. I just wish it was a little heavier.

2 people found this helpful
 
July 31, 2014
Great Reasonable Fountain...
Verified Purchase
Great Reasonable Fountain pen for my moleskine notes!
I love notebooks and pens, I may even say I am obsessed with them and have tons of different kinds of notebooks and pens, but just never got into Fountain pens because they are tend to be expensive and can be messy. Fountain pens also have bad rep when it comes to using with Moleskine notebooks which I love. I bought this pen just to try out for my moleskine notebooks and to my surprise! it writes so smooth, no skipping and best of all, ink does not go through to the back of pages which is a common issue with thin moleskine paper.
Blue black has a nice deep blue color and it dries quick with no feathering on Moleskine.
I may go back for other colors too!

 
April 2, 2014
As usual with the Platinum...
Verified Purchase
As usual with the Platinum Preppy, I had a beast of a time getting the ink to start to flow. Once it did start, it writes decently smooth, though very stiff. However, the "blue black" ink is pretty much just blue ink. Nothing like the deep dark blue that comes in the Pilot Petit. There's also a significant amount of shading to the ink, which again, makes it look lighter than a true blue-black ink. For the price, it's fine, but I definitely prefer the Pilot Petit ink color and ease of use to this one.

 
February 9, 2014
This is a great pen if...
This is a great pen if you're looking for a cheap but effective and fun writing instrument. I have a blue/black and a violet preppy for annotating on the margins (the ink stands out so I can easily identify my note). The design is attractive, the nib is smooth, the ink flows well, there's not much that can go wrong for a $3.30 pen. It is definitely a fountain pen you should try using at least once, fountain pen enthusiast or not.
Cons: While it feels great to write, I don't quite like the feel of it in my hand. It lacks the solid feel of a nice fountain pen and the nib feels a little flimsy. Combined with reports of the plastic cracking, I usually try to be very careful when writing as well as avoid snapping in the cap too often (to avoid drying, I would put on the cap but not snap it on completely, only doing so when I am done with writing and storing it in my bag). I am considering converting it to an eyedropper, but I have a feeling that I will be very paranoid about the ink leaking out or the body cracking.

greenphoenix6
 
January 29, 2014
Not worth it wish I could...
Verified Purchase
Not worth it wish I could get my money back.

abellefleur
 
October 18, 2013
I bought this pen as...
I bought this pen as a daily writer to use with a converter, and have not used the supplied cartridge. I should add that the converter cost more than the pen.

After 'running in' the nib, I find it writes at the level of far pricier pens.

The perception of others is also that actually it is a far pricier pen.

All up, very happy - probably really a 4+, but the value for money aspect warrants the 5.