My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.1 (24 customer reviews)
Write Review
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  I completely disagree..., July 25, 2011
By hey...
I completely disagree with the comment below. This is the most amazing fountain pen. One I put in the cartridge, the ink flowed easily and freely. The ink is beautiful and vibrant. I bought a refill and now I\'m back to buy more because of how frequently I use this pen. I took it with me to a convention along with another bag of pens. This pen fascinated me so much I ended up blowing through 2 cartridges. This is a must buy. At the $, this pen is a great price and quality.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  A nice economical FP,..., February 27, 2011
By xen...
A nice economical FP, writes very well with a smooth flow. If you don\'t write with it for a few days it does tends to dry at the nib but a second of scribbling brings it right back. Definitely recommended for a reliable everyday FP and as a great starting pen. For the $ this is a fine work horse. The purple is a very rich color, more on the violet side but still easy on the eyes.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  The barrel cracked along..., December 25, 2010
By Deb...
The barrel cracked along the seam within days of receiving one of these pens...Very poor quality plastic...but when these pens do not crack they are great, they have a very nice nib and are easily converted for barrel fill to use with Noodler's Inks...It would be great if the company that makes these would put more effort into the quality of the plastic especially at the seam.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Even with the bad reviews,..., April 7, 2011
By end...
Even with the bad reviews, I decided to try this pen. Bought some Blue/Black refills to go with it. I figured at only $3.00 who cares if it isnt so great, right?

wrong. The problem is that with this pen it COMPLETELY frustrates you. It doesnt write to begin with, so you pinch and poke and coax the ink into coming out. It still wont budge. You get determined one afternoon, roll up your sleeves and attack it with everything you have! You get some ink to come out..... And then it stops..

I stored it tip down (Gasp!) for over a week, checking it daily, no, still wont work. Finally, it writes without a ton of effort to start it, but i store it upside down, and recap it when i pause to think what i am going to write next.

Is $3 worth the time and frustration to you? I say give it to a friend to get it started for you and then, just maybe it might be worth it ;)
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I bought this pen and..., April 18, 2012
I bought this pen and the blue one and the black one. it skips a lot at first but after a while it writes smooth. you kinda have to shake it a little bit to get the ink flowing. overall the ink flows well.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I ordered this purple..., August 19, 2010
I ordered this purple for a different color from my usual blues and blacks. At first I was really surprised at its poor performance. My black preppy never acted up at all, but this had so much trouble starting I almost returned it. Finally it worked like my original preppy and I was relieved. I just picked it up after not using it for a few weeks and it started perfectly at the first letter. I love Preppy's - they are lightweight, extremely comfortable to write with (has the perfect girth in my humble opinion) and is a fantastic value.
  The body is comfortable,..., January 2, 2014
By eva...
The body is comfortable, the color is great...when it works. Do not waste the money on this pen. I'm sorry, but its bad.
  This pen is one of three..., September 18, 2013
By fer...
This pen is one of three disposable fountain pens that I bought as my first try at fountain pens. It was easy to attach the cartridge but I had a little trouble getting the ink to flow initially. I looked at the reviews on here and found the suggestion to shake the pen a bit to get the ink flowing and that worked. It is very comfortable in my hand and writes smoothly. Once the ink started flowing it was very consistent and didn't bleed through my paper. The line seems to be somewhere between fine and medium. Overall it seems to be a very nice pen, easy to hold and writes well. I can't address any of the issues of cracking as I haven't had it long enough. I do have pen/pencil cases that I keep all my pens in when they are in my work bag or book bag in hopes of minimizing broken, leaky pens.
  I've had a perfectly..., September 13, 2013
By ana...
I've had a perfectly pleasant writing experience with my pen. I've seen pens of comparable cost with weaker plastic bodies, so I've been rather pleased with its encasing. Also, the nib writes quite smoothly. And while the ink is a bit more red/pink looking than the color on the cap suggests, I'm happy with my purchase. - Also, I'd like to report that I've kept it in my backpack with no spillage/damage. -
  It's a great inexpensive..., September 3, 2013
It's a great inexpensive fountain pen. No worries about tossing it around. The included ink flows great, even with the fine point. My reference for fineness is a 0.4 uniball signo or pilot gel pen.

I found that a refill with J. Herbin Violet Pense and Scheaffer Skrip Red are both hard to start for whatever reason. You'll be happy if you stay with the cartridges or happen to have ink that works.
  This is a surprisingly..., August 3, 2013
This is a surprisingly excellent fountain pen. I compared it to the Noodlers fountain pen, and it exceeded the Noodlers by quite a bit. First, the nib writes smoothly. Second, it holds a lot more ink than the Noodler's built-in reservoir. I refill the Preppy using an eyedropper.
  These pens are great-..., July 8, 2013
These pens are great- the ink flow is even and the nib is smooth, not even a little scratchy. I've tried other pens but I always come back to these. My only complaint is that by the time the pen is empty, the plastic on the barrel has cracked and there's no point in refilling it, or the nib has clogged and won't write anymore, so I just end up having to buy a whole new pen instead of just refilling it. At the price, though, it's not much of an issue; it's just the waiting and having to use normal pens that's hard!
  The purple is more of..., October 7, 2012
The purple is more of a magenta color then purple purple. So keep it in mind when ordering if you don't like magenta. The fountain pen itself works pretty good, although for me, sometimes it requires a shake or two. I've been using this pen on a daily basis since I got it, about a few weeks ago. The ink runs out fast if you write a lot. Instead of buying disposable refills, I would suggest that you convert it to a eye dropper or just clean out the cartridge and use a syringe to fill with ink (don't forget to clean the nib if you're changing color!) I'm currently using J. Herbin Fountain Pen Ink - Violette Pensee.
  This is my second Platinum..., August 13, 2012
By may...
This is my second Platinum Preppy Fountain Pen.

This one works just as well as my first one. I won't give it five stars because it's not really fine point - I'd call this medium. But it writes so well that I am happy to use a medium point pen. The purple is a bit "grape-ier" than I expected, but it's an interesting color. It definitely stands out on the page. I plan to use this for journaling/letter writing because it's too bright for me to feel comfortable using it at the office (I work in a male dominated field).

If only Platinum Preppy would make refills with brown ink. It looks like I'll have to buy myself an o-ring and use bottled ink!
  Wow - this purple ink..., July 7, 2012
By ddmcd
Wow - this purple ink is beautiful! And the pen ain't so bad, either!
  Goods: - ink is clear..., February 6, 2012
By etr...
Goods:
- ink is clear and bold
Bad:
- mine Brooke in a month!!!!
  just got this pen! omg..., February 3, 2012
just got this pen! omg it's so perfect! it's so cheap and nice for a decent fountain pen, it's really a steal. I used platinum converter for this and ink flows smoothly and nicely, no breaking! i will definitely buy more colors of this pen :) it's just amazing !
  Nearly impossible to..., November 16, 2011
Nearly impossible to get the ink flowing. Granted, this pen is under $4, but it was still a major disappointment.
  Once you get the ink..., December 17, 2010
By jps...
Once you get the ink flowing a great everyday pen. THis pen writes smoothly, and I like this color. Highly recommended.....
  Exceptional!! One of..., November 30, 2009
By defne7
Exceptional!! One of my best orders from jetpens! There are no flaws in this pen (in my opinion) and I can only say good things. I love the fact that this is a very easy-to-use fountain pen (because some fountain pens can be somewhat of a hassle to use). The color in this pen is beautiful and vibrant, worth every penny, even though it is very inexpensive for the quality! I give it an A and would recommend it to anyone!
  I have been checking..., August 27, 2009
I have been checking out JetPens for a while, but never ordered anything until this week. The delivery was quick, especially since I’m on the other side of the country. This pen writes extremely smooth. I’m glad I got the fine point though, because it is a little thicker than I am used to. It is a very lightweight pen. I can’t wait to get another order together to get more of these pens and the refills.
  All I can say is WOW!..., July 9, 2009
All I can say is WOW! I Just love this pen to death! It's such a beautiful color. And write almost as small as my Hi-Tec-C on my stationary. It writes so smooth. and never gets caught on my paper. I also love the color of the nib. I just all around really love this fountain pen. It's great to hold, and isn't to small, OR to bulky. It's just write (:P) I would recommend this to anyone. Even my aunt who hates fountain pens, found herself loving this one.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I just bought this pen..., August 4, 2009
I just bought this pen and am waiting for it to come in the mail. It usually takes about 1-2 days to get to me and I've ordered many times from jetpens. I read an article saying you can refill platinum preppy fountain pens with regular bottled inks by just adding an o-ring to the threads of the barrel. I am currently in love with the j. herbin and pilot iroshizuku bottled inks and am waiting on my glass pens and the platinum preppy pens to test them out. I am definitely looking forward to receiving these pens in the mail. I only wish bottled inks were cheaper... $22.50 for a bottle of iroshizuku is really taxing my wallet. overall, great buy though!
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I am about to order one..., February 25, 2011
By sef...
I am about to order one of these pens. I must say I am surprised at the negative reviews. People, this pen costs little $!! Don\'t think it will exceed your expectations. It\'s a fountain pen in a plastic barrel. Think about it! You could buy 5 of these for the cost of another pen and will get satisfactory results for your needs. If you\'re looking for better quality, you have to pay for it.