My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (15 customer reviews)
Write Review
5 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  I converted all my Preppys..., December 26, 2010
I converted all my Preppys to dropper fill just as jetpens suggests. I love these pens. Never once have they given me any trouble. No leaks. I've taken them on airplanes to China and they were fantastic. I have four filled with Noodlers ink: black 05, blue 03, whaler's brown 05, black 03.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  The Platinum Preppys..., January 25, 2012
The Platinum Preppys are the best pen for $3 you will ever buy*. If you have ever wanted to try out a fountain pen, the Preppy is a great way to do it. At that price you cant get hurt much if you don't like it.

jeff stiefer

* For a full-sized cheap pen. I actually prefer the Pilot Petit (sold here at jetpens) but its a small pen and my not be good for big hands
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  For $3.30 I ordered these..., January 12, 2012
By sco...
For $3.30 I ordered these along with another pen. Just for kicks I thought I'd give it a run. I was totally impressed. the ink flow was silky smooth, almost like writing with a felt tip. The lines are broad for a Japanese pen. I plan to order a couple more to hold colored inks.

Best $3 pen of any kind I own.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Love this pen. I got..., November 29, 2010
By ant...
Love this pen. I got the medium point and the fine point (both black ink) and I love the way they write. The converter really lets you use any ink you like so these pens are the perfect fountain pens for newbies, but also great for students or those that want a pen to use for quick notes, etc.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  This is the first time..., June 29, 2010
By kat
This is the first time I've tried a "nibbed" pen I didn't have to dip. the flow is very smooth and I could get alot of good effects with it.
Flow is a bit thicker than I thought it was going to be but other wise I like using this pen.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I cannot even express..., January 26, 2010
I cannot even express my love for this pen. I had never written with a fountain pen before, and I tried a few out at a store and wasn't too pleased, but when I tried this one I immediately had to buy it and pick up a couple extra cartridges. It's the kind of pen you just know you'll be using for the rest of your life.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This is an outstanding..., November 23, 2009
By defne7
This is an outstanding fountain pen. I love how smoothly it writes and the nib. It gets an A in my book and now I'm planning to get the purple one based on the great reviews and my love for the color purple. But of course, black is the standard color.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Love, love, love this..., May 24, 2012
Love, love, love this pen. The nib is very smooth and ink is a nice wet flow no matter how long it's been since I have used it. Who would ever think such an inexpensive pen would perform so well. I have some very expensive pens; Sheaffer's, waterman, pelican that don't write nearly as well. I plan to turn this into an eye dropper after I use up the cartridge that was included. It's definitely not impressive to look at and I wish it didn't have the writing on the barrel but that is a small complaint and doesn't in any way affect the performance. If you don't have one of these I would highly recommend that you give it a try. You won't be disappointed.
2 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Wow, what a nice pen......, January 29, 2010
By wtu...
Wow, what a nice pen... I got this one to carry around in my professor's leather book bag (I teach undergrad courses), and because I prefer that old-fashioned "scratchy" feel of a fountain pen on paper versus the skip and rub of a ball point (who can write with a ball point other than for endorsing a check at a bank?). I like gel pens, too, but I sometimes miss the fountain pen feel, so this is perfect to remedy that. :-)

Love the colored nib. Very nice feature. Makes the pen look more like a conversation piece. It writes with such a graceful line, it's almost impossible to think that it's a $3 pen! Got two extras on the way: one red pen for marking up papers, and another black for my wife (so she doesn't take mine away). If you haven't already done so, get one now. You can thank me later. ;-)
  I bought several Preppys..., June 11, 2014
I bought several Preppys at the same time. It seems like the darker the ink, the better they write. I love both the 03 and 05 blacks. They start up immediately even after sitting for a couple of days. They feel smooth and are very good for music writing. The purple is nice as well. The green and red that I received suck however, being very inconsistent. For the price, I'm not too broken up. I plan on converting the ones that don't do well to dropper fills anyway, so no big deal.
  I can't say enough good..., June 5, 2014
I can't say enough good things about these pens! I had given up on using fountain pens, because they would inevitably die after a year, no matter how much cleaning and care I tried. But these pens write better, in my opinion, than all the $20-50 Lamys, Watermans, Parkers and Sheaffers that I have tried. So far they have been very reliable - but if they die, there will be no spending an afternoon trying to get it to work again - I'll spring this price for another one!

The nib is a perfect (for me) balance between being well honed and smooth, but also having some scratchiness. I use them with the converter that JetPens recommends, and that has worked great. As another commenter pointed out, there is a sort of well around the nib which fills with ink if you dip fill the pen, and that will make a mess when you are writing. However, if you use some sort of blotter (tip of a kleenex or Q-tip), capillary action will empty out that well quite nicely.

The fact that they are so cheap lets me have several different colors going at once.

The spring-loaded cap is not just a gimmick. I have had trouble with fountain pens drying out before when capped, even after only a day (which I think is why they died on me so often). But these will stay fine capped for at least a week, no problem.

The only thing you sacrifice compared to more expensive pens is the look. But even that I like; I feel a bit pretentious with a nice looking fountain pen. If it's the writing you care about, I would go with these over any pen below $50. (And maybe more - I've never tried a more expensive pen.)
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I was terrified of using..., April 25, 2012
By mov...
I was terrified of using fountain pens before I jumped in the waters and bought my first Preppy. That was almost a year ago and after my initial period of terror, I have come to use this pen every single day at work.

I have to send lots of faxes (old school style!) and the ability to consistently write legibly with a dark ink makes my job (and the fax recipient's job) much easier.

Yes, the ink feathers a bit and yes, this medium nib is probably too wide for some people, but after using my first Preppy, I bought more, in different colors, and now I happily pull my black ink Preppy out of my desk drawer every morning.

I did recently buy a new one as the cap on the old one had stopped snapping closed on the body due to repeated use (it is cheap plastic after all!) but at $3.30, I don't really mind.

Due to how much I use this pen, I usually get about 3-4 weeks of writing out of each ink cartridge. Once again, I don't mind so much as buying new refills is a widely known and accepted excuse to come back to place an order at Jet Pens...
  Great pen at a great..., February 8, 2012
Great pen at a great price. Write very well. Extremely easy to change the cartridge.
1 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  For the$, this fountain..., August 16, 2011
By t.d...
For the$, this fountain pen is a steal. However, in terms of performance, it\'s only so good; it definitely cannot compare to other higher priced fountain pens. My first fountain pen purchase was a Lamy safari, so I am bit biased when I use this. However, it gives me peace of mind if I ever lose it since this is so cheap. The only thing more expensive is the fact that I refill the ink cartridges with Noodler\'s ink.
Writing with this pen can be smooth, but always stay writing or replace the cap because the ink tends to dry out in open air. I don\'t like how I have to press down hard to get the ink to flow out again; it gets annoying. But I\'ve gotten used that after using for a year now. This is a good starter pen actually, but I always miss using my Lamy more than this one.
0 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Can I use converter for..., May 11, 2010
By ll1...
Can I use converter for this pen? Does this pen contain a cartridge?
Thank you.