JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (16 customer reviews)
Write Review
December 26, 2010
I converted all my Preppys...
Verified Purchase
I converted all my Preppys to dropper fill just as jetpens suggests. I love these pens. Never once have they given me any trouble. No leaks. I've taken them on airplanes to China and they were fantastic. I have four filled with Noodlers ink: black 05, blue 03, whaler's brown 05, black 03.

5 people found this helpful
daveterry
 
January 25, 2012
The Platinum Preppys...
Verified Purchase
The Platinum Preppys are the best pen for $3 you will ever buy*. If you have ever wanted to try out a fountain pen, the Preppy is a great way to do it. At that price you cant get hurt much if you don't like it.

jeff stiefer

* For a full-sized cheap pen. I actually prefer the Pilot Petit (sold here at jetpens) but its a small pen and my not be good for big hands

3 people found this helpful
jeff.stiefer
 
January 12, 2012
For $3.30 I ordered these...
Verified Purchase
For $3.30 I ordered these along with another pen. Just for kicks I thought I'd give it a run. I was totally impressed. the ink flow was silky smooth, almost like writing with a felt tip. The lines are broad for a Japanese pen. I plan to order a couple more to hold colored inks.

Best $3 pen of any kind I own.

3 people found this helpful
scottnovis+pens
 
November 29, 2010
Love this pen. I got...
Verified Purchase
Love this pen. I got the medium point and the fine point (both black ink) and I love the way they write. The converter really lets you use any ink you like so these pens are the perfect fountain pens for newbies, but also great for students or those that want a pen to use for quick notes, etc.

3 people found this helpful
antlarson
 
June 29, 2010
This is the first time...
Verified Purchase
This is the first time I've tried a "nibbed" pen I didn't have to dip. the flow is very smooth and I could get alot of good effects with it.
Flow is a bit thicker than I thought it was going to be but other wise I like using this pen.

3 people found this helpful
 
January 26, 2010
I cannot even express...
I cannot even express my love for this pen. I had never written with a fountain pen before, and I tried a few out at a store and wasn't too pleased, but when I tried this one I immediately had to buy it and pick up a couple extra cartridges. It's the kind of pen you just know you'll be using for the rest of your life.

2 people found this helpful
travelbytardis
 
November 23, 2009
This is an outstanding...
This is an outstanding fountain pen. I love how smoothly it writes and the nib. It gets an A in my book and now I'm planning to get the purple one based on the great reviews and my love for the color purple. But of course, black is the standard color.

2 people found this helpful
 
May 24, 2012
Love, love, love this...
Verified Purchase
Love, love, love this pen. The nib is very smooth and ink is a nice wet flow no matter how long it's been since I have used it. Who would ever think such an inexpensive pen would perform so well. I have some very expensive pens; Sheaffer's, waterman, pelican that don't write nearly as well. I plan to turn this into an eye dropper after I use up the cartridge that was included. It's definitely not impressive to look at and I wish it didn't have the writing on the barrel but that is a small complaint and doesn't in any way affect the performance. If you don't have one of these I would highly recommend that you give it a try. You won't be disappointed.

1 person found this helpful
 
January 29, 2010
Wow, what a nice pen......
Wow, what a nice pen... I got this one to carry around in my professor's leather book bag (I teach undergrad courses), and because I prefer that old-fashioned "scratchy" feel of a fountain pen on paper versus the skip and rub of a ball point (who can write with a ball point other than for endorsing a check at a bank?). I like gel pens, too, but I sometimes miss the fountain pen feel, so this is perfect to remedy that. :-)

Love the colored nib. Very nice feature. Makes the pen look more like a conversation piece. It writes with such a graceful line, it's almost impossible to think that it's a $3 pen! Got two extras on the way: one red pen for marking up papers, and another black for my wife (so she doesn't take mine away). If you haven't already done so, get one now. You can thank me later. ;-)

2 people found this helpful
 
October 16, 2014
Pretty awesome, wish...
Verified Purchase
Pretty awesome, wish they made a broad point.