My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.2 (10 customer reviews)
Write Review
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Inconsistent quality..., December 10, 2012
Inconsistent quality from these pens. When they work well, they're great. The latest one I received has a problem drawing ink. Looks like I can't return it, so I won't be ordering them from here any more.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I've had Platinum Preppy..., April 27, 2011
By ike...
I've had Platinum Preppy pens for over a year and found them to be reliable cheap writers. Most of the time, they write well out of the "box", but sometimes I have one that doesn't flow well. I found that flushing it well with water with a drop of detergent seems to help, although the feed isn't the easiest thing to flush out. I had to use a baby nasal bulb to force clean water through the feed to flush it well.

I prefer the medium (0.5) nib and have even converted one of them into a eyedropper with some silicone grease and the o-ring JetPens sells. The cap has a spring loaded sealing cone that keeps the nib from drying out and I find that I can uncap the pen after a long absence and it writes fine.

The nib is reasonably smooth for such an inexpensive pen and I keep them around in my office where I wouldn't keep my much more expensive fountain pens.

I also refill the excellent Platinum cartridges with my favorite inks.

You can't beat this pen for the price!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  My pen came as a very..., August 30, 2010
My pen came as a very dry writer but after using it and applying a little pressure to the nib it writes really well now. Found the ink color to be insipid but might have liked it better if the pen had been writing better at the time. Modified mine to use as an eyedropper. Well worth the price! Will probably buy other Preppies in Fine or other colors.
  Way better than I expected..., February 20, 2014
By ant...
Way better than I expected for a pen at this price point. My only regret is not ordering all the different colors. Ink drop converstion in the very near future! Thanks Jetpens!
  I love my preppie pens...., June 12, 2013
By lov...
I love my preppie pens. I have at least 4 and they write great! The colours are fantastic. But for every day I like purple and black.
  One of my two favorite..., May 30, 2013
By ekw...
One of my two favorite reasonably priced fountain pens, the other being the Pilot VPen. This one has the added benefit of being refillable. This pen has a good size and comfortable feel, and being a medium nib, completely avoids any scratchiness. I've taken to giving these as gifts to like-minded pen enthusiasts, and I always get back positive reviews.
  I think the Preppy Fountain..., May 4, 2013
By myf...
I think the Preppy Fountain Pens are just terrific. I would have given this a 4/5 because the cap breaks on about a third of my Preppies, but the low price of this pen makes up for the cap issue, at least for the most part. I find them reliable, and pretty darn leak-resistant on average. If it were not for the questionable cap integrity, I would be completely raving about them. I purchase the refills, and as long as the cap stays intact, I can keep refilling them. I find this a bargain at the price, and love the fine as well as the medium point. At this price, this is a win/win if you can get past the cap issue. I order enough so if I have to throw one away for lack of cap, then so be it!
  Pros This pen writes..., March 2, 2013
By ver...
Pros
This pen writes really smoothly, and dispenses a very consistent stream of ink.
Inexpensive.
Broad, but controllable nib.
Easy to use.
Does not dry out.
Does not leak despite being thrown about in my bag

Cons
Cap breaks easily, unable to keep it closed - That pretty much limits the use of the pen

Like the pen for the price, but will have to hunt for something more robust. You get what you pay for, however it is a good introduction to fountain pens.
  Awesome pen! Owned this..., December 13, 2009
Awesome pen! Owned this for a couple years (although I rarely used it).

Only *issue* is that the writing wore off on mine. Doesn't really matter though, works like a charm - nice writing, not scratchy at all.
  The color on this pen..., July 10, 2009
The color on this pen is awesome, my favorite blue black.

Unfortunately, the plastic is brittle (for lack of a better word) and the caps especially have a tenancy to crack on you. Once the cap cracks, it doesn't stay on the pen well and the tip tends to dry out. I've bought 3 of these over the years and the caps cracked on two of them. One I dropped, but the other cracked just from normal use.

It's too bad. I love the pretty highlighters and love the idea of a refillable, disposable fountain pen.