JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.5 (11 customer reviews)
Write Review
May 21, 2013
I bought this pen in...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen in three colors. I do not believe the colors make a difference--they were, each, faulty. And all in the same way. Following the instructions, I inserted the cartridge and thought that the ink would begin to flow. Not only did none of the ink flow, I had to run the nib under warm water, drying it carefully with a paper towel, I tried to prod the cartridge into beginning to flow, I put everything back together and, leaving the pen capped with the nib side down, I left the pens alone for a few days. When I returned, everything remained the same. No ink. No writing.
I find these pens to be quite aesthetically lovely, with the nib matching the ink and cap color. Someone clearly put a lot of thought into the design, but went blank on the engineering portion of the pen. There is just no performance. At all.
I am aware that the pens are valued at $3.30 each. So, some may say, you get what you pay for. I have paid hundreds of dollars for some pens, yet my all time favorite is one that I paid $17. to acquire. One never knows when one will find a little treasure.
Know this: You will not find a little treasure in this pen. You will find a little headache. Hardly pays to send them back. what a waste of money...as I bought cartridges, as well.

2 people found this helpful
ggonzalez.esq
 
June 30, 2011
The purple ink color...
Verified Purchase
The purple ink color is a good strong purple, and the 05 nib puts down a medium wet line. I have tried the 03 and would say the 05 is much better in terms of ink flow, even if it tends toward the bold side. The nib is almost slightly italic - it can be a bit thinner horizontally than vertically. I would say it's much smoother than the Pilot Petite1. I would also prefer it with less branding. I received a generic Platinum Preppy with a 4.5oz bottle of Noodler's Baystate Blue which was converted to eyedropper, and that pen is a clean transparent gray all around, which is ideal. I'd like to be able to buy more of the no-name preppies.

1 person found this helpful
 
January 31, 2011
It\'s a nice pen for...
Verified Purchase
It\'s a nice pen for the price, that\'s for sure. But I like the PILOT Petit1 better.
A big down side for me is the non-removable bar code and label. So it\'s not so
esthetically pleasing, but hey, it\'s ok for the $. The ink color is more violet than
purple - close to the cap color.

1 person found this helpful
 
November 14, 2014
I bought these to give...
Verified Purchase
I bought these to give to kids at the school where I work. They love thse simple starter fountain pens. They're colorful, easy, and the inkflow isnt too wet for their handwriting. I should probably buy a gross of these to hand out as prizes.
The medium nib works well for wide and college rule papers, so it's a good all-around size.
And the purple? Their favorite color.

e.sandbak.es
 
October 24, 2014
Writes with ease....
Verified Purchase
Writes with ease.

 
October 15, 2014
takes a little coaxing...
Verified Purchase
takes a little coaxing to get going but works well when it does. It's certainly a medium nib! I do find it charming that the nib is also purple metal, to match the accent colors on the pen. I'm not crazy about the ink cartridges that come with these, they seem to jam the pens up way more than if you just do the dropper conversion on them and fill the barrels with ink.
The pen, without the cartridge, however, is perfectly serviceable and has done well by me!

catchyname
 
September 22, 2014
Less than impressed....
Verified Purchase
Less than impressed. It was great for the first while, but now it's nothing but an inky mess. No matter what I do, the ink won't stop leaking.

yesterdayszombie
 
July 4, 2014
I bought this pen a while...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen a while back along with the black model for my daughter, and was surprised at the difference in flow - the black ink flowed much more easily. I had to shake the purple one see rap times every few minutes to get the ink flowing. But after some research at jetpens.com I learned how to convert it into an eyed topper pen. I had found the purple a bit too bright, so I mixed the ink from 2 purple cartridges with the ink from 2 black cartridges, and filled the barrel. Now I'm completely in love with this pen!!! The color is stunning, the ink flows with much greater ease, and the sight of the barrel filled with this dark royal purple is just stunning! For a $3 pen, it's brought me a lot of joy... And I haut want to write with it all the time!!

 
June 9, 2014
If you expect to be able...
Verified Purchase
If you expect to be able to pick up this pen and begin writing with it without any hassle, you will be very frustrated. I ordered black, green, and red in 03 and black, purple, and red in 05. Both of the black pens work very well and start writing immediately. All of the colored ones suck to be perfectly honest. Even storing them nib down does very little. They will write a few sentences then completely stop. You may or may not be able to get them going again before putting them away in frustration. In addition, both the red and green colors are very washed out. The purple is nice and dark, and the black is a bit grey, but passable. I realize they were cheap. That is exactly how they perform.

shaneroney
 
November 17, 2013
I absolutely love this...
Verified Purchase
I absolutely love this pen. I'm a fountain pen newbie, and this was among the seven I ordered to get me started. I received the pens yesterday, and I've been writing and playing around with them since then. I love the color of the ink in this pen, and it has a smooth flow. My penmanship has gotten awful over the last few years, but everything I write with this pen is gorgeous. I'm really pleased with the pen, especially since it was so inexpensive.

greencaerphilly