JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.3 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
December 10, 2012
Inconsistent quality...
Verified Purchase
Inconsistent quality from these pens. When they work well, they're great. The latest one I received has a problem drawing ink. Looks like I can't return it, so I won't be ordering them from here any more.

1 person found this helpful
 
April 27, 2011
I've had Platinum Preppy...
Verified Purchase
I've had Platinum Preppy pens for over a year and found them to be reliable cheap writers. Most of the time, they write well out of the "box", but sometimes I have one that doesn't flow well. I found that flushing it well with water with a drop of detergent seems to help, although the feed isn't the easiest thing to flush out. I had to use a baby nasal bulb to force clean water through the feed to flush it well.

I prefer the medium (0.5) nib and have even converted one of them into a eyedropper with some silicone grease and the o-ring JetPens sells. The cap has a spring loaded sealing cone that keeps the nib from drying out and I find that I can uncap the pen after a long absence and it writes fine.

The nib is reasonably smooth for such an inexpensive pen and I keep them around in my office where I wouldn't keep my much more expensive fountain pens.

I also refill the excellent Platinum cartridges with my favorite inks.

You can't beat this pen for the price!

1 person found this helpful
ikeharaw001
 
August 30, 2010
My pen came as a very...
Verified Purchase
My pen came as a very dry writer but after using it and applying a little pressure to the nib it writes really well now. Found the ink color to be insipid but might have liked it better if the pen had been writing better at the time. Modified mine to use as an eyedropper. Well worth the price! Will probably buy other Preppies in Fine or other colors.

1 person found this helpful
 
December 12, 2014
Love the nib. Love the...
Verified Purchase
Love the nib. Love the ink. Love the feel. Hate the cap. After about three weeks of normal use the clip became loose followed by a crack developing in the cap itself which lead to an ill fitting cap I did not trust to stay on. If the cap had some resilience this would have been 5 star all the way.

 
October 16, 2014
Love the color on this,...
Verified Purchase
Love the color on this, awesome, but make a broad point please!

 
September 11, 2014
It was a bit scratchy...
It was a bit scratchy at first but then I unscrewed the bottom half and shook the ink cartridge a few times, just long enough to see the ink fill innnear the base of the nib. Now it works like a dream, smooth and easy to use, I scratched off the preppy stamp on the side because it made it look a bit cheap and now it looks more elegant.
-A

abellefleur
 
February 20, 2014
Way better than I expected...
Verified Purchase
Way better than I expected for a pen at this price point. My only regret is not ordering all the different colors. Ink drop converstion in the very near future! Thanks Jetpens!

anthonyshealy
 
June 12, 2013
I love my preppie pens....
Verified Purchase
I love my preppie pens. I have at least 4 and they write great! The colours are fantastic. But for every day I like purple and black.

lovedayellen
 
May 30, 2013
One of my two favorite...
Verified Purchase
One of my two favorite reasonably priced fountain pens, the other being the Pilot VPen. This one has the added benefit of being refillable. This pen has a good size and comfortable feel, and being a medium nib, completely avoids any scratchiness. I've taken to giving these as gifts to like-minded pen enthusiasts, and I always get back positive reviews.

 
May 4, 2013
I think the Preppy Fountain...
Verified Purchase
I think the Preppy Fountain Pens are just terrific. I would have given this a 4/5 because the cap breaks on about a third of my Preppies, but the low price of this pen makes up for the cap issue, at least for the most part. I find them reliable, and pretty darn leak-resistant on average. If it were not for the questionable cap integrity, I would be completely raving about them. I purchase the refills, and as long as the cap stays intact, I can keep refilling them. I find this a bargain at the price, and love the fine as well as the medium point. At this price, this is a win/win if you can get past the cap issue. I order enough so if I have to throw one away for lack of cap, then so be it!

Camilladog