My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (11 customer reviews)
Write Review
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Wow! I have used dozens..., June 7, 2008
Wow! I have used dozens of so=called top pencils and I think I have found the best one so far. I always look for better pencils, pens etc....its an on going thing :) and I gotto tell you that this pencil just feels so good in my hand ...it has these grooves that make a perfect grip, and the pencil is not too long which is perfect. I was skeptical at first to buy a pencil that is thicker than most of my pencils but now I'm very glad I did as it fits perfectly in my hand. I use this pencil for drawing and will but more of them to use with other color eno pencil refills sold on this site also.

Generally I prefer retractable pencils but since this is 0.7 mm the tip is very sturdy and does not feel like it would stick me if I have it in my shirt pocket.

I recommend using no less than 0.7 mm color refills as anything less than than and the refill easily cracks as it is not true graphite.

I may also get me a 0.3 mm pencil to use for writing, especially small tiny notes for my pocket book.

5/5 stars; hily rekmndd pencil!
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This is a superb pencil...., January 23, 2012
By bta...
This is a superb pencil. It has a great finish and width, but is compact at less than 5 1/8 inches long. The construction is solid and with great attention to not making it so heavy that it is fatiguing to use. The grip is very good with its ribbing and choice of material finishing that is not slippery. If there is one thing about the design it is that it is so round that even with its clip it is prone to rolling. Be sure that it doesn't roll off your desk. Overall a great value and a great pencil. Thanks JetPens.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  A while back I bought..., January 13, 2011
A while back I bought a bunch of drafting pencils from Jet Pens. I bought a Steadtler, an Ohto and this Platinum. I only wanted top-of-the-line pencils and I must say after much use I like this one the best. The Platinum has an excellent combination of design, materials and weight that put it way ahead of the other pencils I bought. The grip area has a nice ribbing on it and is large in diameter compared to most pencils I have tried. The large grip suits my hands well. The mechanism works smoothly and the lead capacity is good. This is the pencil I take everywhere with me and is constantly in use for sketching and note taking. I would highly recommend this pencil!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  The Klaatu pencil. Fairly..., March 7, 2014
The Klaatu pencil. Fairly light weight for its size, it nevertheless exudes an aura of quality. The 'snick-snick' sound of the lead advance has me playing with it far more than is healthy.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I find theses pencils..., September 6, 2012
By reg...
I find theses pencils (both the 0.5 and 0.7 sizes) to be excellent, as they combine great functionality with beautiful design. Each "feature", rather than being added on to a "base" pencil, is expressed naturally as an integrated part of it's original design. Things, such as the ribbed grip and rounded pocket clip, are part of the natural flow of the pencil body. In this way, it reminds me somewhat of the MacBook Pro "unibody" design: great functionality is created as a natural result of a unified design, making the device a pleasure to use.

Originally, I thought the thinner Platinum I pencils would suit me better, but I soon found that I actually prefer the Platinum II pencils (I have used both). The larger grip size and more refined design make it easier and more pleasurable (for me) to use. The only thing that I have yet to decide upon is which lead size and hardness I want for daily use. I like the Uni NanoDia leads and now use the 0.7-B (which is dark enough, but has a somewhat thick line). I've just ordered (but haven't yet received) a set of Uni NanoDia 0.5-B to 0.5-4B leads (from JetPens). I'm hoping that one of these will achieve a thinner, yet dark line, without too much smearing (my ultimate lead ;-).

I know it's "just a pencil", but it feels more like a piece of art that you can hold in your hands, making a common-place task, like writing on paper, more enjoyable.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This is a great writing..., July 28, 2010
By cap...
This is a great writing instrument. I like the wide grip, weight and balance. The balance is similar to my rotring, but a lot lighter. I would recommend this.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Bought it and a pen version..., July 23, 2010
By ctc...
Bought it and a pen version also. Has a very nice feel especially for a non gel type grip. Somehow the barrel feels soft to me, weird in a good way. I am hoping they will come out with a 0.9.
  this is my favorite pencil..., May 3, 2012
this is my favorite pencil to date. Its heave and well built. the action is smooth. I bout three other pencils when I got this one but none compair.
  Excellent pencil. Now..., December 25, 2008
Excellent pencil. Now among one of favorites in my collection.
However the eraser cap becomes loose sometimes.
Nice Al. Body and perfect weight !!
  Probably the best pencil..., February 4, 2008
Probably the best pencil I've ever used! Normally I prefer 0.5, but I gave this one a try. The blue lead indicator is cool. The design of the pencil is excellent. Everything about this pencil is awesome.

Overall, I would recommend this pencil to everyone!
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I bought this drafting..., July 9, 2011
I bought this drafting pencil to use red lead in it. It does not work well with the red lead that I bought. The lead keeps breaking in the pen. It may work fine with regular lead. I had to stop using it.
If you buy this pen to use anything other than regular lead I would not recomend it.