JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (12 customer reviews)
Write Review
June 7, 2008
Wow! I have used dozens...
Verified Purchase
Wow! I have used dozens of so=called top pencils and I think I have found the best one so far. I always look for better pencils, pens etc....its an on going thing :) and I gotto tell you that this pencil just feels so good in my hand ...it has these grooves that make a perfect grip, and the pencil is not too long which is perfect. I was skeptical at first to buy a pencil that is thicker than most of my pencils but now I'm very glad I did as it fits perfectly in my hand. I use this pencil for drawing and will but more of them to use with other color eno pencil refills sold on this site also.

Generally I prefer retractable pencils but since this is 0.7 mm the tip is very sturdy and does not feel like it would stick me if I have it in my shirt pocket.

I recommend using no less than 0.7 mm color refills as anything less than than and the refill easily cracks as it is not true graphite.

I may also get me a 0.3 mm pencil to use for writing, especially small tiny notes for my pocket book.

5/5 stars; hily rekmndd pencil!

3 people found this helpful
 
January 23, 2012
This is a superb pencil....
Verified Purchase
This is a superb pencil. It has a great finish and width, but is compact at less than 5 1/8 inches long. The construction is solid and with great attention to not making it so heavy that it is fatiguing to use. The grip is very good with its ribbing and choice of material finishing that is not slippery. If there is one thing about the design it is that it is so round that even with its clip it is prone to rolling. Be sure that it doesn't roll off your desk. Overall a great value and a great pencil. Thanks JetPens.

2 people found this helpful
 
January 13, 2011
A while back I bought...
Verified Purchase
A while back I bought a bunch of drafting pencils from Jet Pens. I bought a Steadtler, an Ohto and this Platinum. I only wanted top-of-the-line pencils and I must say after much use I like this one the best. The Platinum has an excellent combination of design, materials and weight that put it way ahead of the other pencils I bought. The grip area has a nice ribbing on it and is large in diameter compared to most pencils I have tried. The large grip suits my hands well. The mechanism works smoothly and the lead capacity is good. This is the pencil I take everywhere with me and is constantly in use for sketching and note taking. I would highly recommend this pencil!

2 people found this helpful
benroberts
 
March 7, 2014
The Klaatu pencil. Fairly...
Verified Purchase
The Klaatu pencil. Fairly light weight for its size, it nevertheless exudes an aura of quality. The 'snick-snick' sound of the lead advance has me playing with it far more than is healthy.

1 person found this helpful
flatulent1
 
September 6, 2012
I find theses pencils...
Verified Purchase
I find theses pencils (both the 0.5 and 0.7 sizes) to be excellent, as they combine great functionality with beautiful design. Each "feature", rather than being added on to a "base" pencil, is expressed naturally as an integrated part of it's original design. Things, such as the ribbed grip and rounded pocket clip, are part of the natural flow of the pencil body. In this way, it reminds me somewhat of the MacBook Pro "unibody" design: great functionality is created as a natural result of a unified design, making the device a pleasure to use.

Originally, I thought the thinner Platinum I pencils would suit me better, but I soon found that I actually prefer the Platinum II pencils (I have used both). The larger grip size and more refined design make it easier and more pleasurable (for me) to use. The only thing that I have yet to decide upon is which lead size and hardness I want for daily use. I like the Uni NanoDia leads and now use the 0.7-B (which is dark enough, but has a somewhat thick line). I've just ordered (but haven't yet received) a set of Uni NanoDia 0.5-B to 0.5-4B leads (from JetPens). I'm hoping that one of these will achieve a thinner, yet dark line, without too much smearing (my ultimate lead ;-).

I know it's "just a pencil", but it feels more like a piece of art that you can hold in your hands, making a common-place task, like writing on paper, more enjoyable.

1 person found this helpful
 
July 28, 2010
This is a great writing...
Verified Purchase
This is a great writing instrument. I like the wide grip, weight and balance. The balance is similar to my rotring, but a lot lighter. I would recommend this.

1 person found this helpful
 
July 23, 2010
Bought it and a pen version...
Verified Purchase
Bought it and a pen version also. Has a very nice feel especially for a non gel type grip. Somehow the barrel feels soft to me, weird in a good way. I am hoping they will come out with a 0.9.

1 person found this helpful
ctcharger
 
December 11, 2014
This is a superb pencil....
Verified Purchase
This is a superb pencil. And I most proud of myself for purchasing it! It looks great and has great balance and initial lead choice is very complimentary.

If I lost or damaged this MP I would purchase a replacement.

 
May 3, 2012
this is my favorite pencil...
Verified Purchase
this is my favorite pencil to date. Its heave and well built. the action is smooth. I bout three other pencils when I got this one but none compair.

l_whitworth10
 
December 25, 2008
Excellent pencil. Now...
Verified Purchase
Excellent pencil. Now among one of favorites in my collection.
However the eraser cap becomes loose sometimes.
Nice Al. Body and perfect weight !!

siddharth_sk