JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.1 (9 customer reviews)
Write Review
September 20, 2010
Question: Are the people...
Question: Are the people who are reviewing using the Rikagaku Dustless Chalk for this holder? Or are you using standard chalk? It would probably slide if you are not using the chalk that the holder was made for.

3 people found this helpful
 
June 13, 2012
I don't know why anyone...
Verified Purchase
I don't know why anyone would give this product a bad review. I've been using it for over 6 months and I just love it. I write so much better with it, it's easy to use, and holds the chalk extremely well (I use the same brand of chalk). I highly recommend this product.

1 person found this helpful
 
October 16, 2011
EXCELLANT holder. Works...
Verified Purchase
EXCELLANT holder. Works perfectly if you use the Rikagaku chalk. I find using the holder my writing is much clearer and neater. I highly recommend this holder, and don't know why other people were complaining about it other than possibly they were trying to use different chalk in it.

2 people found this helpful
 
February 20, 2013
I have it for a few years,...
Verified Purchase
I have it for a few years, proud owner of the best chalk holder. It is my only tool for sketching murals on the wall. It is very comfortable, dustless, neat, strong, sticks to the ladder (magnet), love it.

 
September 3, 2012
When used with the japanese...
Verified Purchase
When used with the japanese sized chalk this works wonderfully. The magnet is perfect for keeping it on the fridge or whatever magnetic surface is close to a chalkboard. I use it for grocery lists and a "what's for dinner" sign in the kitchen.

perkidanman
 
March 9, 2013
I love this product and...
Verified Purchase
I love this product and am so happy that I decided to purchase it! When I received it in the mail, it was actually bigger than I had imagined it would be, but that was a good thing! The chalk inside is definitely better quality than your "run of the mill" American made chalk and is certainly a different size. The diameter of these chalks are about 1.5 times larger than standard chalk (approximately), which helps to keep the chalk from snapping in half in the middle of your lecture. The chalk holder also helps prevent the previously mentioned problem as well! This product, when used in conjunction with the chalk that was designed for it, is an absolute must for any teacher, lecturer, or tutor who still has to use chalk boards. The only *comment* that I have is about the chalk advance button at the top - it is not like a mechanical pencil that dispenses out a given amount of chalk with each push, but is spring loaded and can shoot out really fast if one isn't holding it in the right orientation.

On another note, as previous people have mentioned and the description of the product says, the company that makes these is absolutely amazing. The company is built on a solid business model that promotes environmental responsibility and, more importantly, equal opportunity. To be honest, the fact that the majority of employees in this company are mentally disabled was the major selling point for me. I wanted to give my money to a business that actually cares about its employees and helps provide challenged individuals with an opportunity to feel validated and important in society.
Buy this product, not just because its great, but also because the company that makes it is great as well!

jacobkleroux
 
February 20, 2010
I have not had the sliding...
Verified Purchase
I have not had the sliding issue mentioned by previous users, likely because I am only a light user of chalk as I use it to jot down reminders, to dos, etc. I really like this holder- it's cute and has a magnetic strip which is really functional as I just stick it on my chalkboard when not in use. The push mechanism pops out the chalk really well. I took off one star as this does not fit the standard 3/8 in size chalk- but then it is meant for Japanese standard sizes... I just placed an order for another one to use w/ colored chalk.

 
September 24, 2009
It is not worth at all:...
Verified Purchase
It is not worth at all: useless due to lack of grip. The four plastic (no metal) chucks do not have enough stregth to hold fast the chalk, so it slips inside. So holder is just... holder for carrying.

 
December 4, 2009
This is not a good product....
Verified Purchase
This is not a good product. The grips don't "grip" the chalk very well and the chalk can slip down the shaft. The only good thing is that when you hit the back button the spring will effectively shoot the chalk back up. But you have to stop to hit the button. If you are careful and write slowly then this won't happen. It can be useful dealing with the chalk nubs so you can use more of the chalk. But I only use it when I don't have much of the stick of chalk left. Also, it is rather large and my hand gets tired after an hour lecture. If you are not careful it can make that screeching sound when writing. Not very fun to operate and not really useful in a class setting.

This Product
Rikagaku Dustless Chalk Holder - RIKAGAKU DC-CH
$7.50