My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (8 customer reviews)
Write Review
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I absolutely adore the..., September 26, 2011
I absolutely adore the color of this ink, but I'm worried it might be doing bad things to my pen.

After having the ink in my pen for a few weeks, I've noticed weird crystal things growing on the underside of the feed and nib. If that's going on on the outside of the pen, what might be happening internally? It does seem to be clogging up, and this is a pen that hardly ever clogs. I've never seen crystallization like this from any other ink I've used.

The color, as other reviewers have stated, is really amazing and has the most shading of almost any ink I've used. I would love to continue using it, but at this point I'm too concerned to put it in any pen that cost more than about five dollars.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  It'll grow on you like..., April 5, 2012
By rro...
It'll grow on you like a fungus... :-)

When I initially tried this, it was honestly just so I'd have the chance to say, "Wow, what a hideous ink!" But, the longer I used it, the more and more it grew on me. Two years (and at least 2 bottles) later, it's earned a permanent spot in my rotation, and it's become a favorite! Like others have commented, it's got terrific shading properties, and it's pretty well-behaved (which, in my case as a lefty overwriter, is a must)! It's got a mild-enough formula that it's safe to use with vintage pens, too. I've got it loaded in a Sheaffer's PFM II right now!
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I don't favor green inks..., August 20, 2011
By gra...
I don't favor green inks at all, but this is my ALL TIME FAVORITE. It's a must have. It's like having two inks in one. Each line drawn with this ink has a lot of shading to it. It has character. Simply marvelous.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  This is one of the most..., August 19, 2011
By gra...
This is one of the most incredible fountain pen inks ever. Its like having two colors in one -- that's how much shading there is to it. I don't even favor green ink, but this is the best of all inks. I highly recommend it.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  A gorgeously rich, WARM..., November 1, 2011
By thi...
A gorgeously rich, WARM green ink with golden undertones. Vibrant and "healthy" looking is what comes to mind. Bright, but not blinding---you can write with this in a notebook and still be able to read it without killing your eyes. How to describe it? The color 'pops', but sinks into the paper at the same time...so it balances out.

Ink is relatively dry-flowing, and I've been using it in my Ohto F-lapa (F nib) with no problems so far. I'm pretty sure if I flush the pen and converter between uses it should be all right.

There is shading in this ink, even in a fine nib. When I print words, the upper half of the letters is usually a lighter shade of green than the bottom. The closest color I can say is...hmm...the light parts are like fresh willow leaves in early spring (yellowish-green but still GREEN), while the darker parts are very close to the green color shown on the bottle labeling (would you call that...a kind of light pine/foresty green?). Compared to J. Herbin's Olive green, it's definitely a darker, more subdued green...just the way I like it.

All in all, a wonderful ink (if you don't mind that it's drier than others, though I've yet to try it in another fountain pen). If the rest of R & K's colors are this bright, I might consider buying more! Royal Blue and Salix are definitely on my list of consideration, and Scabiosa too---as soon as I find a nice experimental pen to try it out with, since it's an iron-gall ink.

Incidentally, I also loved Kaweco cartridge inks, and that's another German company...German companies really do good jobs with their fountain pen inks~
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Yes, is true, this ink..., September 9, 2011
By pie...
Yes, is true, this ink is really a never seen before.
  This review addresses..., December 17, 2013
By mse...
This review addresses crystallization mentioned by other reviewer: crystallized salts may form when this ink is exposed to air. If you use a fountain pen with a poor-sealing cap, or are dipping a nib and then letting it sit out, the water in the ink will evaporate and leave the crystals. The inside of your pen should be fine since it is not exposed to the air. Rinsing your pen's tip with water should remove the crystals easily. If you're wondering about iron gall inks (IGIs), only two of the 18 colours offered in this line are IGIs: Scabiosa and Salix. IGIs have been used since the middle ages, so be sure to buy those two when JetPens restocks them -- you will be making history of your own! =)
  What an amazing color!..., December 14, 2013
By jds...
What an amazing color! Great shading, well-behaved in all of my pens from extra fine nibs to Pelikan Oblique Triple Bold.