My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.9 (10 customer reviews)
Write Review
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  this pencil is one of..., April 15, 2011
this pencil is one of my favorites, it's great.
the only thing i don't like is that the black grip seems to catch everything on it (dust, lint, skin particles). I'm sure all metal gripped drafting pencils do this but it's slightly irksome seeing a "dirty" pencil grip all the time. It's no big deal though, and shouldn't hold you back from getting this great pencil.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  This pencil is great..., April 2, 2011
By cra...
This pencil is great for precise writing (ex. writing on beakers for chem labs). I wish the grip was a little bit bigger but that is probably because i have large hands (i can palm a basketball easily). The plastic seems to be durable and i hope so as the grip is attached to the barrel with plastic threads :S Even though i do not use the lead grade indicator i would like to point out that it moves easily and i don't feel like it is high quality.

Overall i think that this pencil is 4 stars because for 3 dollars more you can have a Staedtler 925 25 03 which is an all metal body and bigger grip. It will however be heavier which may not be what you want.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  As expected, this one..., March 26, 2011
As expected, this one is drastically lighter than its brass cousin, the Rotring 600. It uses what appears to be the same nosepiece, eraser cap, and clip, but I'm not 100% certain anything else is shared between the two ranges. Granted, the examples I own are of a different lead diameter, but the advance mechanisms still feel substantially different. It might simply be the resonant characteristics of plastic versus brass, it's hard to say. It's still a high-end feeling and well worth its price point, though. It certainly doesn't appear to sacrifice anything in terms of overall quality of manufacture in the apparent step down from its lofty metallic brethren, but it definitely has a different character simply by its lesser mass. It's no 600, but it is a solid 500, and it's half the price. Go for it.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
   The Rotring 500..., November 4, 2011
The Rotring 500 is an excellent Drafting pencil for drafters. The lead indicator holds firmly, ( Unless you use it frequently, as the friction will loosen the indicator.) Obviously, as the 4mm lead sleeve is very fragile, extreme care is required, or else a little drop will ruin your pencil. The factory lead is nice & dark, wears fairly nice, and doesn't smudge (Great if you're a lefty). If you're going to bring the Rotring 500 to a public place, don't flash your pencil to other people, unless you do want attention from people( " peasants " ) using cheap mechanical pencils. The looks of the 500 & the 600 is very similar in the design. The Rotring 500's eraser works decently, however as with most drafting pencils, the erasers are for well... minuscule mistakes, not for erasing an entire essay, or paragraph; for those duties, I use separate block erasers.

One negative/annoying feature of the Rotring 500 , as "henrylouis16" stated, is that the grip of the Rotring 500 seems to attract particles. ex. Skin cells, dirt, eraser shreds, etc. The particles will make your Rotring 500 a little bit dirty, however the grip has good traction and isn't rough, unlike other knurled grip that makes your fingers hurt after hours of use.

The weight of the Rotring 500 isn't heavy , but it is pretty substantial, especially when you compare the weight to the Pentel Graph 1000 for pro,(which is a feather compared to Rotring 500). If you do want something heavier, I'd recommend the Staedtler 925-03, Rotring 600, & Pentel Graph Gear 1000 .

If you want something durable, reliable, fancy, entertaining to stare at when you're bored,and are willing to take care of your Rotring 500, I'd highly recommend the Rotring 500. If you're looking for something cheap, extremely expensive, light, very heavy, jewelry, or easily breakable, then I'd not recommend the Rotring 500. That being said, the tip is still fragile, and needs some care.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I own a wide variety..., April 3, 2011
By her...
I own a wide variety of mechanical pencils, many found here at Jetpens as a matter of fact, and some found elsewhere. This Rotring 500 design is among my top 2 favorites. The other is a Pentel design not found here. 'Nuff said.
  Exactly what I paid for,..., April 12, 2012
By jko...
Exactly what I paid for, and more. I heard this was just like the type 600, only sacrificing the metal tube for one of high-quality, light-weight plastic. It has the perfect weight, a good feel, and a simple, yet attractive design.

For half the price of the famous type 600, this is a must-buy.

* Be sure to buy eraser refills. They're tiny.
  This is the greatest..., June 12, 2011
This is the greatest pencil. I have used it and dropped it and it still works properly. It is extremely durable. If you want this pencil totally buy it!
  Awesome!..., March 3, 2011
Awesome!
  Great Pencil. Perfect..., February 9, 2011
Great Pencil. Perfect Balance of weight for a comfortable writing experience, couple that with a solid lead advance mechanism, quality grip and SOLID construction and you have a 5 star pencil right here.
  Besides the reliable..., February 3, 2011
By dsrl91
Besides the reliable and fast service jetpens always offers, this pencil arrived with the rest of my order today.
It's simply amazing. I've been through quite a lot of mechanical pencils in the years but so far I think I'll be working with this one (and its younger brother the rotring 600 when it becomes available) for the longest. The grip feels right and the weight isn't too heavy since it's made of plastic and each end is made with metal. :) Everything feels very solid and with the .3mm size, it's perfect with fine detail. I use it for drawing artwork rather than actual drafting.