JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (17 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 14, 2011
I've only had this pencil...
Verified Purchase
I've only had this pencil for a few days,
but I am already absolutely in love with it!
At fifteen dollars, and perhaps having a previous reviewer's comment in mind,
I thought this pencil would look and feel cheap in person.
However, what I experienced is that the pencil feels great
and vastly more expensive than the asking price.
Moreover, I think it has plenty of weight to it.
I must admit that when I received it, I kept checking the label disbelievingly
to see if they sent me the 600 or 800 by mistake because the material feels like metal.
In terms of design, the rotring series is unparalleled.

7 people found this helpful
jorge.math.basilio
 
February 4, 2011
For being the little...
Verified Purchase
For being the little brother to the Rotring 600, this pencil leaves nothing to be desired. Everything is identical with the exception of the weight, and even still it's not a huge difference. The pencil gives off this aura of fine german engineering, it's just plastic instead of metal. They may have used a cheaper material but they didn't skimp on the fitting. No rattling, no bending, 100% solid feel while writing. And I just love the very visible tip of the Rotrings. This is probably one of the best pencils available in terms of quality and engineering.

6 people found this helpful
ericjwilliams
 
January 14, 2012
This is a fantastic value....
Verified Purchase
This is a fantastic value. I have the Rotring 600, and I actually prefer the 500. It is lighter, yes, but I find the plastic barrel more comfortable in the hand. This is a solid pencil and I highly recommend it.

4 people found this helpful
 
December 29, 2011
i just got this pencil...
Verified Purchase
i just got this pencil a couple of days ago, and i gotta say im loving it, im an artist and functionality along with style is a must, and this has both.

3 people found this helpful
 
August 25, 2011
I bought this pen on...
Verified Purchase
I bought this pen on a recommendation and I must say the more I use it the more I am pleased with this purchase. It sits well in the hand, consistently draws and writes well on all surfaces and is weighted well for long writing and/or drawing sessions.

If it came in another colour, I'd buy another.

3 people found this helpful
parsifalsSister
 
November 13, 2014
Precision and comfort...
Verified Purchase
Precision and comfort wrapped into a simple, tasteful piece of engineering. I am very happy with this pen.

 
October 28, 2014
Overall a good pencil...
Verified Purchase
Overall a good pencil although much smaller than I'd hoped

 
August 10, 2014
I feel uncomfortable...
Verified Purchase
I feel uncomfortable buying a pencil that costs more than $20 when I intend on really using it. That prevents the Rotring 600 from being an edc option for me. Thankfully, the Rotring 500 exists. Everything that you touch on this pencil is made of metal. The mechanism is metal, and the knurled metal grip is very comfortable and secure. Clicking the Rotring 500's mechanism requires more travel than most other mechanical pencils, but it is solid, feels good, and is very satisfying. Lead is held securely by a 3-jawed brass clutch. The black finish is fantastic and pictures don't do it justice. The clip is sturdy and secure, but removing it makes the pencil look funny. Thankfully, I like having a clip on my pencil. The hexagonal body is wider than the grip, unlike the Pentel Graphgear 500, which keeps the pencil from rolling away. I prefer clicking lead indicators, but the lead indicator on the Rotring 500 is secure and clean looking. It looks great paired with its twin, the Koh-I-Noor Rapidomatic.

One note: The eraser cap pictured has the lead diameter imprinted on it, but the cap on the pencil I received has a hole instead of an imprint. I like both styles of cap, but not everyone feels the same.

derekverbrugge
 
June 21, 2014
This model does not come...
Verified Purchase
This model does not come with the all-metal,brass body, such as that on the Rotring 600,800, and, 800+ models. However, this pencil is not cheap feeling at all and still has a good weight. Originally, I actually bought the 800 model but returned it because it was too heavy. After I bought this one I was alot happier, and although it is not considered the top of the line, it still is a very respectable drafting mechanical pencil and worth every dollar.

 
July 3, 2013
This is easily the best...
Verified Purchase
This is easily the best pencil that I have used thus far. It's quite versatile, while remaining in a comfortable price range. I first wrote with this in march of 2012, and it has remained in my pocket every day since. I use this for fine writing in notebooks and sketching alike, it stands up to both tasks easily. The only downside it that, if you plan to pocket it- the metal nib is a tad flimsy. About two months after I got it, a work accident rendered the nib bent- after a few minutes of trying to bend it back and attempting to get the graphite to feed through, I decided that it was dead. In a last act of desperation, I snapped the nib off; it turns out that was the best thing that I could have done, even after this (and a few more years) the pencil still writes perfectly.