Page 1 of 2 |  | 
I meant to say that The...
October 27, 2011
I meant to say that The platinum pro-use II looks much thicker than my rotring's grip, which I why I just ordered one. But still I really enjoy the look and feel of the silver .35 rotring.
1 person found this helpful
bboyjuice
The 600 is an excellent...
March 23, 2015
The 600 is an excellent pencil, good balance, nice weight because it's made entirely of metal, unlike the the plastic barreled 500 which is constructed entirely different than the 600, which is why it cost less. The only think that the 2 have in common is how they look and the fact that they both have a knurled metal grip. And that is why I give the black 600 (and the 500 for that matter) only 5 stars. While Like the look of the all black 600 I do not like the black grip. The knurling is very good but the black colorshows every light colored dust and debris including skin from your fingers. Plus constant use and cleaning wears the tips of the knurling causing the grip to null even more. Over time the grip dulls and turns grey. The silver 600 also collects the same stuff it can be easily cleaned and restored to its original glory. So for this reason I give the black 600 only 4 stars
hartzog2000
A lovely hefty pencil....
March 11, 2015
Verified Purchase
A lovely hefty pencil. My go-to when making small sketches to ink later. The lead is nice and thin but not so much that it breaks easily.
the rotring 600 is one...
November 23, 2014
Verified Purchase
the rotring 600 is one of the best pencils I've ever had. it has a look and feel unlike any other drafting pencil I've tried. sure it's a bit on the pricey side, but you're paying for the professional quality. the only thing that i don't like is the hole at the top of the knock button that shows off the eraser. it's not a big problem for me, but i figured you should know.
loydgarmadon1
Absolutely in love. I...
March 25, 2014
Verified Purchase
Absolutely in love. I bought this to do organic chemistry problem sets and other problems, and I LOVE it. Took the advice and got the 2B lead, I couldn't be happier. Well worth the outlay.
ian.malnis
Higher end of the scale...
March 11, 2014
Verified Purchase
Higher end of the scale in terms of weight, quality, and of course most notably the price. It has been a great addition to my collection. I own the .35mm and .5 black variants.
This pencil delivers...
February 10, 2014
Verified Purchase
This pencil delivers all that's needed in a mechanical pencil, ONLY what's needed, and it takes every little detail to perfection. From tip to cap:

- The lead sleeve is sturdy and perfectly visible at all times;
- In conjunction with Pentel's high quality lead, the precise mechanism and sleeve hold the lead well, do not wobble or shear the lead and allow fine writing with spectacular endurance*;
- The mechanism is not clicky (to my slight disappointment) but it is very tactile and precise;
- The knurled grip completely eliminates slip without being biting or grating**;
- The lead sleeve and grip assembly is replaceable, so this pencil will follow you for life even if you manage to jam it or break the sturdy lead sleeve;
- The hexagonal body is stylish and practical in that it keeps the pencil from rolling;
- The clip is low-profile, bendable yet strong;
- The lead grade indicator has just the right amount of friction so it's easy to set and won't drift away;
- The cap fits between the barrel and the body using a simple yet ingenious little protruding strip of metal that bends when you insert the cap.

I used 0.9mm for over 5 years and decided to take a big plunge into extra-fine writing. I am SO GLAD I did. This pencil, in combination with the lead I chose, Pentel Ain Stein 0.3mm B grade, smoothly creates dark, crisp, smudge-resistant lines. It is truly writing paradise.

*: With 0.8mm of lead extended (two clicks), I apply as much pressure as I used to on 0.9mm and it doesn't even come close to breaking. I had my dad try it, he who is used to writing huge letters in wooden pencils which are practically indestructible in comparison to mechanical pencil lead, and he had no issues at all. I can write very legible text with a full centimeter of lead extended (!!!!!) while most people I know use cheapass 0.5mm lead and a dollar pencil and their leads are exploding constantly. Sucks to be them!

** A little trick for picking up little specks of dust from the grip is to use a soft eraser and just press it against the area where a speck of dust got stuck, without rubbing (rubbing intently with your finger or an eraser will make it worse). The dust will adhere to the eraser and you can keep your grip nice and black. Wipe your eraser and repeat as needed.
azureflash
Best pen ever! Far superiour...
August 12, 2013
Verified Purchase
Best pen ever! Far superiour to the Pentel Graphgear series. I've tried all kinds of versions of them and this is playing in it's own league.
victorsundin
Excellent in all ways....
April 19, 2013
Verified Purchase
Excellent in all ways. I'll list my shortcomings:

1. Thin lead like this breaks easily and wears quickly, so I switched from Rotring HB lead, to Ain Stein 2B. While it is softer and still wears quickly, the darker line means I don't have to apply as much pressure, and so the lead doesn't break nearly as often. I'd recommend a 2B lead for this thickness.

2. As with the other Rotring 600's, the weight balance is neutral, and I prefer more weight near the tip. But this is a matter of preference.

3. I'm always afraid I'll damage the tip.
mptokayer
This drafting pencil...
October 7, 2012
Verified Purchase
This drafting pencil truly lives up to it's hype. It fits comfortably in my hands and has a nice feel to it. It's heavy and solid, but very well balanced. I'm heavy-handed and I grip my pencils firmly (almost with an iron grip!) when I write or draw. I've been looking to break this habit, and surprisingly enough, the weight of this drafting pencil combats that perfectly. I've only been using it for a few days since I got it, but I now write and draw with a lighter hand, as the weighted pencil does the work for me! The tip is strong, and it glides smoothly across the paper. I haven't had any problems with lead breakage at all (due to being heavy-handed) so I'm extremely satisfied and am looking to invest in the other sizes in the future!
deadly-claris
Page 1 of 2 |  |