JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (52 customer reviews)
Write Review
June 19, 2011
Just got a new Rotring...
Just got a new Rotring 600 for Father's Day! I'm so excited to finally have one, but so scared to use it at the same time! Everything about the pencil is awesome; it's just that sleeve that is oh so fragile that has me watching every move with this pencil.

The weight is a little more than I'm used to with my other plastic barreled pencils, but I'm getting used to it. I absolutely love the metal knurled grip. The pencil is a little thinner than I thought it would be which is a bonus, because I love thin barreled pencils!

All in all this pencil takes the cake. Precision engineering and design, with a quality name.

It's a shame that all the good quality pencils are made and sold in other countries; and all the sloppy plastic crap is sold here in the U.S. I'm so glad Jetpens is there to bridge that gap for us American pen/pencil fanatics.

Keep up the good work JetPens!

16 people found this helpful
etherdonkey
 
March 1, 2011
Creates instant jealousy...
Verified Purchase
Creates instant jealousy from coworkers and fellow students. Holds lead firmly, and feels like it was made with the same precision and attention given to a rifle. Lead extension is solid and consistent, and makes me actually want to do my homework because I get to use it!

Only complaint is the eraser size, but i just carry around a Pentel click erase, and that takes care of that.

Also, i thought is pencil was bigger than it actually is. it's pretty small.

all that said i would buy it again in a heartbeat

12 people found this helpful
ryocoleman+jetpens
 
February 26, 2011
I just received my black...
Verified Purchase
I just received my black 600 today. I ordered it as soon as I noticed they were back in stock a few days ago. Just got it yesterday! Super fast shipping (I used the free standard).

As for the pencil itself, it's lovely. I disagree with those that said it was too heavy for extended writing and work. I just worked 5 hours of differential equations homework and it was a joy to use. Don't get me wrong, it's not a lightweight pencil, but it sits very comfortably in my hand. It's very solid, and I can just tell it's going to last me years.

I like the finish of the black. It's not smooth metal, it has almost a powdercoat feeling, a slightly rough matte feel. The grip is not overly-rough in my opinion. The points of the knurling are flat, and it feels solidly planted in my hand.

I use Pentel Ain High-Polymer lead in it (HB) and it performs flawlessly. Nice and dark and no breakage. It feeds nice, with a satisfying "snick" as the lead advances. The mechanism feels very solid, and advances consistently.

A quality pencil well worth the money. The only down side I can see would be the guide pipe possibly breaking (as others have said.) I am careful with my things, however, and this shouldn't be a problem.

6 people found this helpful
matthew.barousse
 
November 4, 2011
Oh my, this is an absolutely...
Verified Purchase
Oh my, this is an absolutely lovely pencil. Writing with it is pure joy. Really. It's weighted beautifully, it works like a dream. It feels amazing in the hand. It looks sharp. The only problem with the pen is that I'm paranoid about the tip. I leave it in my office and don't carry it with me very often because I would hate (HATE!) to have this tip damaged. I haven't been able to justify the expense of the 800 with a retractable tip yet, but I love this pencil so much that I suspect that at some point I will. Really, if you don't plan on carrying this around in your pocket all the time, you can't do better. This makes every other drafting pencil I have ever used seem like a toy in comparison.

5 people found this helpful
jasoncons
 
July 22, 2011
I just received it today...
Verified Purchase
I just received it today and its awesome. I LOVE how solid this pencil is. I don't need to press down to write because it weighs enough that I can just guide it.

4 people found this helpful
ofthesaved
 
January 16, 2014
Since the artists' POV...
Verified Purchase
Since the artists' POV seems underrepresented here, I'm throwing in my two cents!

As a comic book artist who does a lot of fine line work, both technical and organic, I'm always looking for solid drawing instruments. The Rotring 600 gave me a creative hard on at first sight. Elegant, yet not flashy, durable and well constructed, reliable in its mechanics: it's a wonderful piece. No annoying rattles, all the pieces seem perfectly machined. It has a solid click and dispenses an appropriate amount of lead. The finish is attractive to the eye and comfortable in the hand, and the knurled grip is just right for my taste.

It also feels like I could successfully use it to win a street fight.

All that being said, I can't use this pencil for real, daily work. It's just way too heavy. I'm no sissy, either - my usual work day involves 8-10 solid hours of drawing. The 600 made my hand cramp up after a mere 30 minutes. And with that lovely, substantial, weighty feeling, you loose the ability to achieve a lot of the fluid, whipping motion I often favor in my pencil work (it gives me a sort of recoil). As a practical daily tool, the 600 is not for me.

Despite it's drawbacks, I have to give it 4 stars. I love carrying it in my road kit to whip out at sketch parties, etc. People are always impressed with it. They don't have to know I never really use it!

1 person found this helpful
maxfuchs555
 
November 9, 2013
I've never given a five-star...
Verified Purchase
I've never given a five-star review, but this pencil deserves it.

This is the mechanical pencil you're looking for. I've tried many of JetPens' hundreds of mechanical pencils, and many of them have proven to be great, but none so great as the Rotring 600 -- even its retractable Rotring 800 doesn't match it.

The pencil is perfectly balanced at the middle of the barrel, and the grip at the bottom is fantastic. Personally, I prefer the matte black version, as the silver doesn't have the fantastic grip of the matte black. You can always buy a silver one and buy a separate black 0.5mm tip if that suits you! The grip placement is absolutely ideal.

The only caveat is the tip -- while it's extremely functional, watch out and make sure you don't drop it. I've dropped my 600 before, and it's never broken, but I know it is prone to snapping if dropped from the right height. Fortunately, JetPens sells replacement tips. It's a fantastic pencil, and if you take good care of it, it'll outlast you.

From sketching to detailed math/physics problem solving, this is the mechanical pencil that outperforms every other. I simply don't think it can be improved.

Finally, note that the 0.7mm and 0.35mm versions are the ideal pencils for those two lead sizes as well. While I personally prefer 0.5mm over both of those, choose whichever you prefer!

Do not hesitate -- this is the best mechanical pencil for any amount of money.

1 person found this helpful
 
February 26, 2012
pros: -sturdy construction ...
Verified Purchase
pros:
-sturdy construction
-not too flashy
-good grip
-no flexing
-smooth writing

cons:
-cost: If you don't need it for actual drafting, it might not be worth the money. It is definitely made out of better materials than some of the other pencils out there, but a good portion of the price you're paying is probably going towards importing it from Japan. I bought it for taking notes and doing homework, and while it's nice, I can't help but think that I would have been better off with the cheaper Staedtler 925-25 or another solid pencil.

1 person found this helpful
zhouzandy
 
March 22, 2011
This pencil is a tank....
Verified Purchase
This pencil is a tank. Its mass becomes more of an issue if I use it for sketching than for laying out lines with straightedges and such, because lively strokes will accelerate that mass to create momentum that can catch me by surprise. While the grip is grippy, enough acceleration can cause it to slip right out, which has happened a few times, thankfully not landing directly on the lead sleeve. I'm glad I bought them (couldn't decide between black and silver), and I'll probably have them forever, but I'm afraid their borderline unwieldy mass, coupled with their price, means I don't find myself using them very often compared to my lighter pencils. Consider this an emotional purchase- they're conversation pieces for sure.

2 people found this helpful
 
February 16, 2011
I have both the matte...
Verified Purchase
I have both the matte black and silver versions of the 0.5 mm Rotring 600 drafting pencil. I use them for technical drawing, mostly. Writing with these pencils is a pleasure, also. Some reviewers have posted some slight negatives about the weight / balance of this pencil. They might have a point, but I write with my silver model regularly, and I love the way it feels and handles. I use 2b lead when I am writing. In my opinion, hard lead with a heavy pencil is cumbersome for writing. So, the softer lead does the trick. But my primary use for these pencils is technical drawing, with drafting implements. In this application, the Rotring 600 is my favorite pencil, without a doubt. The balance is perfect for hand positions and pencil angles related to accurate drawing. Like another reviewer said, these pencils just might be the best model jetpens carries.

Rotring 600 drafting pencils make great gifts, even if the one receiving it doesn't own a drafting table.

Please restock. Thanks for the fair price, Jetpens. Others seem to gouge on the price for this pencil.

1 person found this helpful
toesandteeth