x
 | 11 - 20 of 74 |  | 
I have both the matte...
February 16, 2011
Verified Purchase
I have both the matte black and silver versions of the 0.5 mm Rotring 600 drafting pencil. I use them for technical drawing, mostly. Writing with these pencils is a pleasure, also. Some reviewers have posted some slight negatives about the weight / balance of this pencil. They might have a point, but I write with my silver model regularly, and I love the way it feels and handles. I use 2b lead when I am writing. In my opinion, hard lead with a heavy pencil is cumbersome for writing. So, the softer lead does the trick. But my primary use for these pencils is technical drawing, with drafting implements. In this application, the Rotring 600 is my favorite pencil, without a doubt. The balance is perfect for hand positions and pencil angles related to accurate drawing. Like another reviewer said, these pencils just might be the best model jetpens carries.

Rotring 600 drafting pencils make great gifts, even if the one receiving it doesn't own a drafting table.

Please restock. Thanks for the fair price, Jetpens. Others seem to gouge on the price for this pencil.
1 person found this helpful
toesandteeth
This is a great pencil....
January 25, 2011
This is a great pencil. I have it in .35mm (like public, mine is old). Will be getting the silver body.
1 person found this helpful
psycho_trackstar
Oh wow, I have one of...
December 14, 2010
Oh wow, I have one of these that's about 20 years old, I didn't know they were still made. Superb pencil. I still use mine. It attracts attention, at least from engineers -- a coworker even offered to buy it from me. Then he threatened to steal it. ;)

Weight is good, durability (and lifetime) is mostly excellent. Keep in mind the tip at the end is exposed so, while 95% of the pencil is absolutely bomb-proof, that last 5% is vulnerable to bending. For this reason my pencil sees more use at home than on the road.
1 person found this helpful
A quality instrument...
June 12, 2016
Verified Purchase
A quality instrument for technical applications.
I bought this as a replacement...
April 23, 2016
Verified Purchase
I bought this as a replacement; I had the same pencil but dropped it enough times that I had no hope of bending the lead sleeve back into true and it was an old enough model I wasn't sure a replacement tip would work. It's a great pencil. It's got a lot of heft, which I like, and there's not a lot of play in the lead. A good, solid, reliable pencil.
Melcentrica
This is THE mechanical...
March 28, 2016
Verified Purchase
This is THE mechanical pencil. Don't let the price tag scare you, its worth every penny. I was considering the 800, but after reading some reviews on it I decided to go with the original. The only problems I could see happening is the tip breaking from being dropped. But that's why there are replacement parts. Other than that, I just wouldn't lend it to anybody or you might not get it back...
davis_morgante
I loved the Rotring 600...
March 8, 2016
I loved the Rotring 600 as soon as I got it. It looks so classy in your hand, and I absolutely love the grip. This is easily one of the best pencils I have bought. However, there is one problem. The tip of the pencil is bent quite easily. Accidentally dropping it on the floor can result in the tip bending. This is what happened to me, and now the 0.7 lead is quite hard to fit in. I wish they made it retractable, which they did in the rotring 800. Overall, a joy of a pencil, with one small setback. Definitely recommend people to buy this.
Absolutely love this...
March 7, 2016
Verified Purchase
Absolutely love this pencil. I'm a college student, and all I do are math and chemistry problems. Being able to rely on the rotring 600 keeps my handwriting organized and neat. I never thought I would spend $30 on a pencil, but man was it worth it. Definitely would recommend this product to future customers. I have the black one, which is sleek, but not too flashy; so I feel it's less likely to get stolen. I use a separate eraser, so I haven't needed to buy replacements yet. The one on the pencil is handy in a jam, but it's not great for erasing big mistakes. Would recommend using it with a separate eraser.
jcarey217
I received this pencil...
January 25, 2016
I received this pencil as a gift for Christmas and quite love it. However, the pencil tip (the tiny metal part) is quite easy to bend and if the user is not careful, then they will break the pencil. I suggest opting for the version that has a retractable tip or 3D printing a tip cover as I have done.
Love this pencil, also...
January 6, 2016
Verified Purchase
Love this pencil, also own the 500 because I have a love/hate relationship with the weight of this pencil, depending on the day lol. Bent the tip the day I received it, cut it off after trying to straighten it, and filed the pencil to a point. It worked for over 2 years (I guess you could call it a "tactical pencil") until I recently ordered a replacement tip. I prefer the original tip over my make-shift one. Would definitely buy another if I were to lose it.
scharfschutzen
 | 11 - 20 of 74 |  |