JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (49 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 25, 2011
This is a great pencil....
This is a great pencil. I have it in .35mm (like public, mine is old). Will be getting the silver body.

1 person found this helpful
psycho_trackstar
 
December 14, 2010
Oh wow, I have one of...
Oh wow, I have one of these that's about 20 years old, I didn't know they were still made. Superb pencil. I still use mine. It attracts attention, at least from engineers -- a coworker even offered to buy it from me. Then he threatened to steal it. ;)

Weight is good, durability (and lifetime) is mostly excellent. Keep in mind the tip at the end is exposed so, while 95% of the pencil is absolutely bomb-proof, that last 5% is vulnerable to bending. For this reason my pencil sees more use at home than on the road.

1 person found this helpful
 
October 21, 2014
I used the cheaper plastic...
I used the cheaper plastic rotring versions of this pencil in engineering school. I went to University of TN and our bookstore had huge rotring inventories. I always envied these more expensive writing instruments but made do with the entry line ones I could afford at the time. Fast forward 13 years later, whew, I finally got the 600 and couldn't be more pleased. It is a joy to write, jot, look at, and draw with. It is so well balanced and smooth. I have used a number of drafting pencils through the years, I even own a Pilot H1005 VP (no it isn't for sale), and this pencil eclipses all. It truly is worth the 30 bucks to get this one. I love the solid black. I may get the silver 600 in the 0.35mm now haha!

 
October 20, 2014
I just bought this pencil...
I just bought this pencil from a local art store and at first I was a bit nervous buying a 33$ pencil just to accidentally drop it and have to buy a new tip or worse loose it. This nervousness was soon lost after actually holding it and feeling it and I immediately bought it.

So far its the best pencil i have ever had, second to this would have to have been my pentel sharp kenny but I lost that with my pencil case a while ago. Anyway its great the feel is amazing compared to any other pencil the glide is very good and the weight helps. If you were to be using it as an everyday pencil I would be a bit hesitant because it is fragile, not pocket friendly and is a bit expensive to replace.

Overall this pencil is great and definitely worth the price.

ScumClass
 
October 19, 2014
it was good until i dropped...
Verified Purchase
it was good until i dropped it and the tip bent

deadmaster10
 
June 4, 2014
Quite simply, the best...
Quite simply, the best writing utensil I have ever used. The firm brass makes it a pleasure to hold in your hand, the weight offers good support for writing as well. You can write better with this pencil than similar pencils using the same lead, it is that good.
The only reason it gets 4 stars instead of 5 is the tip. It isn't retractable, and so if you aren't careful (like me) your pencil will fall, and the tip will get bent. I used a multitool to bend it back a couple times, but after the third or fourth drop, the tip was done for. Thankfully, JetPens offers replacement tips, which are absolutely worth it.
TL;DR Fantastic pencil, just be sure to put it securely in a case so the tip doesn't break.

blackbird1464
 
March 11, 2014
Higher end of the scale...
Verified Purchase
Higher end of the scale in terms of weight, quality, and of course most notably the price. It has been a great addition to my collection. I own the .35mm and .5 black variants.

 
January 28, 2014
The Rotring 600 is my...
The Rotring 600 is my favorite of all the models. I found the 800 to be a little big and a little heavy for my liking, but still an extremely nice pencil. The Rapid Pro was very nice, but still a little too heavy for the volume of writing that I do. The first 500 I purchased was my favorite for many months and still gets used occasionally since it is nice and light weight, very cheap for the quality, and just the right grip circumference for me. The 600 is the perfect balance of weight, grip diameter, shape, and especially cap design/fitment for me. It sits weight-wise right in between the 500 and Rapid Pro. The grip diameter is similar to the 500, and still retains the octagonal upper body similar to a wood pencil. I recommend that anyone interested in a quality writing instrument for heavy daily use try the 600 or the 500 depending upon personal preference.

shanefish9
 
September 30, 2013
This is a pretty nice...
Verified Purchase
This is a pretty nice pencil. The weight is heavier than most, but i like it this way. It feels really sturdy in the hand, and makes writing more enjoyable.

The only disappointment I have is not with the pencil, but with jetpens. I was expecting the model they advertised, but i got an older one instead. The only difference is that i have more branding on mine. It has the text "rotring 600 / 0,5mm" instead of just 0.5. Its not that big of a problem, but having to pay so much for a pencil, I expected to at least get the right one.

plandapattipus
 
June 21, 2013
I am absolutely enamored...
I am absolutely enamored with this pencil. I work for an architecture firm, and this is my go-to writing tool. It's weight and precision are simply amazing. I look forward to taking notes, doing calcs, and sketching concepts simply because this pencil is such a joy to use. The engineering and quality are genuinely unmatched. I also own a Rotring 800, but prefer the slimmer profile of the 600. To the people concerned about the tip- It is a precision drafting tool, and the tip is an extension of that. To be upset with the fixed tip is missing the point of this pencil all together. HIGHLY recommend!

ngraves760