JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (25 customer reviews)
Write Review
December 8, 2011
Summary: Overall, I'm...
Verified Purchase
Summary:
Overall, I'm extremely satisfied with the Rotring 600. For my preferences, it hits all the right notes. If you're interested enough in your writing supplies to go a specialty website, then the extra bit of money is worth it for a practically heirloom quality pencil. Great construction, weight, and feel.

---

I've been using Pentel GraphGear 500 for the last three years at university, since the coating was starting to deteriorate, I upgraded to the GraphGear 1000 (GG1000). The GG1000 is a solid pencil, and I'm sure some people would prefer it, but I was somewhat dissatisfied. Aside from an old Staedtler Micro, these are the only drafting pencils I have for comparison.

The reasons that I bought the Rotring 600 and enjoy using it boil down to:
- Construction: The pencil is all metal and has a solid construction. If you want a pencil that you can give to your children, then the R600 will fulfill that role.
- Weight: The R600 is a comparatively heavy pencil, but since it's balanced, the weighty nature gives it a precise feel. It is meant to be a drafting pencil, not something that you would free-hand a 100 page monograph in. After using it for a while on physics notes and homework, the weight has become one of my favorite aspects of the pencil.
- Size: Since the R600 is all metal, the balance is very near the center. This feels just right to me, and despite it's weight, and makes it comfortable to hold. I like that the 600 is shorter (about a centimeter shorter than the GG 1000), but I have smaller hands.
- Grip Area: What I especially disliked the GG1000 for was the rubber pads inlaid in the grip, they felt cheap and out of place; I just wanted a pure metal grip area. The grip on the R600 is about a centimeter closer to the lead sleeve than the GG's, and feels more comfortable if you grip the pencil closer in. The grip area doesn't feel sharp or slippery -- about as comfortable metal can be.
- Aesthetic: Come on, the things the Excalibur of pencils. Sometimes I just look at it and think, "Damn."

The lead advance is the one thing that bothers me about the R600. Maybe it gets smoother in time, Maybe mines missed quality control, but it binds somewhat and is noticeably un-smooth. The length of the lead advance is about a millimeter I wish that it was like the GG1000 where it was the same as the lead diameter (0.5 mm).


9 people found this helpful
 
May 23, 2012
This precision-constructed...
Verified Purchase
This precision-constructed pencil has amazing balance, a solid mechanism with no play, and is altogether a pleasure to use for work and hobbies. The grip is perfect for me, with the knurling not too rough and a comfortable diameter, but -- judging from other reviews -- it clearly does not work for everyone. I think it might be cooler if it were made out of titanium, and if the entire mechanism were stainless, and if the tip were retractable, but at this price it's great! I machined a cap for it out of polycarbonate, just to make it pocket-friendly!

2 people found this helpful
 
February 17, 2012
I don't really have much...
Verified Purchase
I don't really have much else to say about this pencil besides the recurring flattery: solid metal construction, nicely distributed weighty feel, comfortable knurled grip and simple & clean design. I have to admit, I bought this pencil for its looks but it performs just as beautifully. I smile inside every time I pick it up. :-)

2 people found this helpful
beverlytuazon
 
October 5, 2011
I really wanted to like...
Verified Purchase
I really wanted to like this pencil but just could not stand the grip area which I found to be slippery even though it had not so abrasive grip area. I held it in hand for less than a minute and I knew I would not be able to use it due to the grip area. It has a nice heft and feels nice in hand with perfect length but the grip area is just not for me. If the pencil had same shape (octagonal) from top to all the way where the tip is, then it would be superb as I prefer pencils that are octagonal which itself makes them good grippers. But, there are few mechanical pencils at decent quality in that shape.

So, this pencil may be a 5 star if you do not mind the grip area, but that is not me (even though I tried) thus a 3 star from me, pure subjective.

In ending, I much more prefer the Platinum Pro-Use II 05 Drafting Pencil - 0.5 mm pencil found here on Jetpens. It has incredible groove grip area, all metal and is non-slippery. I had to get me another one and will get one more in the future for backup.


1 person found this helpful
dbajraktarevic
 
July 18, 2011
A precisely engineered...
A precisely engineered tool. Superlatives are required in any description. Pick this pencil up and you will understand. The heft, balance and appearance immediately convey the quality of design and materials needed to craft such an instrument. Too heavy for me to want to use all day every day but I really like having the right tool for the job. If you appreciate quality you will be extremely satisfied with this purchase.

1 person found this helpful
shanehenrycpa
 
March 4, 2011
If you do not want attention...
Verified Purchase
If you do not want attention from the peasants using cheap mechanical pencils, do not buy this. In my engineering classes and in the library, SOO many comments. The simplistic design and solid construction are next to none. Unreal little peice of engineering in my hand. I could think of way worse ways to spend $30. My pencil before this was an alvin draft-matic. Huge difference in quality. When I would spin the draftmatic with one hand on the tip, and the other on the eraser, I could definitly tell it was not spinning true. The rotring 600 is perfect in all aspects. It takes a little getting used to the weight distribution as the rotrings full body is metal, but its well worth it.

The only draw back is that jet pens does not stock .7mm. That is definitly my lead size of choice, but I can deal with .5 i suppose.

1 person found this helpful
 
October 27, 2014
Great feel in the hand,...
Verified Purchase
Great feel in the hand, weight makes it feel solid and well constructed. Knurling is just right for me, lead indicator stays put better than other pencils I have used.

 
October 25, 2014
It is worth every pe...
Verified Purchase
It is worth every penny.

 
April 23, 2013
Lots of people use qualifiers...
Lots of people use qualifiers in their reviews for this pencil such as "yeah, it's heavy, but it's not meant to be used for writing. It's a drafting pencil." It's definitely well-built, and some areas are solid brass. But it's prohibitively heavy. If the body and grip were a bit larger in diameter (like the Koh-I-Noor Rapidomatic) the weight would be more managable. It's just too thin and heavy to be usable, in my opinion.

It's a beautiful pencil and extremely well made, but it's too unwieldy to be used as a daily writing or drawing instrument. After using this pencil for 15 mins and then picking up another drafting pencil, you'll notice the difference in weight immediately. It's substantial.

The lead sleeve is also the weakest area of this pencil, being bested by the Pentel Graphgear series in quality. I really want to like the 600 series, but the weight keeps it off my list.

charlestonjohnebay
 
September 5, 2012
Feels great, nice weight...
Verified Purchase
Feels great, nice weight and great finish on the silver body. Order was processed quickly by JetPens.com , I would highly recommend if you are looking for a good mechanical drafting pencil.

joshdodge