JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.7 (25 customer reviews)
Write Review
May 30, 2011
For all you cheap #2...
Verified Purchase
For all you cheap #2 pencil pushers - please don't waste your time and go elswhere before dropping down your too hard earned $$$ on this fine writing instrument. Poor reviews come from those dissapointed geniuses whose expectations are never met in life.

Now that I said it, this is my 2nd #800. Worth every penny. Flawlessly executed, extremely comfortable, perfectly balanced - almost natural - extension of your hand. Give it a try and you will fall in love with it.

24 people found this helpful
adam.dabrowski
 
April 13, 2011
Solid all-metal body...
Solid all-metal body & most parts (one exception, for good reason) are metal - either anodized aluminum or highly polished brass. Clean lines, clean threading. Smooth & solid click feed advance mechanism. The clip might look like a piece of cheap tin in the photos, but it is thick & strong. The knurling on the grip and extension knob is more squarish (less of a diamond) but still good for grip without abrasion.

One great thing about this versus other retractables (like the Pentel Graphgear 1000 or the Ohto Super Promeca) is that it retracts far enough to allow room for a reasonable amount of lead to remain extended from the guide, but be protected inside the body. The result is not having to constantly fuss with retracting lead before retracting the guide, then re-feeding lead after extending the guide again. Very useful overall.

My only gripe : I wish it was available in 0.7mm (my favored lead size!).

16 people found this helpful
 
February 9, 2012
I own many different...
I own many different mechanical pencils and I am a collector. I wanted to give the rotring 800 a try and I bought the 2.0 and the 0.5mm version, both in black color.

I have to say that the mp is solid and comfortable to use, if you love heavy writing staff like I do. The weight helps a lot in using a low force to write and draw nice black lines.

Anyway I can’t give more than 3 stars. Not because of the price, but because of the retractable tip. I love the idea but not how they made it. The tip seems to have a little of play, not very stable like other rotrings that I own. In the beginning I thought that it was a problem of my 0.5 so I made a video and sent it to other rotring 800 users that I found searching in ebay feedbacks. Most of them told me that they have the same “problem”. This is not something that you will easily notice when you write or draw, but from a rotring I expected more “stability”.

I am more then happy with the 2.0mm version, but I really don’t suggest to buy the 800 0.5 unless you can try it. I will not return it because, as I said, I am a collector, but if I had to decide what MP to buy I would go for a rapid pro or a 600.

13 people found this helpful
vittoriovillani
 
January 26, 2012
Many years ago now, I...
Many years ago now, I had hand problems as a result of overuse of a computer keyboard, and it was during the resulting period of physical therapy that I rediscovered the joys of writing with pens, pencils, and fountain pens. Since every writing instrument seems to have a different feel and grip, I bought many, and found that by switching pencils I was able to write for very long periods without having any pain. I still own most of them.

I bought three Rotring mechanical pencils. A nonretractable, that is now the 600 version, the 800 version, and a very clever one (Rotring Trio) that allowed you to select between three sizes of lead (0.35, 0.5, and 0.7 mm) and also retracts the tip. For flexibility, the Trio is my favorite. If I am using only 0.5 mm lead, which is my most frequent choice, I prefer the 800 over the 600 because of the retractable tip and the quality feel of the mechanism. The 600 version sees very little use. I have over 20 mechanical/drafting pencils!

All of the Rotrings that I have, and I also have a ballpoint pen, have held up tremendously well. They are solid and hefty, and beautifully executed. Although they are heavy compared to other brandss, they do not tire my hand. I don't know if this is an issue of balance point or grip, but I can just comment that they are a joy to write with.

Over the past few years, with the poor dollar/Euro exchange, the price of Rotrings has gone up considerably. I am reasonably sure that I bought my 800 when it was under $40. We can hope for a better exchange rate. If you are on a budget, there are other pencils that are certainly enjoyable to use. If you want to indulge in something special, I would buy this pencil. The craftmanship and materials are both top-notch.

10 people found this helpful
 
May 30, 2011
As a architectural designer...
Verified Purchase
As a architectural designer and drafts person I have gone through quite a few sets of drafting pencils. I would have to say that is is the best one I have tried yet. It writes really nicely and the lines are really firm. The pen's steel casing is really polished. I have to say the it will be way worth my money as I am not prepared to change to another drafting pen any time soon

8 people found this helpful
 
July 12, 2011
This is the ultimate...
Verified Purchase
This is the ultimate 0.5mm pencil! I have owned just about all the others, and while many have been good, none have approached the "great" which this pencil represents. The advance/retract mechanism is smooth as silk, and the balance and weight of the 800 is absolutely perfect. Yes, I understand that the price is a bit above some other contenders, but no other pencil comes close in comparision.

6 people found this helpful
monteith22
 
December 6, 2012
For those that have had...
Verified Purchase
For those that have had problems with their pencil breaking make sure that you do NOT see screw threads at the top of the pencil below the retracting mechanism nub. I thought this was an esthetic part of the pencil, but I can see now on mine that it was shipped to me without being fully tightened, which probably led to the broken mechanism just from normal usage.

3 people found this helpful
 
December 6, 2012
This is an amazing pencil....
Verified Purchase
This is an amazing pencil. It writes great, it feels great, and the retractable mechanism is a great idea. Having said that I ordered mine 2 months ago and have been quite careful with it (it is an $80 pencil!). I even bought a pencil case and I put it back in there every time I'm finished. Today while writing with the internal mechanism for retracting the tip broke and now my favorite pencil is gone. I wasn't putting any more force on it than normal either.

To sum up, the pencil is a fantastic writing instrument, but it can break easily.

3 people found this helpful
 
January 26, 2012
Many years ago now, I...
Many years ago now, I had hand problems as a result of overuse of a computer keyboard, and it was during the resulting period of physical therapy that I rediscovered the joys of writing with pens, pencils, and fountain pens. Since every writing instrument seems to have a different feel and grip, I bought many, and found that by switching pencils I was able to write for very long periods without having any pain. I still own most of them.

I bought three Rotring mechanical pencils. A nonretractable, that is now the 600 version, the 800 version, and a very clever one (Rotring Trio) that allowed you to select between three sizes of lead (0.35, 0.5, and 0.7 mm) and also retracts the tip. For flexibility, the Trio is my favorite. If I am using only 0.5 mm lead, which is my most frequent choice, I prefer the 800 over the 600 because of the retractable tip and the quality feel of the mechanism. The 600 version sees very little use. I have over 20 mechanical/drafting pencils!

All of the Rotrings that I have, and I also have a ballpoint pen, have held up tremendously well. They are solid and hefty, and beautifully executed. Although they are heavy compared to other brands, they do not tire my hand. I don't know if this is an issue of balance point or grip, but I can just comment that they are a joy to write with.

Over the past few years, with the poor dollar/Euro exchange, the price of Rotrings has gone up considerably. I am reasonably sure that I bought my 800 when it was under $40. We can hope for a better exchange rate. If you are on a budget, there are other pencils that are certainly enjoyable to use. If you want to indulge in something special, I would buy this pencil. The craftmanship and materials are both top-notch.

3 people found this helpful
 
May 16, 2013
Grip is less grippy than...
Grip is less grippy than the Rapid Pro and far less grippy than the 600. It is the least grippy of all Rotring MP's.

There is a lot of play. Side to side, and up & down. When the mechanism is extended there is 2mm play before each lead click and when applying the eraser. It's annoying. there is also a bit of "flexibility" in the tip. It's just unstable. I was hoping for better tolerances and little to no flexion.

The twist to advance mechanism can easily be worn out or break. I have a similar mechanism on my manual typewriter, and when it wears out, it won't hold in the locked position. This mechanism feels the same, a sort of hook-spring. When the hook wears, the spring will push it back into the body. The difference is that I can file the hook on my typewriter, because I can access it by taking it apart. The 800 mechanism won't separate from the body as far as I can tell, so once that mechanism wears out or breaks catastrophically, the pencil will be unuseable. When that time comes, I'll do my best to figure out a fix for it, but I don't want to tamper with the pencil while it works just to see the internals.

2 people found this helpful
mptokayer