My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.7 (25 customer reviews)
Write Review
23 out of 28 people found the following review helpful
  For all you cheap #2..., May 30, 2011
By ada...
For all you cheap #2 pencil pushers - please don't waste your time and go elswhere before dropping down your too hard earned $$$ on this fine writing instrument. Poor reviews come from those dissapointed geniuses whose expectations are never met in life.

Now that I said it, this is my 2nd #800. Worth every penny. Flawlessly executed, extremely comfortable, perfectly balanced - almost natural - extension of your hand. Give it a try and you will fall in love with it.
16 out of 16 people found the following review helpful
  Solid all-metal body..., April 13, 2011
By mak...
Solid all-metal body & most parts (one exception, for good reason) are metal - either anodized aluminum or highly polished brass. Clean lines, clean threading. Smooth & solid click feed advance mechanism. The clip might look like a piece of cheap tin in the photos, but it is thick & strong. The knurling on the grip and extension knob is more squarish (less of a diamond) but still good for grip without abrasion.

One great thing about this versus other retractables (like the Pentel Graphgear 1000 or the Ohto Super Promeca) is that it retracts far enough to allow room for a reasonable amount of lead to remain extended from the guide, but be protected inside the body. The result is not having to constantly fuss with retracting lead before retracting the guide, then re-feeding lead after extending the guide again. Very useful overall.

My only gripe : I wish it was available in 0.7mm (my favored lead size!).
13 out of 15 people found the following review helpful
  I own many different..., February 9, 2012
By vit...
I own many different mechanical pencils and I am a collector. I wanted to give the rotring 800 a try and I bought the 2.0 and the 0.5mm version, both in black color.

I have to say that the mp is solid and comfortable to use, if you love heavy writing staff like I do. The weight helps a lot in using a low force to write and draw nice black lines.

Anyway I can’t give more than 3 stars. Not because of the price, but because of the retractable tip. I love the idea but not how they made it. The tip seems to have a little of play, not very stable like other rotrings that I own. In the beginning I thought that it was a problem of my 0.5 so I made a video and sent it to other rotring 800 users that I found searching in ebay feedbacks. Most of them told me that they have the same “problem”. This is not something that you will easily notice when you write or draw, but from a rotring I expected more “stability”.

I am more then happy with the 2.0mm version, but I really don’t suggest to buy the 800 0.5 unless you can try it. I will not return it because, as I said, I am a collector, but if I had to decide what MP to buy I would go for a rapid pro or a 600.
10 out of 10 people found the following review helpful
  Many years ago now, I..., January 26, 2012
By agl...
Many years ago now, I had hand problems as a result of overuse of a computer keyboard, and it was during the resulting period of physical therapy that I rediscovered the joys of writing with pens, pencils, and fountain pens. Since every writing instrument seems to have a different feel and grip, I bought many, and found that by switching pencils I was able to write for very long periods without having any pain. I still own most of them.

I bought three Rotring mechanical pencils. A nonretractable, that is now the 600 version, the 800 version, and a very clever one (Rotring Trio) that allowed you to select between three sizes of lead (0.35, 0.5, and 0.7 mm) and also retracts the tip. For flexibility, the Trio is my favorite. If I am using only 0.5 mm lead, which is my most frequent choice, I prefer the 800 over the 600 because of the retractable tip and the quality feel of the mechanism. The 600 version sees very little use. I have over 20 mechanical/drafting pencils!

All of the Rotrings that I have, and I also have a ballpoint pen, have held up tremendously well. They are solid and hefty, and beautifully executed. Although they are heavy compared to other brandss, they do not tire my hand. I don't know if this is an issue of balance point or grip, but I can just comment that they are a joy to write with.

Over the past few years, with the poor dollar/Euro exchange, the price of Rotrings has gone up considerably. I am reasonably sure that I bought my 800 when it was under $40. We can hope for a better exchange rate. If you are on a budget, there are other pencils that are certainly enjoyable to use. If you want to indulge in something special, I would buy this pencil. The craftmanship and materials are both top-notch.
8 out of 8 people found the following review helpful
  As a architectural designer..., May 30, 2011
By kaz...
As a architectural designer and drafts person I have gone through quite a few sets of drafting pencils. I would have to say that is is the best one I have tried yet. It writes really nicely and the lines are really firm. The pen's steel casing is really polished. I have to say the it will be way worth my money as I am not prepared to change to another drafting pen any time soon
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  This is the ultimate..., July 12, 2011
By mon...
This is the ultimate 0.5mm pencil! I have owned just about all the others, and while many have been good, none have approached the "great" which this pencil represents. The advance/retract mechanism is smooth as silk, and the balance and weight of the 800 is absolutely perfect. Yes, I understand that the price is a bit above some other contenders, but no other pencil comes close in comparision.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  For those that have had..., December 6, 2012
By jmodug
For those that have had problems with their pencil breaking make sure that you do NOT see screw threads at the top of the pencil below the retracting mechanism nub. I thought this was an esthetic part of the pencil, but I can see now on mine that it was shipped to me without being fully tightened, which probably led to the broken mechanism just from normal usage.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  This is an amazing pencil...., December 6, 2012
By jmodug
This is an amazing pencil. It writes great, it feels great, and the retractable mechanism is a great idea. Having said that I ordered mine 2 months ago and have been quite careful with it (it is an $80 pencil!). I even bought a pencil case and I put it back in there every time I'm finished. Today while writing with the internal mechanism for retracting the tip broke and now my favorite pencil is gone. I wasn't putting any more force on it than normal either.

To sum up, the pencil is a fantastic writing instrument, but it can break easily.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Many years ago now, I..., January 26, 2012
By agl...
Many years ago now, I had hand problems as a result of overuse of a computer keyboard, and it was during the resulting period of physical therapy that I rediscovered the joys of writing with pens, pencils, and fountain pens. Since every writing instrument seems to have a different feel and grip, I bought many, and found that by switching pencils I was able to write for very long periods without having any pain. I still own most of them.

I bought three Rotring mechanical pencils. A nonretractable, that is now the 600 version, the 800 version, and a very clever one (Rotring Trio) that allowed you to select between three sizes of lead (0.35, 0.5, and 0.7 mm) and also retracts the tip. For flexibility, the Trio is my favorite. If I am using only 0.5 mm lead, which is my most frequent choice, I prefer the 800 over the 600 because of the retractable tip and the quality feel of the mechanism. The 600 version sees very little use. I have over 20 mechanical/drafting pencils!

All of the Rotrings that I have, and I also have a ballpoint pen, have held up tremendously well. They are solid and hefty, and beautifully executed. Although they are heavy compared to other brands, they do not tire my hand. I don't know if this is an issue of balance point or grip, but I can just comment that they are a joy to write with.

Over the past few years, with the poor dollar/Euro exchange, the price of Rotrings has gone up considerably. I am reasonably sure that I bought my 800 when it was under $40. We can hope for a better exchange rate. If you are on a budget, there are other pencils that are certainly enjoyable to use. If you want to indulge in something special, I would buy this pencil. The craftmanship and materials are both top-notch.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  Grip is less grippy than..., May 16, 2013
Grip is less grippy than the Rapid Pro and far less grippy than the 600. It is the least grippy of all Rotring MP's.

There is a lot of play. Side to side, and up & down. When the mechanism is extended there is 2mm play before each lead click and when applying the eraser. It's annoying. there is also a bit of "flexibility" in the tip. It's just unstable. I was hoping for better tolerances and little to no flexion.

The twist to advance mechanism can easily be worn out or break. I have a similar mechanism on my manual typewriter, and when it wears out, it won't hold in the locked position. This mechanism feels the same, a sort of hook-spring. When the hook wears, the spring will push it back into the body. The difference is that I can file the hook on my typewriter, because I can access it by taking it apart. The 800 mechanism won't separate from the body as far as I can tell, so once that mechanism wears out or breaks catastrophically, the pencil will be unuseable. When that time comes, I'll do my best to figure out a fix for it, but I don't want to tamper with the pencil while it works just to see the internals.
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Pencil was excellent..., September 5, 2012
Pencil was excellent until the plastic internal barrel shattered, rendering the pencil into junk. The body might be solid metal, but this internal component was thin plastic and once it breaks the pencil falls to pieces. Useless. For the amount I spent I could have purchased several top pencils from other brands. Buyer beware.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I'd really give the 800..., January 14, 2014
By rca...
I'd really give the 800 2.5 stars. I really wanted to like this pencil (I collect mechanical drafting pencils) and I'm a big Rotring fan, but the problem with the 800 is it frequently breaks leads internally (w/i the shaft/feed mechanism). The broken lead rotates around in the shaft so you have to pull it out and toss it to regain control of the lead position as you write, or it always rotates to the flat side and you get thicker lines than you want. It's an excellent concept, but the lead breakage problem is a major issue. Mine is a 0.5 mm. My guess is the lead breakage problem would be far worse w/ a 0.35 (0.3) lead. It might be OK w/ a 0.7 mm lead, but I don't write with 0.7's anymore; I only use 0.7's for drafting lines. A friend of mine has a 0.5 mm 800 and his has the same lead breakage problem, too. The 800 mechanism feels a little rattly, particularly when compared to a Rotring Rapid Pro or even a Kuru Toga Roulette. If you want a retractable tube mechanical pencil, go for a Rotring Rapid Pro (which feels much more solid, doesn't rattle as you write, and it's cheaper) or a Pentel Graphgear 1000 (also cheaper). The retraction mechanism of the RapidPro is different (not spring loaded) and has much more solid feeling. The Graphgear 1000 has a sprung retraction mechanism as does the 800, but the Graphgear 1000 is different and doesn't break leads internally like the 800 does. If you want a good writing pencil and don't mind a non-retractable tube, go for a Rotring 600 or a Kuru Toga Roulette. I'm keeping the 800, but I wouldn't buy any more, not even to flesh out a collection. I might try a 0.7 mm 800 if I had a need for it, but I have a feeling the 0.35 would be a total disaster. The 800 is a great concept, but execution is poor. Too bad. The 800 needs a look at redesign, IMHO.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Well, other than the..., August 31, 2013
By jas...
Well, other than the retracting mechanism, which is cool, I like this much less than the 600 which is half the price. Pen feels cheaper in the hand. The gold hard wear is a bit much. I'm returning this one for sure. Also, the description is incorrect. There is no lead hardness indicator on this pencil. Stick with the 600. You'll be happier.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I bought this pencil..., August 21, 2013
I bought this pencil from jetpens 12-18 months ago. I love the disappearing tip, feel and heftiness of the pencil. I have had problems mechanically: The interior plastic tube snapped into two rendering the pencil useless; and new leads would not feed but may be related to the issue previously listed. I tossed mine into the waste basket and wonder if the Rapid Pro has the same heft.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  In addition to my other..., May 16, 2013
In addition to my other review, this pencil is not bad, it just has several annoyances and is fragile compared to the 600 and rapid pro.

I'd have to say the 600 is the best of them, but with a fixed tip it must be stored properly. The rapid pro, while less grippy than the 600, is still grippy enough and has a retractable tip that works on a much simpler and sturdier mechanism than the 800, so for that reason, the Rapid Pro will be the one I keep in my pocket/backpack/shirt, etc. and the 600 will be used at home.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  This by far is the best..., January 7, 2013
By hbr...
This by far is the best instrument that you can buy on the current drafting pencil market. Through using this pencil I am able to write with confidence, especially looking back at my former pencil history. I am currently a freshmen in college and being formaly introduced to writing an ungodly amount of notes, I choose this instrument as the weopon of choice. This pencil has yet to act up on me in any phacet. This pencil has one of the best feels which I have ever experienced in my life. When first looking on JetPens, I thought that the girth of the pencil might be to thick but when reciving and holding it, it was far smaller that I previously thought. In fact, it is a pretty skinny pencil and boy does it have a great feel to it. The pricing might be a negative, but to be completely honest it is worth it. Get the pencil and have FUN!!!!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Hello, this is my first..., October 9, 2012
By set...
Hello, this is my first review of a product I've bought on Jetpens so please do know that my skills in reviewing are still a bit rough around the edges..
To begin, I came to Jetpens searching for quality writing instruments that would stay with me for a lifetime. And after buying this pencil and using it for a few weeks I can attest that this pencil will definitely do just that! The all-metal construction of this pencil gives it an impressive weight while also steadying your hand when working, improving your handwriting (at least it did for me!). Speaking of steadying your hand, the knurled grip on this pencil is just sublime! I admit, the knurling was a bit smaller than the impression I received from the website images, but the final result was still an incredible grip that helps me greatly when writing. And with the added weight of the metal barrel you barely even have to press down to get nice lines (even with the harder leads).
Another very attractive appeal to this pencil (literally) are the aesthetics, and my are they fancy! The golden brass tip accents really lend a professional, and elegant look to this pencil that I have not seen matched in anything other than expensive fountain pens. It definitely looks like a pencil that would be found in the office of a professional draftsman, architect, or other technical designer.
Although my writing experience has been great with the Rotring so far, there are a drawback that occurs in the pencil. For one, there is a SLIGHT play in the advancing tip mechanism. This is probably due to the presence of moving parts within the pencil, which cannot be helped. Although you can feel the play if you mess around with the pencil on your finger, there is absolutely no discernable change that you can feel when writing. And this is in my opinion, not a large enough drawback to warrant a lowered review score.
Something to keep in mind, however, is that the lead sleeve of this pencil is still very small and fragile. So always remember to retract the tip before moving the pencil anywhere and always keep it in a safe space, lest anything happens to that beautiful tip!
Overall, my experience with the Rotring 800 has been extraordinary, and I would recommend it to everyone who would like to try some true mechanical pencil luxury.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  First, I love this pencil..., September 8, 2012
By cbu...
First, I love this pencil ! It is heavy and solid and I don't think that the small lag is bothering. However after a while I started having problems with the twist mechanism on top, which is unacceptable at this price. I think that R600 is a better pencil although not as fun and beautiful.
  Throughout most of my..., July 9, 2014
Throughout most of my life I've used wooden pencils and cheap mechanicals, and because of that I've always hated pencils. Really, really, really hated them.

Anyway, my use of gel pens and erasable ink pens was stomped on when I started doing things like math and drawing schematics where a pen was simply not viable, so I started looking for a good pencil. I started using a Zebra and I was okay with it, not especially bad but not amazing either. I ended up getting endlessly annoyed with the hollow, cheap feel of it and its horrible plastic, and I started looking around again.

I found the Rotring 800 and decided to splurge a little, not expecting much. So I got it, came to my door just in time for me to start on a few pages worth of equations, and I was happy to put the Zebra down and use something else. I opened up the package, opened the 800's box, reached in, and Jesus popped out.

I'm not sure if my articulation is doing this justice, but I picked it up and I had to question whether I was holding a pencil or a scalpel. It's incredibly solid, extremely well weighted, it radiates quality and precision like a chunk of plutonium radiates death.

I began to write with it and found that I wasn't getting annoyed by any piece of it, not a single iota proved cumbersome or irritating. That was especially amazing, since I have a history of naturally nitpicking every single little particle and wave out of any tool I use.

Overall, I am extremely happy to own this pencil, and I wouldn't trade it for any other writing utensil. That does not, however, mean that it is perfect.

Over time I noticed a couple things about it, subtle things. The biggest concern I suppose is the tiny eraser. Drafting pencils are known for this, but I'm just not happy that the eraser is so small and therefore has such a short lifetime. It does seem special though, since instead of just a rubber cylinder the eraser piece is actually attached to a metal mount. The refills are consistently sold out here on JetPens, and I was told by Rotring customer support that I had to contact them directly to order more. I guess that makes it feel even more special.

The extending piece on the end has a tiny bit of play. I've heard people complain about it endlessly, and I've seen them stick washers and spacers in the grip to try and stabilize it, but I have no idea what they're going on about. It has play, yes, but it's so minute that you only really notice it if you're hunched over with your face an inch away from the pencil wiggling it back and forth for a good 15 minutes, even then it's so tiny it doesn't matter.

Lastly, I haven't had any competing experience, but I've seen from pictures and heard from reviews that the 800's knurling is less defined than on some of the other pens and pencils that Rotring makes. That means it's less grippy than it could be on the twisting cuff and, well, the grip.

Some things that I don't count as cons really but are worth mentioning are;

The 800, unlike the 600 (And many others), doesn't have a lead hardness indicator. I don't have a roll of them, just the one, so it doesn't really matter to me. I just know that I use 3B, and that's just what I use. I can see how this would be a problem if you keep a selection of lead grades in your pencils though, it would make it hard to choose the right one out of a set of identical 800s.

This clip is really tough. Really, really, really strong and stubborn. I've head people moan about it, and I can say that I'm not really a fan of having to put work into sliding it onto my reinforced (Meaning thick) pocket lining, but the fact that this will absolutely not, under any circumstances, fall out, makes it worthwhile.

I recently sent mine in to get repaired after bending the shaft and they replaced it with a new one, so I'm not sure about now, but on my old one I played with it a lot, and noticed something. When I would extend and retract the shaft repeatedly for a minute or so, it would start to lock up. This means that the 'click' when you extend it became really hard and it almost felt like you were breaking something when you moved it. The extending clock would make me cringe a little bit, but then it almost seemed like it was stuck there, and if you applied enough pressure it would snap and retract. I let it sit for a bit and it was fine again. This was really bazaar, but the thing is that it only happens if you twisting it in and out constantly for a period of time, so I can't count it against the pencil since it's not made for that.

The threading on the grip is really rough and squeaky. Removing it and putting it back on was a bit like nails on a chalkboard. I put some silicon lubricant on it (The type that's thin and actually gets rubbed into the metal, so it isn't oily, just smooth.) and now it's buttery smooth, though.

The extending piece is a little bit off-center. You'll notice when you retract the shaft, if you look in the end, it deviates a bit to one side. This is unnoticeable when it is extended, though, so it's inconsequential.

SUMMARY:

Overall, this pencil is kind of a ludicrous piece. It's precise, it's clean, it looks and feels amazing, but there are a few tiny things that you probably won't notice, while on the other hand some people do (Like the play in the shaft and the tiny eraser.). It's easily compared to a surgical instrument in terms of build. It isn't an all-around perfect solution though. Its lack of a lead hardness indicator makes it a bad choice for a roll of pencils with various grades, as many artists have, and the minuscule play in the nib could actually prove troublesome for some people, depending on application.

The way I see it, the 800 and the 600 are two alternates of the same pencil. The 800 if if you're only going to have the one, you're going to carry it in your pocket or do something else that could bend the shaft if it weren't retractable, or you want the best general-use mechanical pencil. The 600 is if it's going to live in an art case or a roll where you can sacrifice the protection of the shaft for the absolute solidity, if you need a set of pencils with differing lead hardnesses (hardnessesessezeseez...es), or want the amazing build quality and precision but don't want to buy the most expensive one.

So it isn't a pencil for every purpose, but if it suits your needs than it's the best pencil you can buy.
  Update to my last review-..., February 11, 2014
Update to my last review- While writing normally, the internal plastic barrel part cracked, ruining the retractable tip feature. I could no longer dispense lead by pressing the cap. I somehow configured the pencil to still write without the knurled grip part and the retractable tip. I believe that the plastic internal barrel is the weakest part of this pencil. Buyers beware. It still was a joy to write with when it was still working.
  If anybody were to come..., January 2, 2014
If anybody were to come up to me and ask, "Should I get the Rotring 800?" I would definitely say yes. If you aren't sure if you want to get this or not because of the price, get it. To me, this pencil is worth every penny. It writes great, has a good feel in the hand and looks absolutely amazing. The gold accents at the tip and near the eraser cap gives the pencil some flash along with the unmistakable red circle. The only real complaint I have is when you push the cap to dispense lead, it doesn't give you the *click* sound that you were expecting. The retractable tip goes in and out of the the pencil very smoothly, and contradicting the some other reviewer's comments, the tip doesn't wobble at all when you are writing. Overall, it is a very good pencil that looks great and writes even better.
  I love writing.. and..., November 19, 2013
By sum...
I love writing.. and I love collecting mechanical pencils and pens.
I just serached on google "The best mechanical pencil in the world" and some websites showed up and thats how i came to know about Rotring (never mind I am not from the USA but I am from India so I did not know about this brand as its not available there).
I went ahead and first bought Rotring 600. When I first held it in my hand, it felt so special. I have old mechanical pencils from Parker, I have automac from Pilot and I also have used the lower end pencil but this is a whole class apart. That perfect weight, that balance and that feel... Its unique.
I wrote and wrote and wrote..
Then I bought the 800.. It is kind of the same, the same design and feel but you can turn the knob and the writing end kind of goes in the pencil. This makes it easier to store and also less susceptible to falls.
Loving the feel of it.
If you are one of my kind( who love to keep their pencil box near the pillow while sleeping), and love writing, this is for you. Go for it!
  Every bit as good as..., September 8, 2012
By m2011
Every bit as good as my other Rotring pencils, but doesn't poke holes in my shirt pocket. I have been carrying this one around for quite some time now, and it is a solid performer. Every now and then a bit of lint needs to be cleared from the end or it will prevent the tip from extending. Unlike other mechanical pencils, I have never needed to take this one apart and clear a jam. New lead generally falls right into place and feeds through after the old lead is used up. Good pencil.
3 out of 9 people found the following review helpful
  COMPARISON TO ROTRING..., April 8, 2011
COMPARISON TO ROTRING 600

Much heavier. I was initially attracted to this pencil because of the retractable tip (i'm prone to bending tips) but I dont think I'd recommend this one over the 600. The button has a lot more resistance and the gold trimming looks tacky. the logo is not as attractive and the weight I prefer the weight of the 600 more. I does not feel like it is as solid as a pencil as the 600
1 out of 16 people found the following review helpful
  Come on $$ for this pencil..., May 9, 2011
Come on $$ for this pencil I understand many people like this pencil but you can get so much more pencils that write better like the pental 600 or 500 write so much better . I bought this pencil to expiriment and waisted too much on it . So please do not get this pencil . sighned SEGAMUM