1 - 10 of 11 |  | 
I just wanted to make...
May 24, 2011
I just wanted to make the comment that on CultPens.com this pencil is not half-price. It is less than 28 pounds, which at the current exchange rate of 1.62 USD to 1 GBP makes the pencil about $45. Standard shipping to the US is 10 pounds, so the total price would be about $60. While it can be found for slightly less (I think pixie mall sells it for $49), rating an item low just based on the price is not standard practice. Feel free to include comments about price vs. quality, but please don't make that your only comment. It is not helpful. Review the actual product.
7 people found this helpful
I own many different...
February 21, 2012
I own many different 600, 800 and also Rapid Pro. I really can’t understand how somebody can say that the 800 is superior to the Rapid Pro. The 800 has a nice grip, nice quality, heavy stuff. But the tip of the 0.5 of the 800 compared to the tip of the Rapid Pro is “butter”. The 800 has this great “pocked safe” feature. But it is only great to save your pockets. When you can draw and/or write simultaneously with the 800 and the Rapid Pro you can really tell the difference. The Rapid Pro in my opinion is the best Rotring pencils available at the moment. Very stable, very comfortable, really a pleasure to use. Far superior from the 0.5 800. I am giving 4 stars because of the price. Please notice that the RapidPro price is 24.9 euro in Europe (less than 33 dollars). If you purchase them in stock you can get for sure a better price. I think that a selling price of 40 dollars should be fine.
3 people found this helpful
Good one! Weight and...
March 19, 2015
Verified Purchase
Good one! Weight and grip are just right for the hand, heping the lines to be more steady
1 person found this helpful
I was amazed with this...
December 7, 2013
Verified Purchase
I was amazed with this pencil when I saw it. I ordered the pencil from JetPens and was so looking forward to using it based on the Rotring name alone. Shocked and disappointed with this pencil is more like it.

I had the pencil for just over a week when one day leaving work, I was on the phone and walking out of the foyer of my office with a handful of my tablet, my portable hard drive and a roll of drawings, along with my Rotring. I said to myself, "Why don't I put the pen in my shirt pocket so that's one less thing to carry." I squeeze my phone between my shoulder and ear, grab the pencil with my now free hand, attempt to put it in my shirt pocket and miss. Much to my surprise the pencil hits the tile floor and breaks completely in two! The red joint between the two halves is just plastic and it snapped right in half. That is unacceptable for a pencil of this caliber and price. If you buy this aluminum pencil...prepare to baby it.
5 people found this helpful
I have to disagree with...
September 18, 2011
I have to disagree with some of the reviews written here. This mechanical pencil, in my limited opinion, is WAY superior than the Rotring 600. I had the two of them, and I fell this one superior in almost every aspect. At least for my tastes this is a better pencil. Is longer, wider, and lighter than the rotting 600, AND it's pocket safe. I written a full head to head comparison in my site, feel free to check at nnil.es

The only negative point is the price, other than that, I can't recommend enough this puppy. But black of course!.
3 people found this helpful
I have no way to compare...
September 29, 2016
I have no way to compare it to the 600 or 800 but honestly, how can anyone call this crap is beyond me. It's easily the best mechanical pencil I have ever held in my hand, let alone draw with it. I'm used to drafting with the Staedtler 0.5 and I've used it for 20 years to the point it became an extension of my hand, so, in comparison, the RapidPro feels a little heavy to me. But it is a different animal altogether. Almost like a surgical instrument. It's that precise. The moment I opened the box it was evident why it costs what it costs. A high quality drafting instrument folks. The size is perfect and the retractable sleeve is by far the best I have tried. Its mechanism works like butter. I'm very happy with it.
This pencil is fantastic....
December 20, 2015
Verified Purchase
This pencil is fantastic. I've had it for a while and it never disappoints. It writes like a dream and is super swanky looking.

In my hand, the pencil is just heavy enough to feel solid without being cumbersome and it's nicely balanced in the center to make writing easy. The knurled grip is made of metal but it's textured in a way that doesn't destroy my skin. A firm grip is easy to maintain. It's also the perfect diameter, for my hand at least. It's slightly thicker than the 600 and 800 series, but that extra thickness is comfortable.

Writing is a very pleasant experience. Moving the pencil around is easy, despite the weight of the pencil. No part of the pencil blocks the view of what I'm writing. The click of the pencil is a bit lacking, but there is definitely an audible click and a faint vibration in the pencil when clicking. So, it's at least a better click than the atrocious 800 series but not as good as the 600 series. The retractable tip extends a good distance and vanishes completely when retracted.

If I had to complain about something, it would be the clip. It isn't fastened tightly enough to stop it from rotating around the pencil as I write. Also, the chrome is a magnet for finger prints and smudges. Those are only minor annoyances.

If you're looking for a well crafted pencil that can last you a lifetime, buy this one. It's well worth it.
Fabulous pencil, one...
May 4, 2014
Fabulous pencil, one of my favorites. I've been accumulating technical pencils for several years, and this one shot right to the top. It oozes quality, and the silver finish is simply gorgeous. Solid, good heft, retractable point, reliable mechanism, the Rapid Pro has it all. Better than the 600, far better than the awful 800. But if this pencil isn't for you, go have a look at the Platinum Pro Use I and II, my other favorites.
I love this 0.5 mm pencil....
March 10, 2013
Verified Purchase
I love this 0.5 mm pencil. I even purchased the Rapid Pro 1.0 mm ball point pen and the 2.0 mm lead holder (all silver). I bought a beautiful leather 3 pen case from Fountain Pen International (New York) and put together, what I believe to be, the ultimate set. For me anyway, the Rapid Pro is the perfect instrument from Rotring.
Buy this pen. You will...
January 19, 2012
Buy this pen. You will absolutely love it. Ive had mine for about a week. I have a tried and true waterman I have been using for a while. Gave it up for daily use for this baby, although its slightly longer, the knurled end helps you write easier. You can control it quite well. Buy it. You will love it.
1 person found this helpful
1 - 10 of 11 |  |