JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (8 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 29, 2012
As always, when I buy...
Verified Purchase
As always, when I buy from JetPens, this pen arrived very quickly after I ordered it.

The other reviews of this pen have focused on writing and haven't been that favorable, but as an artist who sketches out in the field I think it is just fabulous! I can get very fine and very fat lines all from one pen by changing the angle of the nib. I've tried many different kinds of pens and have never quite been satisfied with what I'm able to do with any given tool. This pen has changed all of that and I'm really not sure how I've survived as an artist all these years without one!

I would have given it a perfect rating but for one thing and that is it's miniscule ink reservoir. I've used the same reservoir in my Sailor HighAce Neo Beginner's fountain pen and have had to carry ink with me when I'm out sketching because, even with that fine nib, I can't finish an 8 x 5 inch sketch with the ink available. The Sailor DE Brush Stroke Pen uses far more ink because of it's ability to make fat lines and, thus, runs out much faster. The pen body is quite long -- it would be great to have a reservoir that would easily fit in it and allow for more drawing time before stopping to refuel.

I have small hands and was worried that the fuller body might be a problem for me but it's very light-weight and has been easy to use.


6 people found this helpful
 
March 6, 2012
Interesting is a good...
Verified Purchase
Interesting is a good word for this pen. The nib has a lot of potential, and it's great to see such an interesting nib at a relatively friendly price point. I feel like it will take work to explore the different ways of putting nib to paper and bring it out, though, but it brings out character and shading in Sailor's inks (I've tried the blue black to good results). One warning: do not attempt to post the cap on the back end. I did so, and it fit, but the black cap on the back popped off and got wedged inside it- it's not easy to get out.

5 people found this helpful
laurenwallace55
 
March 23, 2013
I heard about this pen...
Verified Purchase
I heard about this pen from a professional artist who uses it constantly for sketching. So I purchased one here (where else?) to see how it compares with a brush pen or a waterbrush.

Now I see what the fuss is about! With a minimal turn of the wrist, you can transition from drawing a fine line to drawing a very thick line that looked almost 3 mm thick. The Sailor nano black ink is lightfast and waterproof, so you can wash over the lines with colors if you want. The Sailor cartridge is fairly capacious, more so than the tiny international ones, or a converter could be used for bottled ink. The cartridge makes a lot of sense for traveling around.

The unusual length of the barrel is not only comfortable in the hand, but it hides a nifty secret: you can put a spare cartridge in there behind the one in use. In fact, the pen comes with two cartridges (I assume not the nano black) in it. Can you say road trip convenience?

I don't write in Asian characters, so I can't say how this pen works for those - sounds pretty popular - but it is both fun and practical for drawing.

3 people found this helpful
 
October 23, 2010
This is definitely an...
Verified Purchase
This is definitely an interesting and unique pen. By extending and angling the nib of a traditional fountain pen, the Sailor DE Brush Stroke pen manages the create the same look as "brush and ink", with much greater control. By changing the angle at which the nib touches the paper, you are able to make lines of varying width. Ink flow is good, and surprisingly even, particularly when you are moving the nib quickly across the paper. The pen comes with two cartridges, and no converter.

3 people found this helpful
cannotlogon
 
February 22, 2014
i really like this pen....
Verified Purchase
i really like this pen. the nib is angled so you can get a wide range of lines ranging from broad to super thin. i usually write with very fine pens so this pen writes fine when you write almost vertically which i do. i recommend this pen.

1 person found this helpful
loydgarmadon1
 
November 29, 2014
excellent pen, as always...
Verified Purchase
excellent pen, as always with most things from jet pens. The line variance you can get is perfect for inking and sketching on the go, and in the studio. Ink is waterproof and a nice mat black. When this is used along with the pentel pocket brush, why would you need anything else for ink sketching. It's a nice combo that I know I will be using for years to come.

msandiego
 
November 17, 2014
This fountain pen is...
Verified Purchase
This fountain pen is awesome, I may need to buy a second one, because my brother is constantly borrowing this from me. We both love the different line variations, and I absolutely adore how well the ink flows, it's so wet! With the right ink, the lines are ridiculously dark, I love it.

nonchalance_is_dead
 
October 16, 2014
This pen has been a great...
Verified Purchase
This pen has been a great addition to my inking tools and it's also my first fountain pen. It's a great first fountain pen. I have experience with nib pens but this was obviously a bit different. Although the instructions are foreign the pictures are easy enough to understand for those that have never used a fountain pen. Note that I bought a few new multiliners to get finer details. The Marvy LePens go well with it if you use the black nano ink.

It comes with a couple of blue black ink cartridges which are copic proof and very nice quality. I purchased the ultra black nano ink cartridges which of course work great with this pen (I left a review on those as well)

I found this while looking for some sort of good refillable brush pen and this is the greatest thing I could ask for. It's like a blessing that this was created. Allows me to get brush like strokes with the control of a nib pen. The lines are very clean and the pen is very versatile when it comes to the amount of difference you can get in line weight. I use it as my primary inking tool. It's replaced my beloved g-pen which I never thought would happen.

My inking process has also been greatly improved. My lines are much less hesitant and overall cleaner since the pen flows so beautifully. It's also nice since something that would usually take me over an hour to ink has been reduced to roughly half the time. So I can get to coloring like I want to.

I know a previous reviewer mentioned being wary of putting the cap on the back on the pen, which I am. Just be sure to press it on the back lightly and you should be all right. I do it though not only because it's a convenient place to keep the cap but it actually keeps the extra cartridge from moving about while using the pen which is very interesting and very welcomed. Without the cap on the back the extra cartridge will rattle around and make an annoying noise as well as shaking the pen a bit.

Overall this pen is great. I'm very glad I purchased it, and I'll most likely be trying out the other model. Right now this is great and more than what I could have asked for.

I also highly recommend that before you start inking an illustration you use a scrap paper to test out the angles and such. It helps me make sure I can get my thin lines and my thicker ones in the right places.

iamdecembergrey