JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.4 (11 customer reviews)
Write Review
September 30, 2009
This is not just high-quality...
Verified Purchase
This is not just high-quality ink - it's an excellent dark black with great flow, that in my tests I find to be waterproof. Wow. A contender against Noodler's black... except with a smoother, juicier flow!

6 people found this helpful
ilonatipp
 
April 11, 2011
BEST INK EVER....
Verified Purchase
BEST INK EVER.

4 people found this helpful
saberarmin67
 
May 11, 2012
This ink is very interesting....
Verified Purchase
This ink is very interesting. It will make your pens write like a dream. It goes on nice and smooth, and doesn't feather, no matter how junky your paper is. It's light proof, as well as waterproof. If you want something to withstand anything you throw at it, this is the ink. It cleans off very easily with water, but does tend to leave a residue that can just be wiped off. It does have a unique smell, but if you've used any acrylic paints, it's 1/100 of that smell. It's pricey, but for those who demand it, there are no substitutes.

2 people found this helpful
 
December 5, 2014
Nice dark, dark ink....
Verified Purchase
Nice dark, dark ink.

jwetherington1
 
October 31, 2014
Sailor makes a great...
Verified Purchase
Sailor makes a great ink. It's not fully permanent but it's close and amazing, not to mention convenient.

 
October 16, 2014
I bought this to go with...
Verified Purchase
I bought this to go with my Sailor brush stroke style Calligraphy pen (It came with two blue black ink cartridges which also work great and are copic proof as well). I prefer nice black ink and this definitely delivers; very comparable to the intensity of my Deleter ink. Thankfully this ink is completely matte unlike my Deleter ink which is incredibly glossy.

I've inked several full pieces and I'm still on my first cartridge so they last a while. So the price doesn't bother me a bit considering how much time I'll have between restocking. It also allows me to do some sketching and ink a few random things for practice since the cartridges last so long.

The ink is completely Copic proof thankfully. Works with Prismacolor and LePlume too. I'm sure it'll be fine with any alcohol marker. My only gripe is that it doesn't hold up well to erasing. Mind that it's when you erase a bit tougher, which if you don't have a good eraser is necessary. But for me it's only an issue when I use my RENDR sketchbook which I sketch, ink, and color directly in. Usually I use my lightbox to transfer a sketch onto my marker paper and go straight in with ink rather than resketching, so it's not a big problem.

A few black multiliners (I use Marvy LePen) will fix any issue since you can just touch up any area where the ink may have been effected by erasing.

It also dries fairly quickly which is great. It dries within roughly a minute so it's a big change from dip pen ink which I had to be so careful with. When I do accidentally smudge it it's not too bad either. I can still work with the image.
This ink is by far my favorite. 4 stars only for the erasing issue. Everything else about it is top notch.

iamdecembergrey
 
October 15, 2014
This is a great cartridge...
Verified Purchase
This is a great cartridge ink. Yes, it has a smell. So do you. You can probably find a better bottle ink, but cartridge - no. It's dark, flows well, not waterproof (and why would you think it would be....oh nevermind) and just lovely. If you are a cartridge person, and I am, this is for you. Alas, they only work in Sailor pens, so you are buying into a new system if you want this ink, but it was worth it for me.

stephanie
 
July 23, 2012
I love this ink. I use...
Verified Purchase
I love this ink. I use in in a Sailor Profit Calligraphy Pen. The pen with this ink is soooooo smooth, plus it is waterproof when I add watercolors. No feathering noted. Love it! I just wish it fit all of my fountain pens.

thedonnadiva
 
May 10, 2014
I just received this...
Verified Purchase
I just received this ink in a box of 12 cartridges. I was looking for a waterproof black ink to use in my Sailor calligraphy pens (used for sketching), and based on much research and reading many good reviews about this ink, as well as its successful use under watercolors, I decided to buy it.

I’ve tested it on the following papers: 1) Arches Watercolor (sheet), Natural White, 90lb, cold press; 2) Canson Montval Watercolor (pad), 140lb, cold press; 3) Strathmore 500 series Mixed Media (bound book), 90 lb, 4) Canson Art Book One Sketch paper, 67lb; 4) Bee Professional Series Pen Sketcher’s (pad), 70lb; and 5) Hewlett Packard Office Paper with ColorLok Technology (ream), 20lb.

On all of these papers, even with letting the Sailor Nano Ink Ultra Black dry for several minutes, I would definitely NOT plan to use it for line under watercolor. It leaves a grey wash on all the papers tested, some more than others. While it doesn’t run/beautifully wash like the ink that comes with the Sailor pens, it’s kind of the worst of both worlds.

It is also not as black as the ink that comes with the Sailor calligraphy pens (that’s a nice black!), and it’s a warmer color. In fact, in comparison with these pens/inks, I’d say this Nano ink lacks “character”, or “oomph”: Herbin Perle Noire (in a Rotring pen), Uni-ball Vision Fine (roller ball), Copic Multiliner 0.5, Platinum Carbon cartridge ink in a Platinum Carbon Desk Pen, Pentel Pocket Brush Pen, and the aforementioned Sailor ink that comes with the Sailor DE 40 degree Calligraphy Fountain Pen. (I don’t know what ink that is as it’s not specified anywhere).

So I am pretty disappointed. Since I’ve used one of the cartridges for testing, I can’t return this to Jet Pens. I am glad I did not purchase this ink in a bottle for $33! Anybody want 11 cartridges of this?

 
September 8, 2012
Top notch! Very dark...
Verified Purchase
Top notch! Very dark black, good flow, water resistant, drys quickly on paper, won't clog your nib. Great stuff. You can get it in a bottle too.