My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (14 customer reviews)
Write Review
10 out of 10 people found the following review helpful
  Excellent pen, especially..., January 2, 2012
By lau...
Excellent pen, especially for the price. It's not flashy, but the nib is great- a very smooth, consistent fine line. The plastic is a bit lightweight, but the pen's well-balanced and comfortable to hold and the light weight makes it possible to write for a long time without fatigue.

Works with Sailor cartridges (I like the Clear Candy Reddish Brown, a beautiful coppery color) or converter (I have used both Private Reserve and Rohrer and Klingner inks from a bottle with absolutely no problems).

Compared to the Ohto F-Spirit that I purchased at the same time for the same price, the Sailor is definitely the superior pen. The F-Spirit's metal body has a nice design and a good weight to it, but I have experienced a lot of skipping and hard starts when writing (having tried several different Kaweco inks from cartridge and the same bottled inks that have worked well in te Neo) compared to none of those problems with the Sailor HighAce Neo.

I have already ordered a second HighAce Neo in blue and am looking forward to it.
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  This is actually my second..., April 19, 2011
By rag...
This is actually my second HighAce Neo. Real "F," tip and suitable for narrow-rule paper or smaller. Expect a true fine line.
6 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  Fantastic fountain pen..., October 20, 2010
By kd7...
Fantastic fountain pen for the price! It's a smooth writer plus the cap posts on the barrel end with a secure "click." That's a nice design touch on a relatively inexpensive fountain pen.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Great pen for the price…grea..., September 23, 2011
By moon
Great pen for the price…great for sketching because it’s a very fine line. I’ve used this pen for several weeks now in my sketching kit, no ink bombs, and I’m rough on pens. It takes a lickin’ and keeps on tickin’.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I have mixed feelings..., October 19, 2013
By ebe...
I have mixed feelings about this pen. While I have a few high-end and vintage fountain pens, I also really like basic, inexpensive ones that write dependably and well. (I write for a couple hours each day, so performance is a much higher priority than fancy accoutrements.)

I was happy with the pen's appearance -- it's very lightweight and a nice size for my hands. However, the ink flow was terribly dry and the nib felt scratchy at times. I used a loupe to examine the tipping and immediately saw the problem. The tines were aligned, but the lump of irridium had ridges in it, which would produce a scratchy sensation on the page when pulled in certain directions. I fixed that problem with some micromesh papers, but this didn't fix the dry ink flow. I suspected a problem with the channel in the feed, and indeed, when I flossed between the tines with some fine brass shim, a bunch of debris came out. I finished by giving the nib unit a good scrubbing in warm water and let it dry.

When all this was done, I reassembled the pen with a new ink cartridge, and it writes beautifully. Very, very nice line quality, very comfortable for long writing sessions. I just wish the pen had come to me in this condition, rather than requiring 30 minutes of fiddling to get it there. (But frankly, I've had similar issues with every Lamy and Kaweco pen I've ever purchased. I'm somewhat resigned by this point to my bad luck.)

I still think the HighAce Neo is well worth the price if you're looking for a lightweight, compact pen with a Japanese fine nib (especially if you've got better fountain pen karma than I do).
3 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Love it very smooth...., April 11, 2011
By sab...
Love it very smooth.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I've gone through five..., June 24, 2013
I've gone through five of these. The darn things keep impressing people, so I keep giving them as gifts, knowing how inexpensive they are to replace.

The nib is great, they're relatively easy on ink, and I love how slim they are. I don't understand the recent trend of fountain pens being fat as a baton.

I'll probably end up buying five more. At least my friends' correspondence will be pretty.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Fantastic pen! I use..., September 8, 2012
By m2011
Fantastic pen!

I use my pen for mathematics and detailed diagrams, so I have always used F & XF nibs. This pen writes better than the Pelikan Souveran XF that has been my go-to pen for years -- this Sailor nib renders a slightly finer line. Good uniform flow with a uniform line width. I'm using the Sailor black ink in this pen. I prefer a pen that is a little heaver in the hand, but that is just a personal preference. WOW!
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Great value for a fountain..., February 22, 2012
By kat...
Great value for a fountain pen. The Sailor HighAce writes with a true fine line, but does not feel very scratchy. I normally prefer a medium width nib, but this pen is great when I want a fine line. I purchased black ink cartridges and a converter- both work well in this pen.
  I bought this pen and..., March 20, 2014
By mak...
I bought this pen and did not expect much from it. I was pleasantly surprised by the smooth (especially for the price) fine nib, and it's durability. Though I wish that it had come with a converter, it hardly detracts from the pen itself. For those who enjoy fine nibs, this pen is wonderful and hard to beat at the price.
  Really a great, lightweight,..., October 6, 2013
Really a great, lightweight, inexpensive everyday pen. It looks like the Pelikan Steno but with a traditionally-shaped nib that is just as fine, an Asian f or EF, very smooth and just a touch of bounce. Love how the cap clicks onto the back. I chose the black because of its utter minimalism, very clean and plain. I prefer a lightweight pen because it does not add weight to my bag. Body is matte with a glossy section.

Sailor is a fantastic pen company with pens at all price points from dirt cheap to luxury but little press in the United States. I also love their Chinese calligraphy nibs, super cheap and fun to play with. I'd love to see these Neos in some more understated colors like dark violet or black-green. The Neo is easily replaced if you lose it, but I think this pen will become a constant companion, as it has for me.
  This pen is really great..., January 8, 2013
This pen is really great especially for the price; however, I find that if you write too quickly (like when I'm crossing my T's), it often skips. I bought this pen to replace my Sailor Recruit thinking that it would be at least similar. But in the end, nothing can really replace the Sailor Recruit which is by far the best fine point fountain pen I have ever used. I really hope they produce/sell them again on this site!
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I ordered this fountainpen..., June 18, 2010
I ordered this fountainpen on the branchename Sailor. It is very payable and it writes perfect: a very smootly wet line, light in the hand and perfectly soft hitting the paper. I realy recommend this pen!
Service at JetPen is as usualy very good.
0 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  Does anyone know what..., February 14, 2011
Does anyone know what happened to the Sailor Recruit? I got on to buy one, as my school pen, and they are gone. The beginner's are nice, but I really love the barrel on the Recruit.