JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (18 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 2, 2012
Excellent pen, especially...
Verified Purchase
Excellent pen, especially for the price. It's not flashy, but the nib is great- a very smooth, consistent fine line. The plastic is a bit lightweight, but the pen's well-balanced and comfortable to hold and the light weight makes it possible to write for a long time without fatigue.

Works with Sailor cartridges (I like the Clear Candy Reddish Brown, a beautiful coppery color) or converter (I have used both Private Reserve and Rohrer and Klingner inks from a bottle with absolutely no problems).

Compared to the Ohto F-Spirit that I purchased at the same time for the same price, the Sailor is definitely the superior pen. The F-Spirit's metal body has a nice design and a good weight to it, but I have experienced a lot of skipping and hard starts when writing (having tried several different Kaweco inks from cartridge and the same bottled inks that have worked well in te Neo) compared to none of those problems with the Sailor HighAce Neo.

I have already ordered a second HighAce Neo in blue and am looking forward to it.

10 people found this helpful
laurenwallace55
 
April 19, 2011
This is actually my second...
Verified Purchase
This is actually my second HighAce Neo. Real "F," tip and suitable for narrow-rule paper or smaller. Expect a true fine line.

6 people found this helpful
ragdolleye
 
October 20, 2010
Fantastic fountain pen...
Fantastic fountain pen for the price! It's a smooth writer plus the cap posts on the barrel end with a secure "click." That's a nice design touch on a relatively inexpensive fountain pen.

6 people found this helpful
red251410
 
September 23, 2011
Great pen for the price…grea...
Verified Purchase
Great pen for the price…great for sketching because it’s a very fine line. I’ve used this pen for several weeks now in my sketching kit, no ink bombs, and I’m rough on pens. It takes a lickin’ and keeps on tickin’.

4 people found this helpful
 
October 19, 2013
I have mixed feelings...
Verified Purchase
I have mixed feelings about this pen. While I have a few high-end and vintage fountain pens, I also really like basic, inexpensive ones that write dependably and well. (I write for a couple hours each day, so performance is a much higher priority than fancy accoutrements.)

I was happy with the pen's appearance -- it's very lightweight and a nice size for my hands. However, the ink flow was terribly dry and the nib felt scratchy at times. I used a loupe to examine the tipping and immediately saw the problem. The tines were aligned, but the lump of irridium had ridges in it, which would produce a scratchy sensation on the page when pulled in certain directions. I fixed that problem with some micromesh papers, but this didn't fix the dry ink flow. I suspected a problem with the channel in the feed, and indeed, when I flossed between the tines with some fine brass shim, a bunch of debris came out. I finished by giving the nib unit a good scrubbing in warm water and let it dry.

When all this was done, I reassembled the pen with a new ink cartridge, and it writes beautifully. Very, very nice line quality, very comfortable for long writing sessions. I just wish the pen had come to me in this condition, rather than requiring 30 minutes of fiddling to get it there. (But frankly, I've had similar issues with every Lamy and Kaweco pen I've ever purchased. I'm somewhat resigned by this point to my bad luck.)

I still think the HighAce Neo is well worth the price if you're looking for a lightweight, compact pen with a Japanese fine nib (especially if you've got better fountain pen karma than I do).

2 people found this helpful
ebenfatto
 
April 11, 2011
Love it very smooth....
Verified Purchase
Love it very smooth.

3 people found this helpful
saberarmin67
 
June 24, 2013
I've gone through five...
Verified Purchase
I've gone through five of these. The darn things keep impressing people, so I keep giving them as gifts, knowing how inexpensive they are to replace.

The nib is great, they're relatively easy on ink, and I love how slim they are. I don't understand the recent trend of fountain pens being fat as a baton.

I'll probably end up buying five more. At least my friends' correspondence will be pretty.

1 person found this helpful
geoff.hayton
 
September 8, 2012
Fantastic pen! I use...
Verified Purchase
Fantastic pen!

I use my pen for mathematics and detailed diagrams, so I have always used F & XF nibs. This pen writes better than the Pelikan Souveran XF that has been my go-to pen for years -- this Sailor nib renders a slightly finer line. Good uniform flow with a uniform line width. I'm using the Sailor black ink in this pen. I prefer a pen that is a little heaver in the hand, but that is just a personal preference. WOW!

1 person found this helpful
 
February 22, 2012
Great value for a fountain...
Verified Purchase
Great value for a fountain pen. The Sailor HighAce writes with a true fine line, but does not feel very scratchy. I normally prefer a medium width nib, but this pen is great when I want a fine line. I purchased black ink cartridges and a converter- both work well in this pen.

1 person found this helpful
katie.dowdle
 
November 12, 2014
If you like the Pilot...
Verified Purchase
If you like the Pilot Penmanship's nib, but want something classier looking, this is your pen! The line this writes is very very similar. I'd say it's pretty similar to my Hi-Tec-C .3 pen. The Neo has slightly less feedback then the Penmanship, but I wouldn't describe it as smooth either. I'd also say it's slightly wetter than the Penmanship. Other reviewers have commented on how cheap the body plastic is, and that's completely true. I wish it felt nicer, but in terms of writing, the upside of this is that if you like a light pen when you write, you can have that, and if you want something heavier, you can post it with a very satisfying click. It's close to Pilot Metropolitan levels of classy clickyness. Overall, this is not a perfect pen, but considering the price (and the nib, if you ilke fine lines), it's pretty great.