My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (13 customer reviews)
Write Review
6 out of 6 people found the following review helpful
  You're buying the nib..., April 19, 2011
You're buying the nib when you get this pen. The body is cheap plastic and only serves to move around what has to be [the] finest nib I've yet to use on a fountain pen. With about a .4mm line, this is what I [expect] when a manufacturer labels their nib "F." If you, like me, actually write using narrow-rule or smaller - this is your pen. Love it.
4 out of 4 people found the following review helpful
  This is a wonderful pen...., July 31, 2012
This is a wonderful pen. It is not as fine as a Pilot, which is good in my opinion. This pen, for me, produces what a fine line should be. It gives a wonderfully smooth feeling when I write with it in my Moleskine or Rhodia notebook.


The pen does have a plastic body, but I still think the colour is attractive.

Consider this...this is my second favourite pen because of how it feels when I write. My favourite pen is a Sailor with a 24K gold nib. But the Neo is a close second. I recommend this to everyone reading this review.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Huge surprise ! After..., June 25, 2012
By kurt
Huge surprise ! After a bad experience with two "Young Profit" pens I had little hope for this but was really wanting a Sailor for the waterproof ink cartridges that I could use for travel drawings. Yeah, it's fit and finish are definitely on the cheap side but so is the cost. The pen performs way out of it's league laying down a smooth, consistent line on all surfaces, all inks. A tiny bit thicker than the Pilot fine (also surprising) but still definitely a fine. Very pleased.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  First of all, fast shipping..., May 7, 2012
First of all, fast shipping on this order. Pen arrived today with blue black ink.

This is an inexpensive pen but it is well constructed. Whether capping or posting, the cap has a nice, secure snap to it. Writing quality and flow is excellent. This pen writes a very fine line. The nib glides across paper. My only suggestion on this pen to the manufacturer would be to offer this pen with a medium and perhaps a broad nib.

Overall, this pen is much, much better than what one would expect at this price point. It is a quality product with an excellent nib. So, if you are on the fence on this one-buy it. You won't regret it.

2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I want to start out with..., April 7, 2012
By jvs...
I want to start out with saying that these pens write nice and fine. The line is fine and for the most part doesn't skip or smudge either. I am new to the whole fountain pen thing, and I would like to say that I am a complete convert to it. I have two of these pens, one black and the other blue. One of them worked from the time I put ink into the converter, the other not so much. It took some time to get the ink to flow in the other one, which wrote on the dry side, and also had lots of skipping. But after going to the LA pen show I found out how to adjust the flow and now it works perfectly. So I would say these are great pens to start any collection of inexpensive fountain pens. They are relatively inexpensive and write quite well for the most part. If they had been a bit more consistent in quality and writing, then I would have gave it another start, but as it stands 4 out of 5 is good for me.
  I love this pen! I'm..., January 24, 2014
By Sco...
I love this pen! I'm totally impressed with this pen and with JetPens' delivery speed. It arrived in the mail only two days after I ordered it! That's amazing! When I received my new pen I opened up the package, put in a cartridge and tested it on an envelope laying on my table. It started writing perfectly almost instantly. I picked this pen based on the excellent reviews it received by customers and by its low affordable price. It totally lives up to all the good things that have been written about it. It writes very smoothly and makes a very clean, fine line that dries very quickly. I ordered the Sailor Ultra black ink along with the pen and it makes a clean dark black line which didn't smudge when I rubbed it with a wet finger.

Big cudos to Sailor Pens for an excellent pen at a great price! Very much worth buying.
   A few months ago,..., July 22, 2013
By aw8...
A few months ago, I decided that I wanted to give fountain pens a try. So, I spent quite a bit of time reading reviews. I was looking for a fountain pen that would have a fine enough tip so that I could write a lot of information in a small space. I was also looking for a pen with a lower price point so that if I didn't like it, I wouldn't be out much money.
The Sailor HighAce Neo Beginner's fountain pen worked out perfectly. The first time I wrote with it, I couldn't believe how smooth it wrote and how fine the nib was. It was exactly what I was looking for. I also bought a pilot petit1, and it is equally great. The Pilot Petit1 fine nib is a bit bolder than the sailor fine nib, and the ink flows a bit faster from pilot petit1 making it a bit smoother to write with, but still the Sailor HighAce Neo writes really smoothly. If you're looking for a fountain pen with a truly fine nib for a fairly low price, I highly recommend the Sailor HighAce Neo.
With regard to the ink drying quickly. I haven't experienced that. I bought the sailor nano ink cartridges, 12 catridges for $10. Not too bad. I write quite a bit everyday, and I seem to go through a cartridge every 4-7 days. They are easy to load, and keep maintenance for the pen low. I run some water through the feeder and nib every time I change the cartridge, and that's about it.
One thing to watch out for is that when you buy the pen, there is no ink cartridge with it; so, you need to buy ink separately when you buy the pen. Otherwise, you'll have a pen that you can't write with.
If you've never used a fountain pen and you're thinking about buying one, you should. Buy a Sailor HighAce Neo and a Pilot Petit1 to start out. You'll be amazed at how great these pens write compared to ballpoints, gel pens, and rollerballs. When I first started writing with mine, it made me regret not giving them a try earlier. I had bought into the idea that they are messy and difficult to maintain. There's only a small amount of truth to that, and any trouble is greatly outweighed by how much better the writing experience with a fountain pen.
  I love the nib on this..., June 17, 2013
I love the nib on this pen! Its smooth - not quite as smooth as my Prera - but exceptionally smooth for the price point. It's quite impressive considering how fine a line the pen puts down. If I were only rating the nib it woudl be a five-star pen, easily.

The asthetics are good and understated. The cap is nice and it posts and caps securly with a very satisfying click. The converter that ifts this pen is a little expensive relative to its price so I used the Sailor ink cartridges. As I am a fan of blue-black inks, I was happy with the offerings from Sailor.

The problem is the plastic body. I know plenty of good fountain pens use plastic bodies but this one is exceptionally cheap feeling. On top of that, mine has cracked under very light use, which was extremely disappointing. I'd happily pay a little more for this pen if Sailor would use a more robust plastic or if they would make an all aluminum version.

  If one desires an inexpensive..., September 9, 2010
By kd7h
If one desires an inexpensive pen with a well-made extra-fine nib (Japanese fine= Euro extra-fine), and excellent ink flow, this is a terrific fountain pen. It writes the way a fountain pen should! No pressing required. The nib glides across the surface of the paper laying down a lovely, narrow line.

I have mine filled with a Sailor blue-black pigment ink cartridge and it handles beautifully. No skipping; no false starts--as a matter of fact, it started writing almost the instant I inserted the cartridge!

For those who like to post the cap of the pen on the barrel while writing, the pen has a nice feature. The cap snaps onto the end of the barrel and won't fall off.
Say I forget to use this pen, and the pigment ink dries out in the feed. If I can't flush it out, no worries! It's not expensive! But I imagine I can clean the feed, if that happens, because all Sailor pens are of good design.
  When I got this pen I..., August 19, 2010
When I got this pen I also got some ink. I used that ink in the pen and it wasn't working right so I got a replacement pen. I used different ink in the new pen and it has worked perfectly since. (I think the ink was bad since every pen I have put it in, it has clogged my pens.) I like that fact that it is very basic, but it writes well. It has turned out to be one of my favorite pens I use daily!
  I purchased this for..., July 5, 2010
I purchased this for my husband and we both think it's a nice, basic pen. We will travel with this pen because it's not something we would get upset about if we were to misplace it.

Full review with photos here: http://simplicityembellished.com/2010/04/sailor-highace-neo-beginner-fountain-p en/
  I had bad experience..., May 14, 2010
I had bad experience with the Pilot Manhattan series, but loved their disposable fountain pen, so i gave Pilot another chance. I'm quite satisfied with the pen, except for the plastic that comes across as somewhat cheap, so i knocked off one star. Recommended.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  TO gurl930: I'm a little..., June 1, 2010
TO gurl930: I'm a little confused (not that I'm trying to be picky or something - just want to make sure that amateurs like me don't get confused): in your post you mentioned the Pilot brand... Did you mean to say/type "Sailor"? If I am not mistaken, Sailor does have a Manhattan line...