JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (30 customer reviews)
Write Review
January 8, 2013
WHY WHY WHY is this product...
Verified Purchase
WHY WHY WHY is this product no longer available?!?! The best pen ever! My old one - which I had a loved and still love - broke. :(

2 people found this helpful
slip.on.ice
 
January 16, 2013
I agree with the reviewer...
Verified Purchase
I agree with the reviewer below. This fountain pen was perfect. No skipping, feathering, leaking, or loose nib. It was a flawless fountain pen, if there ever was one. I can't believe this pen is no longer being made. I hope they bring this pen back soon. I'd be willing to pay up to $50 for this pen.

priscaykim
 
February 3, 2011
This is the pen that...
Verified Purchase
This is the pen that got me interested in using fountain pens again. After using a fat body Waterman and cheapo Shaeffer years ago with medium nibs, I didn't think much of fountain pens.

The thin body and fine Japanese nib were a revelation to me. I didn't know such fountain pens existed.

I found the first on in the Maido store in San Francisco about a year ago and immediately ordered two more from JetPens for my son and daughter.

However, all three of us have found that the pen doesn't travel well. The pen doens't hold up will when being bounced around in backpacks across college campuses or walking to work. All three have developed the same leak around the nib.

I spent some time cleaning mine up and readjusting the nib, but the problem returned in a couple of weeks.

Also, the cap doesn't sit firmly on the back of the pen, so has a tendency to fall off when writing, especially the longer we used the pens.

So...love the pen as an introduction to what a Japanese fine nib fountain pen can be, but I can't recommend it for the long haul, nor as a traveling pen.

 
December 11, 2010
This is the first fountain...
Verified Purchase
This is the first fountain pen that I have owned and it sold me. This pen is fantastic, I love writing with it and now I have 4. I like to keep one for each of my favorite colors of ink, so that I can switch without having to swap cartridges or converters. This pen is so nice that I now have a new hobby and jet pens is the only place that I shop to feed that need. I love this site. At first I couldn't believe that people actually wrote reviews for ink pens!

Now I get it and I'm doing it too.

This pen leaves a very nice clean line that dries quickly. I personally like thin clean lines, even my pencils are 3mm for clean lines. This pen doesn't scratch enough to damage the paper but it scratches enough to give me that "fountain pen" feedback that makes writing with one feel cool.

Highly recommend this pen to anyone, and in fact I do all the time. I also recommend jet pens too.

rocksapper
 
November 30, 2010
This was the first fountain...
Verified Purchase
This was the first fountain pen I purchased, and I have had such great results, I bought one for someone else as a gift (and she has had good results as well). Recommended! In fact, I like it as much as my Lamy, though it will dry out more quickly than the Lamy.

nycteris_a
 
November 30, 2010
I LOVE this pen. It writes...
Verified Purchase
I LOVE this pen. It writes consistently, never gives me grief. (I always use it with good paper and notebooks, though. On regular paper it blobs a bit). It is slim and smooth. Thanks for the tip about converters, fellow-reviewer!

 
November 22, 2010
I have 4 Sailor pens....
Verified Purchase
I have 4 Sailor pens. My favorite one is still my 21 kt it doesn't dry out as long as you use the cap. But I wanted a pen I could rake outside the house and this one fits the bill.

 
November 10, 2010
This has become my favorite...
Verified Purchase
This has become my favorite pen to use with my DayTimer. The line does spread ink in the DayTimer daily pages, but it seems to be the paper DayTimer uses (cheap). The line is thin on DayTimer add-on sheets and in my Moleskine. The pen keeps its nice classy looks. Since it's mini-sized it fits fine into my moderately small DayTimer leather portfolio, which contains daily pocket pages along with notebook split rings for add-on pages (no, DayTimer apparently doesn't make it anymore, unfortunately.) Not bad at all for the money.

EdStone52
 
August 18, 2010
Not a huge fan of the...
Verified Purchase
Not a huge fan of the writing action, not smooth on run of the mill paper. The size is interesting, it's definitely smaller than average but with the cap works well in my large hands.

 
July 28, 2010
Wow this thing is tiny....
Verified Purchase
Wow this thing is tiny. For those of you looking for a pocket pen - this is perfect. Because the pen casing is metal, there's a nice weight to it, even for it's size. For those of you that are looking to use BOTTLE INK, there is a CONVERTER. Just google: Sailor Ink Converter for Chalana. I bought mine from SwisherPens.com for $7.50 + 5.25 shipping. These converters are also sold at artbrown.com for $7.00 as I discovered later. WARNING - the converter is a piston converter and holds a very SMALL amount of ink. You're going to feel like a giant holding it but it fits the pen and provides an alternative to you bottle ink lovers.

susan.h.hwang