JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.6 (19 customer reviews)
Write Review
September 25, 2012
Like a previous reviewer...
Verified Purchase
Like a previous reviewer mentioned. Sadly design of this pen has changed.
Prior to the change, this pen was one of my favorite EF fountain pens. In terms of smoothness and fineness, it outperforms many pens 10x the price. I bought another one as a backup two months ago. When I opened it today, I was surprised to that the pen looked different. Instead of the really long slender nib, the pen now spots a shorted stouter nib that is stiffer and not as smooth. Not that it mattered to me, but the metallic ring between the pen section and the body is gone as well. JetPens still has the picture of the older design on the site. The model number of the picture of the old pen says "11-0072-120". The new one spots a model number of "11-0073-120". You can see a picture of the new design at : http://sailorshop.jp/SHOP/11-0073-120.html. I wished I could have learned of the switch sooner.

7 people found this helpful
 
October 19, 2010
I love this pen, It is...
Verified Purchase
I love this pen, It is the finest extra fine I own Parkers, Shaeffers, Pilots I have one hero 616 that is almost, but not quite this fine, I polished the Nib to get it as smooth as possible. I find myself using it more and more as my first choice, of the dozens of pens lying out to use. I even put a slide-on chrome pencil clip on the taper so i can carry in a pocket the cap twists on tightly enough to work very well. When the two supplied cartridges get empty I will refill them with Noodler's "no feather"ink (very dark and archival) great pen for the money spent and it just feels classy in your hand. Now if if my hand writing were just legible!

7 people found this helpful
ron-fisher
 
July 5, 2012
NEW-NOT-IMPROVED-VERSION...
Verified Purchase
NEW-NOT-IMPROVED-VERSION (July 7, 2012)
I bought this pen and the Platinum Carbon back in January 2012. Love both pens for slight differences. And for their great price I was able to buy both.
My complaint is that when I received my new, second Sailor today I noticed that it looked a little different than the one that I bought in January. After I compared it the the two I see that the nib and nib casing are completely different. The body looks the same to the naked eye but the cap fits differently.
This new pen is scratchy and the nib is stiffer than the one that I bought in January. I will continue to work at breaking this one in, though I don't remember having to "break-in" the older one. It's still a nice product, but if I'd have bought this version first I may have never bought a second one.
I read all the reviews and no one has seemed to notice this idiosyncrasy. So I write this mostly for those of you who are purchasing a second or third pen and expecting the old version.

5 people found this helpful
lesliebrenden
 
October 4, 2010
I love my Sailor pen....
Verified Purchase
I love my Sailor pen. I don't have a ton of experience with fountain pens, but I like it more than the Pilot Varsity pens I've been using. I have had no problems with the ink drying on the nib, and I've only used one cartridge in several weeks (not doing a ton of writing though).
My cap snaps on nicely, absolutely no trouble. The ink is a good color and it writes nicely for an inexpensive pen. I strongly recommend this if you are debating it...

3 people found this helpful
navintzac
 
October 12, 2012
This is an exceptional...
Verified Purchase
This is an exceptional fountain pen for everyday use. The EF nib is just that, extra fine. I purchased two of these fountain pens to give them a spin and found the performance actually rivaled my more expensive fountain pens. I use it for daily writing at work and I would recommend this fountain pen to anyone who may be considering the writing experience of a fountain pen but not yet willing to make that financial commitment towards a more expensive instrument. Also, should you find yourself misplacing this fountain pen; the cost would be considerably negligible when compared to losing a more expensive fountain pen. I read some of the reviews that comment on the “scratchy” feel of this fountain pen on paper. I personally found this fountain pen’s performance on the grades of paper I’ve used to be adequate. Were I to use my “finer” paper for correspondence and such, I would more than likely switch out to my more expensive; Pelikan, Kaweco, Pilot or Waterford… But again, for simple everyday use, this really is a great fountain pen for the price.
I will definitely purchase several more of these Sailor pens to give as gifts with journals to loved ones and a few more for myself of course...;-)

2 people found this helpful
jetta4door
 
September 5, 2011
This is solid fountain...
Verified Purchase
This is solid fountain pen with a fine line but it doesn't compare to the lamy safari which is only ever so slightly wider but has a much much smoother nib and ergonomic body. Slightly more fine than the pilot desk pen but slightly scratchy and not fine or flexible enough for Spencerian calligraphy which is why I bought it. Good value and I love that it's recycled but the lamy safari extra fine is far superior for a similar line

3 people found this helpful
karenkedong
 
April 4, 2011
Absolutely love this...
Verified Purchase
Absolutely love this pen. Comes with awesome ink. The nib is very fine and smooth. Though when you first out in the ink cartridge it takes a minute or two for you to get a nice flow. Love it :)

1 person found this helpful
saberarmin67
 
March 18, 2011
This pen is a great surprise!...
Verified Purchase
This pen is a great surprise! writes really fine and ink flows well...not too wet, not too dry, just perfect.

1 person found this helpful
 
May 11, 2014
I bought this so I could...
Verified Purchase
I bought this so I could experiment cheaply with a converter, and found I had a great pen. I love the shape of it, how streamlined it is once the cap is removed. It's very unusual but elegant. Writing with it is easy. The pen nib does have a stiffer feel than some other pens I have used, but it hasn't had any effect on the performance. Ink flow is good and doesn't skip. Great quality and great price.

bluesun5040
 
July 13, 2013
I had the earlier incarnation...
Verified Purchase
I had the earlier incarnation of this pen (April 2011), and I LOVED it because of the long nib and the extremely fine point. It was perfect for writing postcards, especially with Noodler's Heart of Darkness ink in the cartridge. I lost it, though. And I knew I would be getting a different pen when I reordered, but I thought I could make it work. I can, but I'm really not happy with the new design. It is still quite fine, but the shorter nib means that I don't have as much control, especially when I'm writing as a passenger in the car, which is where I do a great deal of my postcard writing. The bumpy ride is easier to manage with the longer nib ... my writing stays smooth. So now my mail will be a bit more wobbly, but this is still the best pen for postcards (I send 20 or more a week).