JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.1 (14 customer reviews)
Write Review
March 12, 2011
This used to be my go-to...
Verified Purchase
This used to be my go-to white pen of choice (before I discovered Uni-Ball's white pens). It has a nice consistent line and on plain paper it works very well; for most people who will only be using it to write on dark paper, they're excellent pens.

However, for what I use white pens for (drawing highlights overtop of marker colored drawings), often it would soak up the pigment from the marker underneath and turn a light shade of that color, rather than a flat white. If that's a look that you want (a lightly colored mark to match the color under it, instead of just flat bold white), than these work very well. However, if you want your white pen to be WHITE, no matter what, I'd try a different pen.

7 people found this helpful
LizardbethArt
 
October 4, 2013
Simple...Best white ink...
Simple...Best white ink pen I have used.
I use copics and adding highlights to my character's eyes are a lot easier with this. The ink is nice and very white. The price is great. But it's not meant to do a large area. Small to medium areas.
Overall, recommend this.

4 people found this helpful
judotaterbug
 
July 1, 2013
I draw quite a bit, so...
Verified Purchase
I draw quite a bit, so having a good white pen for 'shines' is important to me. The Gelly Roll works pretty well, probably the best pen I've found so far (not that it's had much competition). The ink is thin enough that it's not too cakey, but thick enough that one good layer of it does the job. The only big problem I've really had is that the ink I use on my drawings is NOT compatible with this at all (the ink is not water-proof, but is alcohol marker proof). Thank God I tested it before using it on a real drawing, the pen swirls about the ink as if it were dipped in black. If used with other Sakura pens though, it works like a charm. Overall, good pen.

3 people found this helpful
LilMissFangirl
 
January 4, 2012
Really great pen! It...
Really great pen! It does as well as the Uni-Ball Signo Broad in white but good for spot work and half the cost.

This pen works twice as well as Pentel Sunburst Gel in white and Pentel Hybrid Gel pens but again, not nearly as costly. I've two and am glad of the investment.

http://fc01.deviantart.net/fs71/f/2011/364/7/c/white_ink_tests_by_colanah-d4kqd qu.png

3 people found this helpful
koinijikoimizu
 
January 3, 2015
It's ok but the pentel...
Verified Purchase
It's ok but the pentel hybrid gel grip is way better

 
December 25, 2014
I used these pens for...
Verified Purchase
I used these pens for drawing in black and white inks on tan paper. The white pens worked very well, gave a consistent, opaque white line. Just what I wanted.

hamartolos
 
December 19, 2014
I use this pen all the...
Verified Purchase
I use this pen all the time in my multi-media art projects. It works great on dark surfaces and flows on smooth.

 
November 7, 2014
Fun, sometimes a little...
Verified Purchase
Fun, sometimes a little blobby, but excellent on black paper.

liralenli
 
November 7, 2014
The Sakura gelly roll...
Verified Purchase
The Sakura gelly roll pen is create to use when you need to draw a fine white line.

msschuering
 
November 2, 2014
not a bad pen,, I mean,...
Verified Purchase
not a bad pen,,
I mean, for the price that it is, this pen does a pretty good job. But, as expected for the shockingly low price, there are always drawbacks that make this pen less attractive.
1. Not a thick, consistent line. Say you have an alcohol-based marker, and you want to cover up a spot where you went outside of the lines. Is it going to cover it 100%? No. Will it cover sufficiently? Yes. About 60-70% (Which isn't desirable, but you are paying less than two dollars for this pen, so you have to deal with it.)

2. Line hollows out in the middle. So you have a dark surface, and drawing a simple straight line will prove this point easily. Even with a brand new pen, fresh out of the packaging and shaken a few times for ink consistency, this pen will pull ink, but it will look like two lines with space in between them instead of one thick line.

3. Not purely white. Doesn't make that much sense, since it's sole purpose is to be pure white, but whatever. Draw on a black surface. Dried watercolor ink, alcohol markers like Prismacolor/ Copic, whatever. The jelly pen will look light gray, not 100% white.

END:
Do I reccomend it? Yeah, it's not too bad. Most of the time you'll get what you're looking for with this cheap pen. I've been using them for about a year now, and starting buying the different colors at Michaels.
Is it a good white pen? I guess. I have yet to find a better one, and these last a pretty long time as long as you are using them constantly. Letting them sit un-used is a reaaallly bad idea (it ruined a brand new pen for me!) ((I've boughten a bunch of these))
Is it worth the price? Yes. Because 9/10 times, if you're buying a white ink pen for this price, it's your first one, and it will be the best thing in the world to you until you find a slightly more expensive better one.
So give it a try! Every time I place a JetPens order, my friends all make me order a few of these and pay me back when the order comes.

good luck