1 - 10 of 14 |  | 
I love this pencil sharpener....
December 15, 2014
Verified Purchase
I love this pencil sharpener. It's really cute and practical. It's definitely the best pencil sharpener I've used so far.
Mine does also have the same kind of problem with the opening not closing properly after a while, but I managed to find a way around it. I simply just turn the wheel a little extra and then turn it back a little and that usually closes the opening for me.
Of course, this might be something that only works for me, but I thought it was worth mentioning.
4 people found this helpful
I was in love with this...
December 17, 2013
Verified Purchase
I was in love with this sharpener when it first came in the mail. It sharpened everything neatly and quickly. But after a while the automatic closure stopped closing, getting my pencil case covered in muck, and it's a pain to remove the shavings.
3 people found this helpful
The best pencil sharpener...
October 1, 2015
Verified Purchase
The best pencil sharpener I've ever used. It's a product straight from Japan, but it works precisely as described. It allows me to use my normal No.2 pencils to my super soft artist coloring pencils all with the same sharpener.

In my honest opinion there are only two things worth noting -
(1) the 'door' to close the sharpener doesn't fully close after about a week of use, but that's not really an issue as the shavings don't fall out and it still allows for variable cut angles.
(2) The assembly is essentially clipped plastic, and will disperse when dropped. This will only arise if you drop it on a firm surface and it separates. Even so, it can easily be popped back together. It'll give you an appreciation of the ingenuous simplicity in the sharpener's design. I recommend using a dab of super glue on the two larger outer enclosures (NOT the shaving emptying cover!) to give the device that extra secure seal.

All in all, I have two of these for myself (one work and one play) and I kept finding my one at home missing because my fiancee would commandeer it, so I finally got her one of her own. I highly recommend this device if you use analog pencils with varying lead/stroke ultimate yield strength (aka break point). Hope this helps.
2 people found this helpful
I've used it for sharpening...
July 30, 2014
Verified Purchase
I've used it for sharpening a bunch of pencils and color pencils. It's great when I need to sharpen a color pencil, but I don't want to shave away too much of the color lead. I also love how it can has a close option so the shavings don't spill everywhere!
2 people found this helpful
I love this sharpener....
May 20, 2016
Verified Purchase
I love this sharpener. It's perfect. It has 6 different sizes you can use. I personally love the smallest one. If you're an artist you'll love the different options in sizes.
This review is excerpted...
May 18, 2016
Verified Purchase
This review is excerpted from my blog, I Sniff Books, you can visit my original post to view additional text and lots of photos: https://isniffbooks.wordpress.com/2016/04/19/product-review-kutsuwa-stad-tgaal- pencil-sharpener/

The Kutsuwa Stad T’Gaal Pencil Sharpener, or T’Gaal for short, is *the* pencil sharpener that *everyone* has been talking about social media.

Why is everyone getting so excited about the T’Gaal pencil sharpener? Well for one, it’s relatively inexpensive but it still has a high-quality blade for sharpening. But most of the excitement is because you can adjust the sharpening angle to choose how much colored pigment (lead) will be exposed — this may prolong the life of your pencils. There are five different settings for you to choose from when sharpening your precious pencils.

All in all, I am *quite* pleased with my T’Gaal sharpener and I have been having lots of fun sharpening my pencils — “3” is my preferred setting. I have had my t'gaal for about a month now and the "opening" no longer closes properly but that isn't an issue for me since I don't travel with my t'gaal.
Genius little sharpe...
May 12, 2016
Verified Purchase
Genius little sharpener
Sharpens nicely, but...
May 6, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sharpens nicely, but can be set to cut the pencil point short enough to support heavy-handed pressure without snapping off the point while writing.
My criticism is that the plastic cover that's supposed to cover the hole the pencil is inserted into doesn't work- on either of the two of these I have-but I can live with that.
Believe it or not, this...
May 6, 2016
Verified Purchase
Believe it or not, this is the BEST pencil sharpener I have ever owned (and I have tried them all, including electric sharpeners). I'm about to put in an order for several more or so that I have one at my desk, in my briefcase, and as a spare! This little gem is a MUST HAVE.
Sharp and useful for...
March 15, 2016
Verified Purchase
Sharp and useful for different pencils, but sometimes doesn't close all the way, allowing the pencil shavings to fall out.
1 - 10 of 14 |  |