JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (23 customer reviews)
Write Review
April 2, 2011
This pencil is rock solid!...
Verified Purchase
This pencil is rock solid! The grip is slightly wider than a rotring 600 or 500 which to me is a very good thing. The outside is all aluminum and provides an ideal balance point for me (around the middle). I wish the grip would be a little wider and longer but it is still very tactile and i know it will not slip. The small eraser is standard to all drafting mech. pencils and it came with a pin in it to clear jams.

Overall I think that this is a very plain and precise pencil. Exactly what it should be in my mind. It does not distract me and i don't worry about it failing when writing. Its just an extension of my hand, ready to take on any math or science problem. The price is even lower than its competitors (rotring 600, platinum pro use 1500, etc)

12 people found this helpful
craig_sullivan4
 
November 3, 2010
Absolutely beautiful...
Verified Purchase
Absolutely beautiful pencil.

Design: I love the silver color, and it has a very solid, aluminum feel to it. I doubt I'd ever break this.

Grip: I haven't written for extended amounts of time with this beauty yet, but the grip feels just right for my fingers, and I don't think this is going to slip out of my fingers within its lifespan.

Mechanism: The lead feed feels natural and, I-don't-know-how-to-describe, powerful. It has a very satisfying click for each lead advance.

Overall; you CANNOT go wrong with this.

8 people found this helpful
hippocheese14
 
November 9, 2012
I can't get enough of...
Verified Purchase
I can't get enough of the knurled grip. I want to rub it all over my body. I also like the tactile response of the lead advancement button. I want to click it all over my body.

6 people found this helpful
 
September 9, 2011
I agree with all of the...
Verified Purchase
I agree with all of the reviews on this pencil but for some reason, the pencil that I received rattles a little bit when I hold the pencil a certain way. It's not a huge problem but it may be irritating for others. Otherwise, it's an awesome pencil

3 people found this helpful
julian.yi26
 
April 7, 2011
Another solid performer...
Verified Purchase
Another solid performer in the Staedtler line of drafting pencils. I purchased this item to use daily as my main writing instrument. So far it met my expectations for comfort, reliability, and performance. Simply does what's built for. Highly recommended.

3 people found this helpful
adam.dabrowski
 
October 3, 2010
I just bought a 0.5mm...
Verified Purchase
I just bought a 0.5mm pencil and its amazing! This was my first time buying a mechanical pencil that costs more than $3! The grip is sooo nice, and the weight makes it even better. This pencil has made me take more notes in my classes! :)

I bought this and the OHTO 505P, I prefer this one over the OHTO because of its weight and the fact that OHTO's grip is a bit too high for me....

Overall, I'd recommend this pencil to anyone who writes a lot. Also, if its not too much hassle, buy the 0.3mm one. It'll give you even sharper writing.

3 people found this helpful
purohit_pk
 
April 20, 2014
4 YEARS LATER: For...
Verified Purchase
4 YEARS LATER:

For the past four years, I've used this pencil faithfully. I can say with 100% confidence that I have not ANY other pencil in the past four years for more than 10 mins.

Pros:
- Weight: 925 has a perfect weight for a guy who writes with a heavy hand.
- Grip: the diamond grip is all metal and feels good in my hands. I tend to hold pencils really strongly but the grip doesn't hurt my finger tips at all.
- Design/Appearance: it is absolutely _gorgeous_ pencil.
- ... and everything that is not mentioned in Cons section.

Cons:
- Care: you have to be very careful handling this pencil. I have already broken one (and I thought I broke another one but it wasn't broken!).

I use the plastic cover it came in along with the in-ear headphones' padding to protect the tip from damage in a backpack/pencil case. (http://static.trustedreviews.com/94/9dd459/6d93/10383-aiehfront.jpg the white fuzzy thing...)

If you drop it, it's bye-bye $20..! If anyone has any other way of handling this pencil well in a backpack, let me know! :D

1 person found this helpful
purohit_pk
 
November 15, 2014
Great pencil with excellent...
Verified Purchase
Great pencil with excellent balance (below center), lead choice and knurl. The lead choice allows for crisp clean lines when writing or drawing and the knurl feels really good as well. The pencil overall is heavier than I thought it would be lighter than more expensive brands.

Good purchases...I'm definitely happy about this one.

 
July 15, 2014
for me best pencil, better...
for me best pencil, better then rotring 600, best grip

radojko.andric
 
April 5, 2014
This pencil is one of...
Verified Purchase
This pencil is one of my favorites of my little collection.
Pros:
The grip is ridiculously grippy for being knurled

The balance point of this pencil is a little bit lower than the middle, which is great!

All metal, feels extremely professional

Cons:
May be a tad bit thin for some, but i love it

For being $4 more than the pentel graphgear 1000, the nib is still not retractable

(I would give this pencil a 4.5 if i could)

dylansorenson47