My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.7 (20 customer reviews)
Write Review
11 out of 11 people found the following review helpful
  This pencil is rock solid!..., April 2, 2011
By cra...
This pencil is rock solid! The grip is slightly wider than a rotring 600 or 500 which to me is a very good thing. The outside is all aluminum and provides an ideal balance point for me (around the middle). I wish the grip would be a little wider and longer but it is still very tactile and i know it will not slip. The small eraser is standard to all drafting mech. pencils and it came with a pin in it to clear jams.

Overall I think that this is a very plain and precise pencil. Exactly what it should be in my mind. It does not distract me and i don't worry about it failing when writing. Its just an extension of my hand, ready to take on any math or science problem. The price is even lower than its competitors (rotring 600, platinum pro use 1500, etc)
7 out of 7 people found the following review helpful
  Absolutely beautiful..., November 3, 2010
Absolutely beautiful pencil.

Design: I love the silver color, and it has a very solid, aluminum feel to it. I doubt I'd ever break this.

Grip: I haven't written for extended amounts of time with this beauty yet, but the grip feels just right for my fingers, and I don't think this is going to slip out of my fingers within its lifespan.

Mechanism: The lead feed feels natural and, I-don't-know-how-to-describe, powerful. It has a very satisfying click for each lead advance.

Overall; you CANNOT go wrong with this.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I can't get enough of..., November 9, 2012
I can't get enough of the knurled grip. I want to rub it all over my body. I also like the tactile response of the lead advancement button. I want to click it all over my body.
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  I agree with all of the..., September 9, 2011
I agree with all of the reviews on this pencil but for some reason, the pencil that I received rattles a little bit when I hold the pencil a certain way. It's not a huge problem but it may be irritating for others. Otherwise, it's an awesome pencil
3 out of 3 people found the following review helpful
  Another solid performer..., April 7, 2011
Another solid performer in the Staedtler line of drafting pencils. I purchased this item to use daily as my main writing instrument. So far it met my expectations for comfort, reliability, and performance. Simply does what's built for. Highly recommended.
2 out of 2 people found the following review helpful
  I just bought a 0.5mm..., October 3, 2010
I just bought a 0.5mm pencil and its amazing! This was my first time buying a mechanical pencil that costs more than $3! The grip is sooo nice, and the weight makes it even better. This pencil has made me take more notes in my classes! :)

I bought this and the OHTO 505P, I prefer this one over the OHTO because of its weight and the fact that OHTO's grip is a bit too high for me....

Overall, I'd recommend this pencil to anyone who writes a lot. Also, if its not too much hassle, buy the 0.3mm one. It'll give you even sharper writing.
  I used this pencil for..., April 8, 2014
By yua...
I used this pencil for about a week, and then the lead started jamming in the pencil, and eventually it got to the point that the pencil didn't work anymore. To have a pencil of this price jam in a week is unacceptable.
  This pencil is one of..., April 5, 2014
This pencil is one of my favorites of my little collection.
Pros:
The grip is ridiculously grippy for being knurled

The balance point of this pencil is a little bit lower than the middle, which is great!

All metal, feels extremely professional

Cons:
May be a tad bit thin for some, but i love it

For being $4 more than the pentel graphgear 1000, the nib is still not retractable

(I would give this pencil a 4.5 if i could)
  I have tried many of..., February 19, 2014
By jpf...
I have tried many of these and find this one to be just about perfect. I gave it an extra star because I was easily able to remove the clip. That's my number one requirement for a drafting pencil - get rid of the clip; first thing I do!
I also like the aluminum body, the knurled finish is very nice and I even like the graphics! It doesn't feel like a $20 pencil but worth the price.
  First impressions, I..., January 8, 2014
First impressions, I think that the pencil is a bit too short for my liking, perhaps a cm longer. After using it, I see that the grade indicator is a bit hard to change. The rotring 600 has the best idea, placing the indicator right befour the cap. Also I don't like the cap of this. I think it would be better to have a sleek cap like the rotring or graphgear 1000. I like this pencil better than the graphgear 1000 because of the all knurled grip, and thinner profile. 4.25/5
  Greatest drafting pencil..., March 31, 2013
Greatest drafting pencil I've ever used. Perfect weight, balance and grip. However the inability to retract the guide pipe makes me a bit paranoid about breaking it.
  This pencil ROCKS!! ..., March 13, 2013
This pencil ROCKS!! There is nothing bad with this thing all pros to me. I like the decent size shaft from the grip its not to long or short
  this pencil is absolutely..., February 5, 2013
By yua...
this pencil is absolutely AMAZING! it is so durable and solid. Love it!
  Best investment ever! I..., January 28, 2013
Best investment ever!
I used the Steadtler Regulator and the tip somehow... sunk in?
I haven't even used it for that long. ;u;

This pencil is much more durable. Though it doesn't have the length adjuster feature, it's still feels good to hold in my hand. I love the grip. I have rather small hands or at least according to a bunch of people I know, so the grip is perfect for me.
  I've owned this pencil..., September 16, 2012
By shu...
I've owned this pencil for over a year now and use it as my primary writing device. It is solid feeling, durable, and really fun to write with. I plan on it lasting many years to come.
  You just can't go wrong..., August 19, 2010
You just can't go wrong with the 925 series. They are perfect.
  This is a beautiful pencil...., July 13, 2010
This is a beautiful pencil. The grip didn't make my skin hurt and it made my hand fit to pencil the way I would like, so there is no slippage. It is a super professional looking drafting pencil and oh man, I am happy I got it. I mean look at it.
  My favorite .5mm it is..., June 9, 2010
By mo....
My favorite .5mm it is a touch lighter than the Rotring 600, but the lead advance is so solid and smooth, every time I click it, it is such a satisfying CLICK, its hard to describe this, but its so smooth and precise, the grip is nice, a little bit wider than the Rotring 600, the lead indicator is in a great spot and is very secure so you cant move it without intending to move it. $15 pencil worth every penny.
  These pencils are great...., June 3, 2010
These pencils are great. I love that they complement the 2mm in the set. My only complaint is that they do not have the large range of lead grades to select like the 2mm.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Lets face it most people..., September 30, 2013
Lets face it most people at one point are going to drop this pencil, and when you do you'll either bend the tip beyond repair or you'll forever have a pencil with a slightly bent tip. Save a bit more a get a pencil with a retractable tip or buy a cheaper pencil.
Also, I could never get the barrel to stay screwed out. I'd be taken notes and the barrel would loosen, however this problem was solved with a drop of olive oil on the threads