1 - 9 of 9 | 
I cannot say enough good...
April 10, 2013
Verified Purchase
I cannot say enough good things about this product. I have grown to adore nearly anything with the word "Staedtler" on it. The only thing I would change is that I would make this a five pen set instead of four. There are five pen sizes, and all are included here minus the 0.05mm. I purchased I separately, but it would be nice to have them all in the nifty little Staedtler box (tha is very handy and convenient, it even stands up at an angle!). The 0.05 lays such a crisp fine line, if only it were included... I just don't want to have to relocate these pens to a different box/pouch! Oh well. Product is fantastic. The lines are dark, beautiful, and precise. Also, JetPens has the absolute best shipping speed and customer service that I have ever experienced!
4 people found this helpful
felicia.davis
I've kept a set of these...
October 26, 2011
I've kept a set of these pigment markers in my "man purse" for years and have often been exceedingly glad of it.

The case makes it very convenient to carry around and while the easel top is nifty, but the pressure it puts on the pens makes it somewhat awkward to slide one out. The lid does fold back and present the pens, but it also places pressure on the pen caps. This isn't that big a deal if you're fairly dexterous and can pull on a pen while pushing lightly on the closed and folded lid, but I've always seen it as a design flaw; great idea, not-so-great design.

The markers themselves have been handy for everything from labeling CDs/DVDs to jotting notes on the run. I don't actually use them that often for drawing since I prefer to use a customized fountain pen with an exceptionally flexible nib or rapidograph pens, but they've been my go-to alternative to Sharpies ever since I first discovered them.

As with other fiber-tip, pigment markers, you do have to be mindfull of possible tip glazing but a few swipes on a piece of scrap paper usually takes care of any issues.

The ink itself is dark (with respect to the line widths) and I've never had any complaints about it or its permanence.

As for longevity, keep in mind that it varies depending on the width of the tip. The .7mm marker will run through ink about seven times more quickly than the .1mm marker. This hasn't often been an issue for me since I'm most likely to use the .1 or .3mm but having the .7mm handy has been very convenient on more than a few occasions.

Another slight issue I've had is that the clips aren't really that sturdy. I'm not sure how long the anchoring "tabs" are on the inside of the caps, but I've had more than one loosen up outrageously after only moderate use. It's not really that big a deal since I most often keep them in the case, but it might be an issue for others.

HTH.
3 people found this helpful
Completely AWESOME! Ok,...
January 13, 2014
Verified Purchase
Completely AWESOME! Ok, let me clarify that a little better...the 0.7mm, the 0.5mm and the 0.3mm are just amazing instruments to write with. I bought the four pack on a whim, wanting to try out the different nib sizes. The only reason I'm not a huge fan of the 0.1mm is it just looks too frail and the line is a little weak in output...but it is only 0.1mm.

As for the rest of the pack, if you want a commanding stroke of pitch black ink and you want it to remain on your paper until the paper rots (according to the manufacturer) these pens are amazing. There is a slight amount of drying time one you put the pen to paper, but once the ink is dry you're good to go. Personally, I think they need to make a "pretty version" of this pen as the 0.7mm tip is amazing at signatures!
1 person found this helpful
I've had these pens for...
January 23, 2013
I've had these pens for a long time now. Even though I didn't get the pen here, it still is a very nice pen. I would reccomend these to other people. The case isn't really a good case though.
1 person found this helpful
Christopher.Daynos.829
Awesome!...
June 24, 2015
Verified Purchase
Awesome!
I wanted to try these...
March 13, 2015
Verified Purchase
I wanted to try these after falling in love with the Sakura Pigma Micron pens but always looking for something a little better. I use these mainly for zentangle and writing.

I have a very light hand and have found these pens don't skip and seem to last a little longer than the Sakura Pigma Microns. I like the carrying case but don't like the barrels' textured surface. I usually just use the .1 and .3, occasionally using the .7.

Oddly, the Sakura Pigma Micron 005 (.2 width) and the .1 Staedtler seem to be about the same line width to me, maybe because I write lightly.

I'm going to try the .05 Staedtler, hopefully it's significantly finer.
(cross-posted from my...
February 11, 2015
Verified Purchase
(cross-posted from my review of the 0.1)

A workhorse technical pen, and I do mean WORK. I've used these for 15 years now, and they're consistent, dependable, and easy to use.

I tend to press a bit too hard when I draw, so the nibs soften and split before the pen actually runs dry, which is the reason I'm giving this four stars instead of five. YMMV.

For me the 0.3 gets the most use, followed by the 0.1, so often I'll buy those singly since I have leftover 0.5 and 0.7 pens from other four-packs.
Howard Tayler
I am an artist and I...
January 22, 2015
Verified Purchase
I am an artist and I use your Staedtler Pigment Liners on all my value sketches. They are the best and they last over time without drying out. It is so nice to have different sizes to use on various parts of the sketch. Laney Hicks
sunnybankstudio
Bought these as a stocking...
January 5, 2015
Verified Purchase
Bought these as a stocking stuffer for my husband. He loves them! He loves the quality of line they create and they are not prone to smearing.
1 - 9 of 9 |