My Account  |  My Wish List  |  Log In  |  Blog
JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.5 (20 customer reviews)
Write Review
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Great pencil, only gripe..., August 1, 2012
By wlu...
Great pencil, only gripe is that the regulator/cap seems to rattle - same thing seems to be happening to others...
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I just received my regulator..., March 18, 2011
I just received my regulator .5 and a previous review was right. It's like the BMW M3 of drafting pencils. Top of the line...and probably the best mid-range drafting pencil out there. I was looking to by the best and I'm pretty sure that I found it.

Pros:
- All metal. Feels great and looks super sick :D
- Best looking drafting pencil on this site and other sites.
- The clip looks way better than the graphgear pencils.
- The top of the pencil (where it says .5) looks awesome
- The grip is really nice. I use alpha gels a lot, but they've been stuck in my pencil case ever since I got this. ^^
-The regulator functions exactly how Jetpens said it would.
- Nice weight. Actually, wait...never mind. AWESOME weight.

Cons
- There's a little nub on the clip that's super strong. Therefore, it's impossible to clip sheets of paper. While the clip looks nicer than the graphgear clip, the graphgear clip is much more useful whereas this clip is just for looks and so the pencil doens't roll down your desk.
-There's a rattling sound when you write. I'm not sure where it's from though. I assume it's coming from the regulator part of the pencil.
- The tip doesn't retract. :/ This is a concern because i don't want it to get bent in my backpack or anything. (Thinking of buying a separate case that only holds 1 pencil)
- The visual appeal of the regulator isn't as nice as I thought it would be. I thought there would be a plastic window or something over it and that the black "tank" was filled with a liquid or something. No such luck. When you turn the regulator, the painted metal piece inside simply turns and "fills" the tank/window. Oh well.
-
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Got the pencil today,..., March 9, 2011
Got the pencil today, to be honest a little disappointed. The click isn't smooth and if you shake it the top part of the pencil moves. Other then that its a fine pencil.
1 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  Awesome looking pencil...., January 3, 2011
Awesome looking pencil. Really like the look of it, especially the cap.
I haven't had the lead breakage problem yet, but it's just in it's first week.
The grip isn't as firm/rugged as the 925-25 series grips.
  This pencil is really..., December 25, 2013
By bra...
This pencil is really great. I own two Staedtlers (the 925-25 and the Regulator).

Out of the two, the 925-25 is probably the better one. While the Regulator has the neat function of regulating the amount of lead dispensed, the 925-25's knurling is much sturdier, and overall the design is simpler. The 925-25 is also much lighter than the Regulator.

It's still a really nice pencil, and a nice addition to any collection.
  I personally love the..., April 26, 2013
I personally love the "rattle" of this pencil. Its a heavy solid metal rattle, like it was designed to do it. This is a high quality tool for cheap and has served me well for over a year now. Jetpens is awesome!
  It's not firm. The length..., January 28, 2013
By jus...
It's not firm. The length wheel doesn't stick and I find myself fixing it when I draw a lot.
The frame rattles as well. Not as great of an investment but I still like it for shading. C:
  Very durable pencil for..., September 29, 2011
Very durable pencil for drawing or taking notes. The grip is very well made because it's a knurled grip but it's been smoothed out so it's not hard on your hand but yet the grip works amazing. Also the regulator is a great addition for the pencil.
  I am very happy with..., February 22, 2010
By 777...
I am very happy with this pencil. The grip is comfortable, it feels nice while writing, and it looks like something you would find in the hands of an engineer or architect. Overall I give it 5/5, but one minor annoyance keeps it from being perfect.

My only concern is that if you shake it, the regulator wheel assembly rattles against the barrel of the pencil. I feel like Staedtler could have sized the diameter of the regulator wheel a bit larger so that it did not rattle, while still keeping it loose enough to rotate freely. Perhaps this is just a tolerance issue, who knows. This problem is not apparent when writing, it just takes away from the 'solid feel'. I am curious if other people notice this.

To address problems previously mentioned- as far as the lead grade indicator nut, I cant imagine it will unscrew over time if you tighten it well; I don't see this being a problem. Regarding the snapped leads- as long as you don't constantly change the regulator level, you shouldn't have problems with breaking leads.

Good job Staedtler on the nice design, if you fix the rattle problem this pencil would be perfect!
  the eraser refill is..., February 21, 2010
the eraser refill is the pilot ones in the purple box
  the eraser refill is..., February 21, 2010
the eraser refill is the pilot ones in the purple box
  the eraser refill is..., February 21, 2010
the eraser refill is the pentel ones in the purple box
  Very pretty pencil, and..., February 1, 2010
By jim
Very pretty pencil, and the weight is pretty nice... most drafting pencils are far too light for my tastes.

However, the regulator aspect of this pencil will far too frequently snap the led mid-shaft when you adjust it. It really is just a gimmick and it results in a lot of wasted lead. I am moving on to a different model as the annoyance quickly overcomes the novelty of the new toy.

Thanks to JetPens for replacing the first one I got after the tip was bent in the package during shipping.
  what kind of eraser refills..., January 23, 2010
By imb...
what kind of eraser refills will fit with this pencil
  I just received my Staedtler..., January 6, 2010
I just received my Staedtler 925 85 pencils and the eraser refills, and could not be more pleased with this pencil. I do not have experience with a wide variety of drafting pencils, I admit, but it is difficult to imagine a better built pencil with more features.

The pencil feels very solid and well-balanced in the hand. I don't feel that the adjustable controls are difficult to use or to keep tightened, as seems to be the view of another reviewer. It did take me awhile to disassemble the various parts of the pencil and learn how to get to the eraser, how to remove the eraser and how to adjust the lead-hardness indicator, due to the instructions being quite limited and mostly printed in Japanese. However, now that I am familier with all of the various parts and how they go together, the pencil seems very "user-friendly."

The lead-length adjustment feature works well, and the control wheel for the adjustment seems to have the needed tension to hold the adjustment to where it is set by the user. Time will tell if this is the case, even in storage and transport of the pencils.

Thanks to JetPens.com for stocking this pencil and the matching eraser refills. I cannot find them anywhere else, and your service and shipping times are excellent. Communication on the forum and with store reps has been flawless and very friendly. I will be back for more- please keep the eraser refills stocked-- I'm sure I'll be back for more of them, and for other JetPens products. Now, let's take a look at some of those pens....
  After much deliberation,..., November 23, 2009
After much deliberation, I chose to pick this pencil over the Ohto Super Promecha 1500P and I'm extremely satisfied. This is the prefect pencil, bar none. Thus highly recommended!
  I was really surprised..., October 12, 2009
I was really surprised that I was actually slightly disappointed with this pencil considering how much I loved the lead holder. The quality of the pencil is fine but I guess it's all little picky things that added up to "this is annoying"

First is the entire end cap assembly. The little nut at the top unscrews to let you change the lead indicator. You cannot move the lead indicator unless you loosen this and it comes off all too easily. Not good in your bag if you tend to carry your pencils loose. Second, I had to wrestle with getting the eraser cap off and for a moment I panicked thinking I wasn't supposed to get it off. But Jetpens has GREAT pictures of everything so I was reassured that yes, it does come off. Difficult but it does come off and it does not go back on easy.

I do like the feel of the pencil in my hand. The textured grip is very comfortable and your fingers don't get tired holding it. I like that you can adjust the amount of lead that comes out. But I have to say this is more of gimmick than something really worth getting. Keep in mind I am a mad clicker with pencils so the length of lead is really not that important to me, but it is a nice function. If you like to control the length of your lead you will like this very much.

It really is a lovely pencil to look at at it feels good in the hand. I find that the pieces that you need to move around and adjust don't work smoothly or well, and the lead length adjustment just isn't worth the annoyance of the eraser end assembly annoyance. I am taking one star off for the annoying bits, but I am giving it 4 because over all it is still a very well made and nice pencil. If you want to control your lead length this is worth it - if not there are other pencils that are a better value for your money.
  Please, please, Re-stock Th..., September 20, 2009
By mmendo
Please, please, Re-stock

Thanks in advance.
0 out of 1 people found the following review helpful
  I'm sure I'll edit this..., February 23, 2011
By mrc...
I'm sure I'll edit this once I actually buy the pencil, but a question - does this come in some sort of box or packaging? I intend to gift this to a friend.
1 out of 5 people found the following review helpful
  for a $1.50 more you..., June 5, 2011
for a $1.50 more you can get a super promecha which does more than this and has a much better constuction