1 - 10 of 32 |  | 
I love this thing so...
May 24, 2013
Verified Purchase
I love this thing so much that I bought a second one and a couple of packs of HB leads to use for daily writing tasks. The grip is comfortable, the weight is perfect, and its just... perfect.

Pros:
+ Staedtler typically has high-quality materials
+ All-metal body
+ Knurled grip
+ Balanced weight
+ Knock lead advancement (a bad thing for those who enjoy drop-clutch)
+ Aesthetically pleasing
+ Multiple lead type options
+ Professional appearance
+ Fantastic for drawing
+ Comfortable for writing
+ Leads span the entire length of the pencil
+ Leads last a long time
+ Speedy shipping (thanks JetPens!)
+ Built to last

Cons:
- I'm afraid to let anyone borrow it, even if they are within view
- Get the "Uni-ball 2 mm Pencil Lead Sharpener" as the Staedtler lead pointer doesn't work as well for this purpose

LEAD NOTE:
For those who may be curious, I emailed the Staedtler Japan branch to find out what kind of lead comes pre-loaded inside of this pencil (as JetPens stated that they were not given this information- their customer service is speedy and awesome, even if they didn't have the answer I was looking for!). The answer is HB. I assumed this, but I wanted to be sure before I attacked a college exam scantron sheet with it! So, the long piece of lead that is included inside of the pencil is HB. Happy writing!
10 people found this helpful
felicia.davis
I'm a professional fine...
August 22, 2014
Verified Purchase
I'm a professional fine art painter and I must say this is an awesome piece. This holder has great balance and the weight is conducive to accurate mark making. The build quality is excellent. I must recommend this to anyone who wants a well balanced, durable lead holder.
2 people found this helpful
clarkcarr
This is my single favorite...
June 13, 2014
This is my single favorite writing utensil!

I bought this pencil becuase i have a writing disability called dysgraphia. i have always had an easier time using mechanical pencils but i pressed too hard and they always broke. When i found about these i was ecstatic!!!

Pros
the weight is wonderful
the metal construction
the machining on this pencil is amazing

Cons
the only thing I don't like is that the cap isn't metal like the rest of the pencil other than that its amazing.

2 people found this helpful
j.t.wbstr
I am a designer and I've...
December 6, 2015
Verified Purchase
I am a designer and I've used this pencil for over a year. I love many things about it -- the weight, the lead thickness, the overall balanced feel. Unfortunately I may have received a lemon, since from the beginning the pencil has jammed repeatedly, the tip unscrews itself while I draw, and the biggest drawback: the clutch no longer holds the lead firmly in place, so anything more than moderate pressure pushes the lead back in (this wasn't a problem at first). Very dissappointing for such an otherwise great pencil. My review:
Weight, feel, and balance: 5 stars
Mechanics: 1 star.
Final rating: 3 stars
1 person found this helpful
This was the first lead...
March 22, 2013
Verified Purchase
This was the first lead holder pencil i ever bought and i gotta say it's really amazing! The design is by far, the best i've seen, esp. for a metal body. Some 2 mm refill leads however, are too long making it difficult. So you would have to chop off a piece. I would recommend using the preferred lead refills. Overall, for my first lead holder pencil, i really like it.
1 person found this helpful
jbsoriano
Pros: - Love this pencil!...
February 20, 2011
Pros:
- Love this pencil! :D
- ALL Metal
- Click to extend the lead

Cons:
- I bought the TK 9400 Faber Castell while i was in London and i actually prefer the look of it to this Staedtler pencil. (The Faber Castell was also ~8 dollars cheaper -cost 5 pounds in London-)
- The Faber Castell simply lets the lead slide out, yet at times, i prefer that because i can regulate the length of the lead in the blink of an eye w/o taking time to click away to extend the lead of this pencil. Still, i keep both lead holders in my main pencil case just for fun :]
2 people found this helpful
So far no complaints....
February 10, 2016
Verified Purchase
So far no complaints. I had been using mechanical pencils and while they Are good, I needed a way to get softer leads and I was only getting hard lead with those. So I love being able to use various grades of B lead.
I enjoy using this pen...
January 25, 2016
Verified Purchase
I enjoy using this pen for sketching!
The Rotring 600 is the...
January 2, 2016
Verified Purchase
The Rotring 600 is the finest 2mm lead holder I have ever seen. I prefer the drop system so that I can shove the lead back up inside when done and preserve the point. I have used these for years and have purchased enough so I have one wherever I am.

The Staedtler Silver is sturdy, reliable and economical. It is what I keep in my briefcase and traveling bags.
As a professional Architectura...
December 8, 2015
Verified Purchase
As a professional Architectural/Mechanical Drafter Designer with 21 years of experience I can tell that this is a really good pencil for this price range. It is all metal-ALL components! I have come across pricier lead holders with plastic components-minimal but still disappointing. It has the appropriate weight and it looks very sleek, I find the lead indicator very useful since I like to use different hardnesses of lead. I don't care that it doesn't have an eraser, I have seen the eraser in mechanical pencils but not on lead holders anyway. I would be putting a rubber grip on it for comfort but I still prefer that it is all metal. I've been drafting in computers (CAD) since I started my career but, I did mostly hand drafting in school and have never been able to let it go. I still have my Staedtler Mars 780 since school and 80% of it is plastic but still holds like new (with the exception of faded letters on the body). Really good products for the price. If you don't set your pencils everywhere and keep loosing them, I would recommend it.
inkgraphite
1 - 10 of 32 |  |