JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 4.8 (25 customer reviews)
Write Review
May 24, 2013
I love this thing so...
Verified Purchase
I love this thing so much that I bought a second one and a couple of packs of HB leads to use for daily writing tasks. The grip is comfortable, the weight is perfect, and its just... perfect.

Pros:
+ Staedtler typically has high-quality materials
+ All-metal body
+ Knurled grip
+ Balanced weight
+ Knock lead advancement (a bad thing for those who enjoy drop-clutch)
+ Aesthetically pleasing
+ Multiple lead type options
+ Professional appearance
+ Fantastic for drawing
+ Comfortable for writing
+ Leads span the entire length of the pencil
+ Leads last a long time
+ Speedy shipping (thanks JetPens!)
+ Built to last

Cons:
- I'm afraid to let anyone borrow it, even if they are within view
- Get the "Uni-ball 2 mm Pencil Lead Sharpener" as the Staedtler lead pointer doesn't work as well for this purpose

LEAD NOTE:
For those who may be curious, I emailed the Staedtler Japan branch to find out what kind of lead comes pre-loaded inside of this pencil (as JetPens stated that they were not given this information- their customer service is speedy and awesome, even if they didn't have the answer I was looking for!). The answer is HB. I assumed this, but I wanted to be sure before I attacked a college exam scantron sheet with it! So, the long piece of lead that is included inside of the pencil is HB. Happy writing!

3 people found this helpful
felicia.davis
 
October 27, 2014
Well made pencil, though...
Verified Purchase
Well made pencil, though it does rattle a bit as you use it.

 
August 22, 2014
I'm a professional fine...
Verified Purchase
I'm a professional fine art painter and I must say this is an awesome piece. This holder has great balance and the weight is conducive to accurate mark making. The build quality is excellent. I must recommend this to anyone who wants a well balanced, durable lead holder.

clarkcarr
 
June 13, 2014
This is my single favorite...
This is my single favorite writing utensil!

I bought this pencil becuase i have a writing disability called dysgraphia. i have always had an easier time using mechanical pencils but i pressed too hard and they always broke. When i found about these i was ecstatic!!!

Pros
the weight is wonderful
the metal construction
the machining on this pencil is amazing

Cons
the only thing I don't like is that the cap isn't metal like the rest of the pencil other than that its amazing.


j.t.wbstr
 
June 6, 2013
Fantastic value and fast...
Verified Purchase
Fantastic value and fast shipping! This lead holder will not disappoint!

 
June 6, 2013
Fantastic value and fast...
Verified Purchase
Fantastic value and fast shipping! This lead holder will not disappoint!

 
March 22, 2013
This was the first lead...
Verified Purchase
This was the first lead holder pencil i ever bought and i gotta say it's really amazing! The design is by far, the best i've seen, esp. for a metal body. Some 2 mm refill leads however, are too long making it difficult. So you would have to chop off a piece. I would recommend using the preferred lead refills. Overall, for my first lead holder pencil, i really like it.

jbsoriano
 
February 20, 2011
Pros: - Love this pencil!...
Pros:
- Love this pencil! :D
- ALL Metal
- Click to extend the lead

Cons:
- I bought the TK 9400 Faber Castell while i was in London and i actually prefer the look of it to this Staedtler pencil. (The Faber Castell was also ~8 dollars cheaper -cost 5 pounds in London-)
- The Faber Castell simply lets the lead slide out, yet at times, i prefer that because i can regulate the length of the lead in the blink of an eye w/o taking time to click away to extend the lead of this pencil. Still, i keep both lead holders in my main pencil case just for fun :]

1 person found this helpful
 
July 24, 2012
I have owned many 2mm...
Verified Purchase
I have owned many 2mm lead holders,and this by far is a winner with solid metal construction,a lead degree indicator,pocket clip, and the "knock" method of advancing the lead. Keep the button pressed down and the lead can easily be manually adjusted like the standard clutch models. The lack of a built in pointer is not much of a deal breaker. Convenient as they are,some lead shavings get trapped and leak out. I would leave that up to a dedicated lead pointer or keep around a cheaper holder with a pointer. All in all it is one of the better lead holders around.

 
November 5, 2011
I have this pencil and...
I have this pencil and it is fabulous. Although I don't think it should be a lead holder, I think it should be just a regular Drafting Pencil to me. Anyways, LOVE DIS PENCIL!!!!!!!! Anyone who sees this pencil buy it!

P.S. One lead stick should last you about 6 months to a year, If you don't push it down too hard and don't use it every single day.

acabraham24