JetPens®.com - Love at First Write®
Free Shipping
On Orders Over $25!

Customer Reviews

Average Customer Review
 3.8 (36 customer reviews)
Write Review
September 20, 2011
This is a follow-up to...
Verified Purchase
This is a follow-up to my review on August 12th. I have used this pen daily for weeks now, and it's become my favorite inking pen. However, it did act up on me once. The ink flow stuttered when I drew fine horizontal lines or when beginning a stroke. I fidgeted a bit and I found that there is a pad of some sort of fiber directly under the steel nib. If that fiber pad gets a little dried out, you'll have ink flow problems. I think this is why they recommend you not leave the pen unused for more than two weeks. (The ink dries very quickly, which is good when you're drawing, but problematic for pen storage.)

If you're getting spotty ink flow, another reviewer suggested that you give the nib a quick rinse in warm water, which works well to rehydrate the ink pad. However, it does dilute the ink, so you need to scribble a bit to get full strength ink flowing again. What I do instead is put a drop of black ink (I use black technical pen ink, but you could use a drop of any black fountain pen ink) onto the little air hole on the nib, and let it soak in for a few seconds. This restores the ink flow perfectly without dilution, and the pen is ready to draw. No skips or stutters.

And a final note about the ink: this stuff is as black as anything I've ever used, including black India ink in dip pens. It dries very quickly, even on shiny surfaces like bristol board. And it is -very- waterproof. I use watercolors with my pen drawing, and I don't have any problems with ink running or smearing.

12 people found this helpful
ebenfatto
 
April 26, 2011
I love this pen. I have...
I love this pen. I have bought Copic fountain pens, Multiliners, Multiliner SPs, Sailor ink-bars, Lamy fp and more.. (yes i am addicted to pens. and yes there are worse things to be addicted to.)

This pen was bought for me by a dear freind. He also bought himself 1 to try. He has had some problems with his pen, and warned me that it takes some time to get flowing nicely. As soon as i put pen to paper, it flowed beautifully in controlled, even lines. No problems at all. NOT ONE! why? Because i hold my hand at a 30 degree writing angle and he doesnt. When he tries to use my fountain pens they become scratchy for him due to his angle of the pen. If this pen doesnt write for you, try angling your pen differently. I love this pen, and would hate for anyone to get the wrong impression about it.

I am a social worker and have found that the only way i can get clients to stop stealing my pens is to write with a fp! This one is my all around fav go to pen.

8 people found this helpful
endlsdremr
 
August 6, 2012
This is yet another follow-up...
Verified Purchase
This is yet another follow-up to my August 2011 review. I have been using this pen for a year now, and it is still performing beautifully. I left it unused for about four months during the winter, but it started up almost immediately when I took it out, and has been writing smoothly ever since. It's the best $6 pen purchase I've ever made.

And I don't know what ink Tachikawa puts into the cartridges, but I sure wish I could get a bottle of it for my other pens!

6 people found this helpful
ebenfatto
 
September 30, 2012
Well, at first I was...
Verified Purchase
Well, at first I was quite disappointed with this pen, it was very sketchy and often skipped whenever I would draw faster than a slug's speed, but then I found a very strange solution. I finally got so fed up with the pen, that I washed all of the internals completely out with water, including the ink cartridge. Well this made me discover the base of the pen still holds quite a bit of ink after the cartridge has been out of it for a while. So I filled the ink cartridge with water with a little bit of diluted ink into it and let the main ink come from the base of the pen. The results were AMAZING to say the least. Lines flow smoothly and there has been no skipping whatsoever, even when I intentionally try to make it do so. Plus it still doesn't take long for the ink to dry (just a bit longer than normal). If you've purchased more than one ink cartridge, I'd say give it a try . You won't be disappointed.

5 people found this helpful
pskibobby
 
August 12, 2011
I have been using this...
Verified Purchase
I have been using this pen for about three weeks now, and I am really enjoying it. The ink flow is wonderful, and the slight flexibility of the nib brings subtle expressiveness on the lines. I have used it on a variety of papers, and it's been particularly nice on smooth Bristol and hot press watercolor. I draw with a light hand and rarely notice any scratchiness.

5 people found this helpful
ebenfatto
 
September 10, 2014
not what i was expecting....
Verified Purchase
not what i was expecting. the tachikawa G dip nib is one of my favorite so when i saw that there was a fountain pen with a G-nib, i jumped on it and bought four of them! boy was i disappointed when i actually got it and tried one. it's an amazing super-fine point fountain pen, but i wouldn't call it a flex-nib fountain pen. i was expecting the same amount of line variation as the dip G-nib but this came nothing close to that. now i have one opened pen i barely use and three brand new ones that will sit for all of eternity in its packaging. oh well.

1 person found this helpful
 
February 29, 2012
I just received this...
Verified Purchase
I just received this pen earlier today. When installing the ink cartridge, the part on which the cartridge is inserted snapped off completely, and stayed wedged into the cartridge. I can't tell if this is a part that can be replaced, but my attempts at a temporary solution - super glue - didn't do anything.

That said, I did manage to get some ink flowing through the pen, and I'm fairly pleased with the quality of both the ink and the nib. I suppose that I will include another of these in my next order, but I'm disappointed in both the quality of parts and in Jetpens' return policy (they "stand behind" their products, but will only accept unopened, unused returns - how are we supposed to know the quality of an item if we don't open it and use it?).

1 person found this helpful
 
July 20, 2009
Very good pen. Its lightweight...
Verified Purchase
Very good pen. Its lightweight, easy to use, and the nib is very durable. It simulates dip pens very effectively (without the mess or cleanup), and I really enjoy using it. Now I'm tempted to get some more for gifts to give to fellow artists. Love it!

1 person found this helpful
soda_and_poprocks
 
December 16, 2014
If you are not in love...
Verified Purchase
If you are not in love with dip pens, then this will make you happy. People like me that use nibs and such find these to stiff and not as much personality as we would like.

Yet, they are very handy. As long as you don't let it sit for more than a day without making a mark, it continues to work (depending on the humidity level of your environment).

If it does sit a few days, run water over the nib from the sink and dry it with a rag. If you leave it sitting for several weeks unused, and the humidity is low... you may not be able to save it.

There's a felt-like core that can dry up with ink. That's the delivery system for the pen. Once that happens, you may get it to work a little, but I've never been able to get one to working as it should after this.

 
December 11, 2014
The pen writes smooth...
Verified Purchase
The pen writes smooth and has very black ink, plus it dries very quickly. I had one go dry pretty quickly, but the warm water technique mentioned in the description worked very well. I keep a few around for doodling or small comics, but not for bigger work anymore.

I like this pen, the whole collection in fact, but over time I found it more productive to just use a bottle of ink with a nib pen, or Sakura Microns to ink manga. To me it's fine on its own for beginners like I was, but I was blowing through it so fast (within two weeks) that I just went for an ink bottle or completely disposable pens that were available locally.

bunnyologist