1 - 10 of 47 |  | 
This is a follow-up to...
September 20, 2011
Verified Purchase
This is a follow-up to my review on August 12th. I have used this pen daily for weeks now, and it's become my favorite inking pen. However, it did act up on me once. The ink flow stuttered when I drew fine horizontal lines or when beginning a stroke. I fidgeted a bit and I found that there is a pad of some sort of fiber directly under the steel nib. If that fiber pad gets a little dried out, you'll have ink flow problems. I think this is why they recommend you not leave the pen unused for more than two weeks. (The ink dries very quickly, which is good when you're drawing, but problematic for pen storage.)

If you're getting spotty ink flow, another reviewer suggested that you give the nib a quick rinse in warm water, which works well to rehydrate the ink pad. However, it does dilute the ink, so you need to scribble a bit to get full strength ink flowing again. What I do instead is put a drop of black ink (I use black technical pen ink, but you could use a drop of any black fountain pen ink) onto the little air hole on the nib, and let it soak in for a few seconds. This restores the ink flow perfectly without dilution, and the pen is ready to draw. No skips or stutters.

And a final note about the ink: this stuff is as black as anything I've ever used, including black India ink in dip pens. It dries very quickly, even on shiny surfaces like bristol board. And it is -very- waterproof. I use watercolors with my pen drawing, and I don't have any problems with ink running or smearing.
16 people found this helpful
This is yet another follow-up...
August 6, 2012
Verified Purchase
This is yet another follow-up to my August 2011 review. I have been using this pen for a year now, and it is still performing beautifully. I left it unused for about four months during the winter, but it started up almost immediately when I took it out, and has been writing smoothly ever since. It's the best $6 pen purchase I've ever made.

And I don't know what ink Tachikawa puts into the cartridges, but I sure wish I could get a bottle of it for my other pens!
9 people found this helpful
I love this pen. I have...
April 26, 2011
I love this pen. I have bought Copic fountain pens, Multiliners, Multiliner SPs, Sailor ink-bars, Lamy fp and more.. (yes i am addicted to pens. and yes there are worse things to be addicted to.)

This pen was bought for me by a dear freind. He also bought himself 1 to try. He has had some problems with his pen, and warned me that it takes some time to get flowing nicely. As soon as i put pen to paper, it flowed beautifully in controlled, even lines. No problems at all. NOT ONE! why? Because i hold my hand at a 30 degree writing angle and he doesnt. When he tries to use my fountain pens they become scratchy for him due to his angle of the pen. If this pen doesnt write for you, try angling your pen differently. I love this pen, and would hate for anyone to get the wrong impression about it.

I am a social worker and have found that the only way i can get clients to stop stealing my pens is to write with a fp! This one is my all around fav go to pen.
8 people found this helpful
Well, at first I was...
September 30, 2012
Verified Purchase
Well, at first I was quite disappointed with this pen, it was very sketchy and often skipped whenever I would draw faster than a slug's speed, but then I found a very strange solution. I finally got so fed up with the pen, that I washed all of the internals completely out with water, including the ink cartridge. Well this made me discover the base of the pen still holds quite a bit of ink after the cartridge has been out of it for a while. So I filled the ink cartridge with water with a little bit of diluted ink into it and let the main ink come from the base of the pen. The results were AMAZING to say the least. Lines flow smoothly and there has been no skipping whatsoever, even when I intentionally try to make it do so. Plus it still doesn't take long for the ink to dry (just a bit longer than normal). If you've purchased more than one ink cartridge, I'd say give it a try . You won't be disappointed.
5 people found this helpful
I have been using this...
August 12, 2011
Verified Purchase
I have been using this pen for about three weeks now, and I am really enjoying it. The ink flow is wonderful, and the slight flexibility of the nib brings subtle expressiveness on the lines. I have used it on a variety of papers, and it's been particularly nice on smooth Bristol and hot press watercolor. I draw with a light hand and rarely notice any scratchiness.
5 people found this helpful
not what i was expecting....
September 10, 2014
Verified Purchase
not what i was expecting. the tachikawa G dip nib is one of my favorite so when i saw that there was a fountain pen with a G-nib, i jumped on it and bought four of them! boy was i disappointed when i actually got it and tried one. it's an amazing super-fine point fountain pen, but i wouldn't call it a flex-nib fountain pen. i was expecting the same amount of line variation as the dip G-nib but this came nothing close to that. now i have one opened pen i barely use and three brand new ones that will sit for all of eternity in its packaging. oh well.
1 person found this helpful
Don't waste your money...
July 25, 2014
Verified Purchase
Don't waste your money or time on this pen. The pen scratched across the paper from the very first use. (Bought three of these in different colors and sizes.) Regardless of the way the pen was held or the angle, the pen railroaded whenever any pressure was applied to take advantage of the very slight flex these pens claim to have. The ink bleeds when hit with water so it is not appropriate for use with watercolors. The ink may eventually get dry enough, but there are too many other brands on the market that meet the needs of a watercolor journal artist to suffer through with these pens.

Very disappointed!
1 person found this helpful
I just received this...
February 29, 2012
Verified Purchase
I just received this pen earlier today. When installing the ink cartridge, the part on which the cartridge is inserted snapped off completely, and stayed wedged into the cartridge. I can't tell if this is a part that can be replaced, but my attempts at a temporary solution - super glue - didn't do anything.

That said, I did manage to get some ink flowing through the pen, and I'm fairly pleased with the quality of both the ink and the nib. I suppose that I will include another of these in my next order, but I'm disappointed in both the quality of parts and in Jetpens' return policy (they "stand behind" their products, but will only accept unopened, unused returns - how are we supposed to know the quality of an item if we don't open it and use it?).
1 person found this helpful
Very good pen. Its lightweight...
July 20, 2009
Verified Purchase
Very good pen. Its lightweight, easy to use, and the nib is very durable. It simulates dip pens very effectively (without the mess or cleanup), and I really enjoy using it. Now I'm tempted to get some more for gifts to give to fellow artists. Love it!
1 person found this helpful
While the name can be...
November 8, 2015
Verified Purchase
While the name can be very misleading, this is still a really good pen. It's actually my very first purchase on jetpens and I feel like I've developed a personal connection to this little buddy.

One thing that reminds me of G-pen is that it can get a bit more flexible the more you use it.
The pen is great for details such as cross-hatching techniques and similar fine effects.
To easier create long bold lines or if the pen has uneven ink flow, change your grip so the pen's body rest between the index and middle finger. This grip is useful for other fountain pens with uneven ink flow.

At first you will feel like it's closer to a maru-pen rather than a G-pen due to being more uniform and produce very fine lines. It's very sharp so I recommend you wear it down a bit by drawing 8-shapes on a piece of carton or on a separate of paper.
Also make sure you clean this baby before use. The first time I tried it out I got excessive flow of ink all over the paper, but taking the pen apart and have the nib sit in some water fixed that problem and I've not encountered it ever since.

Just like someone else wrote in their review, I accidentally broke off a piece of plastic when attaching the ink cartridge. I solved it by ditching the cartridge and just fill the body with bottled ink instead. I know you should seal the threads with silicon grease but I didn't have that available. However, it seems to still be intact. Haven't had any leaked ink yet, just make sure you shut it really tight.

I strongly suggest reading the guides in how to troubleshoot and clean your fountain pens, because while this pen is good and gets better the more you use it, it will require some proper love, care and affection. But it's really worth it.
1 - 10 of 47 |  |